Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 132 - Feb 2021) - J. Ross Publication: Product Development

Print Book Price : $39.95

Mainstreaming Corporate Sustainability is a practical guide to the leading tools and resources used to successfully integrate sustainability into a company's corporate culture. Through the examples of companies from around the world, it provides an overview of the basics of any successful sustainability program, including the various international standards and performance frameworks that can be adapted to companies striving to improve their sustainability performance. These standards are summarized and explained in clear language and a conversational tone, allowing the reader to absorb what can be a complicated maze of resources. Used as the centerpiece for a popular corporate sustainability class taught on campus and online at Harvard University Extension School, as well as other universities around the U.S., this guide provides students and professionals alike with an overview of the most valuable management tools and resources available today. The second edition has been expanded with updated resources and a greater emphasis on climate change and reducing a firm's carbon footprint. Mainstreaming Corporate Sustainability provides an understanding of the pitfalls and challenges of this ever-changing field. It helps the reader become adept at asking the right questions and speaking the language of sustainability professionals, providing guidance to become a leader in this important business arena. Recommendations for additional reading are provided throughout, allowing the reader to delve more deeply into the subject at any stage. Key Features * Provides step-by-step processes for building a corporate sustainability program from the ground up * Emphasizes environmental and social responsibility while providing tools to promote successful financial measurement and economic success * Includes key ingredients to enrich any existing sustainability program and prioritizes the various choices for action * Helps to identify risk and opportunity to create economic success when environmental and social challenges arise * Includes advice on stakeholder engagement and meeting communication challenges in today's shifting business world * Describes how to develop strategies and systems management to promote successful transitions from inefficient operations * Provides key advice for supply chain management and meeting challenges of the value chain for multi-national corporations * Gives information about reporting and how to develop a clear and successful sustainability re-port * Supplies ideas for innovation, design, and marketing to promote responsible stewardship and successful customer relations * Offers a great balance between application of the tools/metrics/frameworks and the understanding of the philosophical underpinnings * Integrates the various elements of sustainability into a cohesive and systematic methodology that broadens how you will view corporate responsibility and the options available for addressing the pressing sustainability challenges facing our world * WAV offers teaching material for adopting professors--available from the Web Added Value Download Resource Center at the J. Ross Publishing website.

Print Book Price : $24.95

Used as a companion guide to Mainstreaming Corporate Sustainability, this case book provides specific examples of companies who have incorporated successful techniques to promote sustainability within their organization. Combined with the textbook, it provides a full curriculum for any introductory course on corporate sustainability. Through the examples of companies from around the world, the reader will learn about best practices and helpful tools, including international standards and performance frameworks, that can be adapted to any company. These resources are described in a manner that allows the reader to successfully integrate sustainability into a company's corporate culture. It is useful for students, faculty, and practicing sustainability professionals.

Print Book Price : $64.95

This important book details sustainability challenges facing our global society in the 21st century, and makes a well-supported business case for sustainable product development. Its holistic approach to product innovation and commercialization represents a radical departure from the norm. It delineates why human well-being must become the overarching goal of new technology and product development.Sustainable Product Innovation presents a systems approach for achieving multi-stakeholder optimization in product life-cycle design in order to meet a firm's objectives, investors' return-on-investment expectations, and regulatory requirements, while protecting the environment and rapidly depleting natural resources needed to enhance and sustain human well-being. This unique text is designed to be used in business, engineering and management science degree and certificate programs, professional training, and by entrepreneurs and executives who are responsible for the creation, development, and commercialization of product and services.

Print Book Price : $37.95

Have you ever noticed how many products appear to be designed by someone who has never used a product of that kind before? Nearly everyone has encountered websites, software apps, cars, appliances, and other products that made them wonder what the designers were thinking. The Thoughtless Design of Everyday Things presents more than 150 examples of products that violate nine fundamental design principles, along with suggestions for improving many of the flawed user interfaces and other design problems. These examples of thoughtless design reveal 70 specific lessons that designers ought to heed as they craft the user experience. This book describes numerous specific practices for enhancing product usability through usage-centered design strategies. You'll also see more than 40 products that exhibit particularly thoughtful designs, the kinds of products that surprise and delight users. Whether you're a designer, a product development manager, or a thoughtful and curious consumer, you'll find The Thoughtless Design of Everyday Things engaging, informative, and insightful.