Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 132 - Feb 2021) - J. Ross Publication: Project Management

Print Book Price : $69.95

Used in conjunction with PMI's PMBOK® Guide--Sixth Edition (2017), this concise study guide presents all the fundamental knowledge, concepts, exercises, practice questions, and simulated exams needed to prepare for and successfully pass the CAPM® exam on your first try. However, this book is much more than a study guide. It is a valuable desk reference that project team members can use to improve their effectiveness and a good resource for those considering a career in project management. Readers will have free web-based access for 45 days to over 1000 questions including hundreds of situational questions, enabling users to perform practice tests by simulating actual 150-question exams and arrange questions by Knowledge Area. (Note: This access begins when you register for the test bank, not when you purchase the book.) Key Features Provides free online access to over 1000 questions enabling you to perform practice tests by each of ten Knowledge Areas and/or simulate actual 150 question exams, and receive feedback on incorrect answers Contains a pre-assessment test to help you develop a focused study plan and manage your time effectively and a post-assessment test to evaluate your readiness for the actual CAPM exam Uses a sample project throughout to demonstrate how to apply tools and techniques covered in the PMBOK® Guide and exercises to further develop your knowledge and competency Presents key definitions and tips to improve your understanding, and sample CAPM exam questions and answers at the end of each chapter WAV offers a full glossary, an answer key to the pre- and post-assessment tests, a process map study guide, a tool and technique study aid, and a CAPM exam preparation guide--available from the Web Added Value(tm) Download Resource Center at www.jrosspub.com

Print Book Price : $79.95

This proven best-selling study guide, used in conjunction with PMI's PMBOK Guide -- Sixth Edition (2017), presents all the fundamental knowledge, concepts, exercises, and practice exam questions a project manager needs to prepare for and successfully pass the Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification Exam on the first try, while cutting study time in half. Key Features --Covers all subjects addressed on the PMP® Exam, including the comprehensive performance domain and cross-cutting knowledge and skills defined within the PMI PMP Examination Content Outline and the PMI Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct --Access to over 1500 practice questions, including hundreds of situational questions, enabling users to perform practice tests by Knowledge Areas and/or simulate actual 200 question exams, and receive feedback on incorrect answers, can be purchased separately. Free access to this test bank is included when purchasing a new physical copy of the copy. --Details key topics, concepts, and techniques from PMI recommended readings, eliminating the need for additional resources --Presents a pre-assessment test to help users develop a focused study plan; tips for studying, time management, and taking the exam; and a post-assessment test to evaluate readiness for the actual exam --Supplies things you need to know, key definitions, and sample exam questions and answers, and features a case study that runs throughout with exercises and suggested solutions to reinforce concepts and build real competency --Covers trends and concepts beyond The Standard for Project Management, such as interpersonal skills, agile methods, and tailoring --WAV offers study aids for process maps, tools and techniques, suggested responses to the project management consideration situations, and case study exercise answers--available from the Web Added Value Download Resource Center atwww.jrosspub.com

Print Book Price : $59.95

This unique text discusses why project portfolio management has been elusive to most organizations. It explains how an impactful portfolio is attainable using a back-to-basics approach that includes the use of a simplified form of earned value management called mEVM for measuring and managing a portfolio, adapting it to changing situations, and executing effective decisions. Every section of this practical desk reference provides guidance for getting your portfolio up and running quickly to achieve immediate results. Whether you already have a project portfolio, or are starting to build a portfolio from scratch, this breakthrough book will show you how to obtain a high-performing project portfolio without investing in expensive tools.

Print Book Price : $37.95

Rapidly evolving technologies, global business interdependencies, and changes to project management (PM) processes and tools demand that new PM competencies be continuously developed and adequately applied to achieve successful results. Despite the many advances in the PM discipline, significant competency gaps exist within even the most successful companies. This book provides the proven strategic approaches needed to grow and evolve your project managers' competency over time, in step with the needs of your business, and supplies practical examples of competency models and how to deploy them.

Print Book Price : $44.95

Effective Project and Change Sponsorship addresses the challenges that organizations face surrounding the sponsorship of projects and change initiatives. This long overdue book provides techniques, remedies, and approaches to improve the way these initiatives are sponsored, led, and executed to ensure context, alignment, and a focus on value creation. Readers will learn key concepts about specific aspects of project sponsorship, including overcoming the most common and challenging project-related obstacles, connecting the key elements of project and change management, and advanced techniques to effectively engage stakeholders and manage their expectations. This book provides a comprehensive and holistic approach to sponsoring initiatives across the organization. It gives sponsors a toolbox to deal with a variety of challenges and situations in any type of project life cycle (including agile and waterfall). Sponsors will learn how to lead their initiatives from inception to success by reducing waste, redundancies, misunderstandings, and misalignments. In addition, they will also discover how to overcome organizational silos, effectively handle organizational politics, and facilitate the building of high-performing teams. This guide is designed for senior managers, organizational leaders, project managers, change practitioners, and anyone who is involved in leading initiatives in the organization--including managers of PMOs, members of steering committees, and "accidental" project or change sponsors. Key Features: * Digs deep into understanding the nature of organizational change and how to effectively deal with the main challenges associated with change initiatives * Details concepts that are aligned with the latest trends in organizational change management, project management, and those items that connect them together * Proposes solutions to challenges around sponsor capacity and project resource allocation * Applies practical concepts to better manage stakeholder expectations and effectively engage them * Anticipates emerging trends and the future of project sponsorship with a focus on value creation and how to best lead an organization's most valuable assets--its people * WAV features an initial impact audit and tools for stakeholder analysis, among other valuable documents--available from the Web Added Value Download Resource Center at www.jrosspub.com

