It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 156 - June 2021): Kellogg
Strategic Brand Management, 3rd Edition by Alexander Chernev
Publication Date: 2020-01-31
Description: In Strategic Brand Management (3rd Edition), Alexander Chernev, professor of marketing at the renowned Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, lays out a systematic approach to understanding the key principles of building enduring brands. This book presents a cohesive framework for brand management that delineates the unique role of brands as a means of creating market value. Topics covered include developing a meaningful value proposition, designing brand attributes, developing an impactful brand communication campaign, managing brand portfolios, cobranding, brand repositioning and realignment, managing brand extensions, measuring brand impact, the legal aspects of protecting the brand, and developing a strategic brand management plan. Clear, succinct, and practical, Strategic Brand Management is the definitive text on building strong brands.
The Marketing Plan Handbook, 6th Edition by Alexander Chernev
Publication Date: 2020-02-15
Description: The Marketing Plan Handbook (6th Edition) presents a streamlined approach to writing succinct and meaningful marketing plans. By offering a comprehensive, step-by-step method for crafting a strategically viable marketing plan, this book provides the relevant information in a concise and straight-to-the-point manner. It outlines the basic principles of writing a marketing plan and presents an overarching framework that encompasses the plan's essential components. A distinct characteristic of this book is its emphasis on marketing as a value-creation process. Because it incorporates the three aspects of value management--managing customer value, managing collaborator value, and managing company value--the marketing plan outlined in this book is relevant not only for business-to-consumer scenarios but for business-to-business scenarios as well. This integration of business-to-consumer and business-to-business planning into a single framework is essential for ensuring success in today's networked marketplace. The marketing plan outlined in this book builds on the view of marketing as a central business discipline that defines the key aspects of a company's business model. This view of marketing is reflected in the book's cross-functional approach to strategic business planning. The Marketing Plan Handbook offers an integrative approach to writing a marketing plan that incorporates the relevant technological, financial, organizational, and operational aspects of the business. This approach leads to a marketing plan that is pertinent not only for marketers but for the entire organization. The Marketing Plan Handbook can benefit managers in all types of organizations. For startups and companies considering bringing new products to the market, this book outlines a process for developing a marketing plan to launch a new offering. For established companies with existing portfolios of products, this book presents a structured approach to developing an action plan to manage their offerings and product lines. Whether it is applied to a small business seeking to formalize the planning process, a startup seeking venture-capital financing, a fast-growth company considering an initial public offering, or a large multinational corporation, the framework outlined in this book can help streamline the marketing planning process and translate it into an actionable strategic document that informs business decisions and helps avoid costly missteps.
Strategic Marketing Management - the Framework, 10th Edition by Alexander Chernev
Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Description: Strategic Marketing Management: The Framework delineates the fundamentals of marketing strategy, offers a systematic approach to marketing management, and presents a value-based framework for developing viable market offerings. The theory presented stems from the view of marketing as a value-creation process that is central to any business enterprise. In addition to theory, this book offers a set of practical tools that enable managers to apply the knowledge contained in the generalized frameworks to specific business problems and market opportunities. The information contained in this volume is organized into five major parts. The first part defines the essence of marketing as a business discipline and outlines an overarching framework for marketing management that serves as the organizing principle for the information presented in the rest of the book. We discuss the role of marketing management as a value-creation process, the essentials of marketing strategy and tactics as the key components of a company's business model, and the process of developing an actionable marketing plan. Part Two covers issues pertaining to the development of a marketing strategy that will guide the company's tactical activities. Here we focus on three fundamental aspects of a company's marketing strategy: the identification of target customers, the development of a customer value proposition, and the development of a value proposition for the company and its collaborators. Part Three focuses on the marketing tactics, viewed as a process of designing, communicating, and delivering value. We discuss how companies design their offerings and, specifically, how they develop key aspects of their products, services, brands, prices, and incentives. We further address the ways in which companies manage their marketing communication and explore the role of distribution channels in delivering the company's offerings to target customers. The fourth part of the book focuses on managing growth. We discuss strategies used by companies to gain and defend market position and, in this context, address the issues of pioneering advantage and managing sales growth. We further address the process of developing new market offerings and the ways in which companies manage product lines to create market value. We also discuss the key principles of managing product lines and ways in which companies can use product lines to gain and defend market position. The final part of this book provides a set of tools that illustrate the practical application of marketing theory. This part presents two workbooks: a workbook for segmenting the market and identifying target customers and a workbook for developing the strategic and tactical components of a company's business model. The marketing framework outlined in this book applies to a wide range of companies--startups and established enterprises, consumer packaged goods companies and business-to-business enterprises, high-tech and low-tech ventures, online and brick-and-mortar entities, product manufacturers and value-added service providers, nonprofit organizations and profit-driven companies. This book combines theoretical rigor with practical relevance to strengthen the marketing skills of a wide array of business professionals--from those creating novel market offerings to those improving on existing ones, from entrepreneurs launching a new business to managers working in established corporations, and from product managers to senior executives. Strategic Marketing Management: The Framework is an abbreviated version of a more comprehensive volume, Strategic Marketing Management: Theory and Practice, which is intended for readers seeking broader and more in-depth discussion, detailed analysis, and additional perspectives on the topics presented in the current book.
Strategic Marketing Management - Theory and Practice by Alexander Chernev
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Description: Strategic Marketing Management: Theory and Practice offers a systematic overview of the fundamentals of marketing theory, defines the key principles of marketing management, and presents a value-based framework for developing viable market offerings. The theory presented stems from the view of marketing as a value-creation process that is central to any business enterprise. The discussion of marketing theory is complemented by a set of practical tools that enable managers to apply the knowledge contained in the generalized frameworks to specific business problems and market opportunities. The information on marketing theory and practice contained in this book is organized into eight major parts. The first part defines the essence of marketing as a business discipline and outlines an overarching framework for marketing management that serves as the organizing principle for the information presented in the rest of the book. Specifically, we discuss the role of marketing management as a value-creation process, the essentials of marketing strategy and tactics as the key components of a company's business model, and the process of developing an actionable marketing plan. Part Two focuses on understanding the market in which a company operates. Specifically, we examine how consumers make choices and outline the main steps in the customer decision journey that lead to the purchase of a company's offerings. We further discuss the ways in which companies conduct market research to gather market insights in order to make informed decisions and develop viable courses of action. Part Three covers issues pertaining to the development of a marketing strategy that will guide the company's tactical activities. Here we focus on three fundamental aspects of a company's marketing strategy: the identification of target customers, the development of a customer value proposition, and the development of a value proposition for the company and its collaborators. The discussion of the strategic aspects of marketing management includes an in-depth analysis of the key principles of creating market value in a competitive context. The next three parts of the book focus on the marketing tactics, viewed as a process of designing, communicating, and delivering value. Part Four describes how companies design their offerings and, specifically, how they develop key aspects of their products, services, brands, prices, and incentives. In Part Five, we address the ways in which companies manage their marketing communication and the role of personal selling as a means of persuading customers to choose, purchase, and use a company's offerings. Part Six explores the role of distribution channels in delivering the company's offerings to target customers by examining the value-delivery process both from a manufacturer's and a retailer's point of view. The seventh part of the book focuses on the ways in which companies manage growth. