Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 132 - Feb 2021) - J. Ross Publication: Environmental Science

Print Book Price : $89.95

Coral reefs around the world are in peril and approximately half of the world's coral cover has been lost since 1970 due to impacts from climate change, pollution, disease, and fishing practices that can destroy entire reefs. This rate of decline has been quite rapid, particularly when compared to the average rate of growth for a healthy coral in the wild. This ratio of decline to growth had diminished hope among scientists that coral reefs could eventually restore themselves over time. However, with the new technologies of active coral restoration, optimism has returned. Active Coral Restoration: Techniques for a Changing Planet is a timely, comprehensive volume that provides a foundational understanding of the current and emerging practices and technologies used for active coral reef restoration projects around the world. Edited by David E. Vaughan, this work contains contributed chapters written by some of the foremost authorities on coral reef restoration.

Print Book Price : $97.5

Bristol Bay, Alaska, supports a wide diversity of globally significant natural resources--from the world's most valuable wild salmon fishery to one of the world's largest untapped copper deposits. With contributions from leading scientific experts, this comprehensive, one-of-a-kind book is essential to understanding what is known regarding the extraordinary array of natural resources found within the Bristol Bay ecosystem. This reference will aid policy makers, resource managers, scientists, stakeholders, students, and the public in the discussion, debate, and decision making surrounding the future of this world treasure.Key Features--First-ever comprehensive book on the natural resources of Bristol Bay and its watershed--Wonderfully organized book that takes the reader on a wide-ranging journey through this remarkable region of the world with 26 chapters written by expert scientists in their respective fields--Contains appendices on marine invertebrates as well as freshwater macroinvertebrates and diatom communities--Provides cutting-edge information on salmon diversity and genetics and seldom seen information on the fresh water seal populations--Features over 200 full color illustrations and photos and more than 50 research tables, with many chapters including summaries and future recommended research by the scientist authors--WAV features material on the North Aleutian Basin oil and gas potential--available from the Web Added Value Download Resource Center at jrosspub.com

Print Book Price : $69.95

Orchids are unmatched in their floristic diversity, wide range of growth habitats, and, most importantly, their unique and highly adapted biology and ecology. With terrestrial orchids now among the worlds most threatened plants, the need for conservation is paramount. Conservation Methods for Terrestrial Orchids equips orchid biologists, botanists, conservationists, students, and hobbyists with the necessary methodologies to facilitate the conservation of this endangered group of orchids. This first ever comprehensive volume on terrestrial orchids includes background information, techniques, procedures, and relevant case studies on topics such as monitoring, approaches used for mycorrhizal isolation and culture, seed sowing techniques, soil baiting, symbiotic culture of terrestrial species, translocation of propagated plants, pollination, genetic approaches for orchid biology and conservation, innovations in alginate encapsulation of seed and mycorrhizal fungus, and more. The focus of this volume is on terrestrial orchids as these species face the greatest conservation threats, however, the techniques described in this book can also be applied equally to epiphytic (tree) orchids. Key Features * Clearly and concisely explains the procedures necessary for terrestrial orchid conservation and restoration * Offers methods and techniques complete in their detail, utilization of modern technology, simplicity, and ease of application across species from different parts of the world * Features beautiful color illustrations and photographs outlining procedures and concepts * Provides stand-alone guidance in each chapter and collectively enables practitioners to undertake what were previously considered complex scientific procedures * Includes relevant case studies to illustrate key principles and success stories in orchid conservation, written by world leaders in orchid conservation practice and science * Relates many of the techniques and procedures to epiphytic orchids to increase the appeal of the book to all orchid conservationists