Print Book Price : $24.95

Projects are volatile endeavors filled with uncertainties, dependencies, contingencies, and risks. They require not only strategic, business-focused leadership to drive results, but also nimble and adaptive approaches in the face of increasing business uncertainty. Projects that limp along without the required adjustments and improvements suck the lifeblood out of companies. In this competitive new world economy, our project management mantra must shift from "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" to If It Ain't Broke, Fix It Anyway.This insightful and entertaining book will teach readers to be business savvy strategic corporate thinkers and planners, strong and practical project managers and leaders, and effective problem solvers and change agents focused on the bottom line.Key Features:--Equips project managers and business professionals with the skills and knowledge required to deliver business value to their organizations from their project investments--Instructs professionals on how to become nimble and adaptive in the face of business and economic uncertainty to drive and continuously improve their projects to achieve maximum returns--Presents a structured approach to incorporating strategic and quantitative methods to achieve, and even exceed, forecasted business objectives--Provides the tools and techniques necessary to become business improvement change agents and project turnaround specialists--WAV offers downloadable RASCI Matrix, Business Case, Benefits Realization Plan, and Cash Flow Model templates and a Strategic Project Management Checklist to help users maximize results--available from the Web Added Value(tm) Download Resource Center at www.jrosspub.com

Print Book Price : $39.95

The subject of innovation has become a permanent fixture of the current political and economic discourse across the globe. In fact, the belief that economic growth is driven by innovation is common. The first half of the book adopts the viewpoint of the innovator through the details of the innovation's development journey. The second half advances this journey, where the actual running of an innovation business.  Key Features: --Provides a complete road map which breaks down the sequence of activities to transform the idea into a product --Presents techniques for quantifying scope of work, time and cost estimates of each task, resources, and go/no-go decision schemes.  --Identifies the many pitfalls of the design process. --Discusses the proactive management of risks and leads readers through the step-by-step process of securing the first few clients up through the ultimate commercial roll-out --WAV offers a downloadable unit transformation process template, slide presentations covering a direct accountability concept, and 40 TRIZ design principles that will aid users on their journey to success.  

Print Book Price : $39.95

The persistent failure rates of complex industrial and large capital investment projects are a clear indication that traditional project management is not sufficient to deliver these types of project consistently and successfully. A new thought process needs to emerge. Investment-Centric Project Management is a comprehensive methodology and management system for the controlled execution of complex industrial and capital projects that unifies an organization's project resources into a single framework designed to prevent projects from failing and blowing budgets or schedules. This one-of-a-kind guide shows how to develop projects into profitably performing assets that yield valuable sustained ROI to its shareholders over its economic life, and how to execute projects to achieve speed to market, cost and risk containment, security of supply, and certainty of quality. Written by a leading expert in the aerospace, defense, manufacturing and oil and gas industries, this advanced reference offers project owners and developers alike a road map to predictable and repeatable project success, and a guarantee of future investment returns from their assets.

Print Book Price : $39.95

This bold new text approaches project portfolio management from a fresh new lens of delivering immediate value. In today's hyper-paced business climate, the need for portfolio management has grown exponentially but the time to deliver results has dramatically shortened. This book recognizes that and explains how an impactful portfolio is attainable using a back-to-basics approach. It also walks readers through the actual implementation of each portfolio component using a popular platform called Smartsheet. Every section of this practical desk reference provides guidance for getting your portfolio up and running quickly to achieve immediate results. It also presents a detailed look at successful portfolio governance; explores the important relationship between the portfolio office, CIO, and finance department; and supplies effective funding strategies for project portfolios.

Print Book Price : $69.95

This unique book presents a holistic view of a new discipline called project interface management, which is planning, coordinating, and controlling of the work of others at project interfaces. It includes numerous processes, tools, and techniques, and aligns critical interactions among project management, systems engineering, and operations management to reduce project risk and increase successful system design, development, completion, and transition of major projects. This cutting-edge text is designed for use in graduate-level project management and system engineering courses, executive education programs, and will serve as a professional reference.