Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 132 - Feb 2021) - J. Ross Publication: General

Print Book Price : $129.95

This full-color book contains the state-of-the-art knowledge and latest trends and developments in architectural acoustics research. This reference will play a fundamental role in the sustainable progress of architectural acoustics research and practical applications. World-renowned experts in the field from both the research and consulting communities contributed to the 15 chapters covering a wide range of sub-fields including computational modeling, noise, vibration controls, and environmental acoustics in the built environment and around buildings. With information not found anywhere else, this handbook is geared for architectural acoustics research, education in academia, and practical applications among acoustics consultants and industry engineers. It is divided into two Parts: Architectural Acoustics Essentials and Architectural Acoustics Practice.  

Print Book Price : $59.95

Business and IT executives are increasingly working side-by-side in an effort to strengthen their company's strategic advantages, capture new markets that are often digital, and realize value from disruptive technologies. Many professionals responsible for defining and executingIT strategy are being continuously pressured to digitize their company's business model and become more agile, innovative, and pro-active, yet they lack the knowledge and guidance to achieve results.This powerful guide from IT executive and digitalization consultant Francois Zielemans provides a set of principles and practices that will help executives connect business and IT teams by adopting a shared belief system and business model, converge or even fuse business and technology life cycles, and increase the agility and effectiveness of the entire digital value chain. Digital Manifesto provides a road map for turning potential value into realized value.

Print Book Price : $34.95

This laboratory manual is comprised of 14 laboratory experiments, covering topics of water quality, water treatment, groundwater hydrology, liquid static force, pipe flow, and open channel flow. These experiments are organized with a very logical flow to cover the related topics of environmental and hydraulics engineering within university-level courses.This state-of-the-art manual is divided into two sections--environmental engineering experiments and hydraulic engineering experiments--with seven experiments for each section. It provides the basic hands-on training for junior-year civil and environmental engineering students.In each experiment, fundamental theories in the topic area are revisited and mathematic equations are presented to guide practical applications of these theories. Tables, figures, graphs, and schematic illustrations are incorporated into the context to give a better understanding of concept development, experimental design, and data collection and recording. Each experiment ends with discussion topics and questions to help students better understand the content of the experiment.This manual mainly serves as a textbook for an environmental and hydraulics engineering laboratory course. Professionals and water/wastewater treatment plant managers may also find this manual of value for their daily jobs. In addition, students in related areas can use this manual as a reference and the general public may use it to educate themselves on water quality testing and water flow.

Print Book Price : $54.95

In today's increasingly competitive global marketplace, organizations that do not regularly undertake change initiatives will find it difficult--if not impossible--to continue to be successful in the long term.Most organizations only launch change initiatives when forced to address some pain, such as decreased revenues or profits, where the sole focus is on the benefits to the organization. Often, the people side of change management is overlooked, causing 60-70% of these efforts to fail.Implementing Positive Organizational Change explains how to develop a continuous improvement culture of change that will be perceived by employees as a positive opportunity to create something new, exciting and valuable, instead of something negative to confront and resist. This comprehensive guide describes how to communicate with and engage stakeholders and employees to gain buy-in and support, and outlines a strategic project management approach that helps ensure successful implementation and desired results.

Print Book Price : $59.95

Over the past few decades, we've seen the discipline known as project management (PM) evolve, and witnessed huge growth in its use by organizations to achieve their goals and objectives. We have also seen a new profession known as business analysis (BA) develop from a variety of work previously performed by project managers, systems analysts, engineers, and other professional roles due to the need to improve the success rates of projects and programs. With the steady evolution and growth of this new role, we've learned that effective PM and BA collaboration can improve success rates dramatically. More recently, thought leaders and industry insiders have begun to recognize the synergies of these roles with the discipline known as change management, and the opportunity for even more success. Early indications show the success rates for strategic projects using change management regularly average around 70%.Mastering Organizational Change Management provides a practical model for organizational change professionals, senior business analysts, project and program management leaders, and executives to follow in developing and executing any important change initiative or major enterprise transformation effort. It will also show how to measure and analyze the effectiveness of change initiatives and the activities used to achieve successful results.

Print Book Price : $44.95

Agile methodologies have become a popular and widely accepted method for managing software development. However, despite this success, managing agile methods has proven to be a real challenge for most companies, particularly those with complex products such as IoT devices and large development environments. Many companies have been forced to adopt a hybrid version of agile and waterfall techniques, and this hybrid approach is fast becoming the norm rather than the exception in the industry. Metagility is the first book to provide a comprehensive approach for managing a new and highly effective breed of agility from the executive level on down. Based on scientific theory and practitioner research, it is the definitive playbook for those seeking the optimal solution for adapting agile to more complex product development and organizational contexts. 

Print Book Price : $119.95

This book addresses the long-term maintenance, repair, and replacement of public infrastructure in a practical, cost effective manner--something that is missing in the current literature. Fixing our public infrastructure is essential for public health and safety and is fast becoming a national priority. This title provides an overview of the major public works infrastructure systems (water, sanitary sewer, stormwater, roads, bridges, and railways), including components, operational goals, maintenance, areas where failure can occur, and ways to address failure. Risk and vulnerability to these systems are evaluated and guidance on how to create a condition index (assessment), given limited data, is provided. It also includes statistical methods to make an assessment more robust. Recommendations on budgeting strategies and capital planning are also discussed and designed to bring the risk, vulnerability, and condition indices together into a thorough decision-making process. It is a must read for anyone involved in public infrastructure management, including professional civil and environmental engineers, utility managers, local government managers and officials, urban and regional planners, and civil and environmental engineering students.

Print Book Price : $24.95

The opioid epidemic is laying waste to America. Overdose deaths have decimated a generation and lowered overall life expectancy. Between the greed of Big Pharma, the war on drugs, and ineffectual treatment, addicts and their families face an uphill battle in getting the help they need. But there is a way out! Noted recovery professionals Eric Spofford and Piers Kaniuka are providing some much needed hope. In this book, they describe how they beat opiate addiction and went on to help thousands of addicts find recovery. Along the way, they discuss the root causes of the current opiate epidemic, which include dislocation, the prison industrial complex, the greed of the pharmaceutical industry, stress, racism, poverty, and much more. In addition, Real People, Real Recovery explains the difference between recovery and sobriety and what actually constitutes success in treatment. Key Features: Provides useful, unique information on how to choose the right treatment center for yourself or your loved one Offers valuable insight from two of the leading voices in the New England recovery community as well as input from their team of experts and valued pioneers in the field Thoroughly explains their model of addiction treatment, which focuses on the root causes of addiction and why meaning, purpose, and connection are essential to recovery Analyzes and assesses the societal factors that are exacerbating the opioid epidemic in the U.S. Provides a unique blueprint for recovery that weds the 12 Steps and the dislocation theory of addiction