Print Book Price : $79.95

This volume is a must have for professionals and students in forestry, ecology, dendrochronology, biology, geomorphology, and anyone else interested in tree-ring analysis as a practical research tool in land-use planning and natural resource management. This volume has a logic to it that starts at square one, including the collection and processing of cores, and then illustrates how and which data can be applied to questions in the field. The emphasis on using basal area increment (BAI), rather than ring-width indices alone, sets the book apart, and provides an extremely useful methodology. Discussions of growth trajectories based on BAI, changes in growth form, the measurement and applicability of complacent versus sensitive ring series, and the impact of environmental variables upon ring anatomy are discussed with practical examples provided. A wide range of applications include forest stand dynamics, archaeological dating, hydrology, and geomorphic phenomena. Give someone an increment core and a way to measure rings, and this book will guide them to the attainment of useful ecological information. Key Features * Delivers sufficient instruction for the reader to actually apply tree-ring studies to their own particular area of expertise * Presents and discusses the applications of ring width and basal area increment analysis for ecological inference * Provides practical methods for collection and storage of tree-ring material * Includes simple botanical techniques that allow for important inferences concerning historical and present-day environmental conditions * Includes a glossary of key terms used in dendroecology

Print Book Price : $109.95

Nutrient enrichment of lakes is a ubiquitous problem, impacting ecological and human health on a global scale by accelerating the pace of eutrophication, often resulting in algal blooms, depleted dissolved oxygen concentrations, and economic harm to surrounding communities. In many lakes, bed sediments are a major but unrecognized source of phosphorus to the water, a process known as internal phosphorus loading. Internal loading is notoriously difficult to measure and manage given the need to access processes operating on and within the lakebed. In addition, climate change threatens to promote internal loading. For example, warming of lakes can increase the release of phosphorus from sediments due to 1) longer and stronger periods of lake stratification resulting in sediment anoxia and 2) enhanced microbial decomposition of organic matter. Degraded water quality not only impairs ecological health but also can influence social pride and community morale. This is the first book dedicated to the understanding of internal phosphorus loading in lakes and examines the causes, the ecological and societal impacts, and options for managing this complex phenomenon. With contributions from leading experts, this edited volume provides a broad view of internal phosphorus loading, methods for measurement, management practices for water quality improvement, case studies from around the world, and recommendations for addressing this growing concern. It is essential reading for environmental and engineering professionals involved in lake and reservoir management, students and faculty in limnology, state and federal authorities involved in water quality regulation, and lakefront homeowners and management boards interested in maintaining lake water quality and managing algal blooms.Key Features* First-ever comprehensive volume on internal phosphorous loading that clearly details what it is and why it occurs* Identifies and explores the drivers of internal phosphorus loading * Provides methods, techniques, and models for measuring internal phosphorous loading* Features over 150 color figures and photographs to illustrate important concepts and procedures* Includes 17 detailed case studies written by experts from around the world to highlight key research principles, treatment options, and management strategies for major lakes affected by internal phosphorus loading

Print Book Price : $395

Sea Turtle Health & Rehabilitation is the first-ever comprehensive book on sea turtle husbandry, health, medicine, and surgery. This full-color guide presents extensive information for the rescue, evaluation, care, and rehabilitation of sick and injured sea turtles at every stage of life. In-depth information is provided on the physiological systems of sea turtles, causes and sources of illness and injury, diagnostic procedures, and medical and surgical treatments. This is an essential volume for veterinarians, veterinary students, veterinary technicians, rehabilitators, aquarists, biologists, and conservationists who work with sea turtles.The chapters in this well-organized book are written by leading experts in their respective fields and contain state-of-the-art information not found in any other single source. The contents range from the life history of sea turtles to the more detailed and complex issues related to the diagnosis and treatment of conditions that are frequently encountered in sea turtles. Also included are chapters on important subjects related to sea turtle health and conservation, such as mortality investigation, fisheries interactions, oil spills and other environmental contamination, pathogens, cold stunning, and harmful algal blooms. Prior to the publication of this unique work, the sea turtle community relied on scattered chapters and papers to obtain information on sea turtle care and rehabilitation. Now, this information can be found all in one place.