Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 126 - Jan 2021) - IGI 2018 Publications: Small and Medium Enterprises

eBook Price : $295

Smaller companies are abundant in the business realm and outnumber large companies by a wide margin. Understanding the inner workings of small businesses offers benefits to the consumers and the economy. The Handbook of Research on Intrapreneurship and Organizational Sustainability in SMEs is a critical scholarly resource that examines the strategies and concepts that will assist small and medium-sized enterprises to achieve competitiveness. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as financial management, corporate sustainability, and organizational culture, this publication is geared towards business managers, professionals, graduate students, and researchers working in the field of smaller-scale business development initiatives.

eBook Price : $295

In the corporate world, businesses are focused on increasing their revenues but ignore the cries of social and environmental concerns from nearby communities. At the other end of the spectrum, nonprofits seek to help their local communities but are constantly required to create fundraisers without having adequate time to put those collected donations to use. The world needs an industry to combine civic engagement and public service with wealth and value creation to provide self-sustaining opportunities for public services that are sometimes overlooked or ignored. The Handbook of Research on Value Creation for Small and Micro Social Enterprises defines the concept of social enterprise and provides vital insight into the importance of rebalancing, creating, and promoting economic activities that achieve social fairness, cultural fulfillment, and the protection of the environment. While highlighting topics such as marketing strategies, cross-cultural frameworks, and public policy, this publication focuses on empowering rather than controlling sustainable solutions for various communities and consumers. This book is ideally designed for researchers, policymakers, academicians who teach and/or research small and micro social enterprises, and advanced-level students furthering their research exposure to pertinent topics in this field.

eBook Price : $175

The world is witnessing an increase in innovation both in start-ups and in SMEs, and the implementation of innovation is having a substantial impact on the knowledge of the economy. The ability of human beings to create new knowledge can be defined as a basic skill in a global economy, which involves learning as an essential dynamism of the competition. Following this and considering the need for developing standards and guidelines for innovation, organizations have been working on developing and updating a set of documents to help the innovators and the innovative companies work better. Knowledge-Driven Innovation in Start-Ups and SMEs: Emerging Research and Opportunities is a collection of innovative research on the methods and applications of standardization and guideline creation in business innovation, such as those implemented by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). While highlighting topics including business analysis, market research, and intellectual property, this book is ideally designed for market researchers, business professionals, academicians, and students seeking current research on innovative processes and approaches for organizations.

eBook Price : $155

The contribution of small and medium enterprises (SMEs) is acknowledged as an influential engine to economic growth. However, the biggest challenge faced by these SMEs is the lack of competitive service offerings for their target customers due to unstandardized products and a lack of consumer engagement and strategies. Service Marketing Strategies for Small and Medium Enterprises: Emerging Research and Opportunities is an essential reference source that provides guidelines on how SMEs can achieve sustainability through positive marketing outcomes and effective customer services. Featuring research on the assessment of SMEs' customer service expectation, listening to customers through qualitative research, service quality model and its marketing implications, integrated marketing communications for SME environments, effective service encounters, and relationship developing strategies for SMEs, this publication provides new models for managers, industry professionals, academicians, and researchers.

eBook Price : $215

To maintain a competitive edge against other businesses, companies must ensure the most effective strategies and procedures are in place. This is particularly critical in smaller business environments with fewer resources. Strategic Optimization of Medium-Sized Enterprises in the Global Market is a critical scholarly resource that highlights the optimization of management functions, such as working capital and marketing, and how to implement sustainable business management practices in the global world market. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics such as social entrepreneurship, marketing optimization, and globalization, this book is geared towards business managers, medium-sized enterprises, policy makers, business professionals, and upper-level students seeking current research on the performances of medium-sized enterprises across the world and their broader supply chain.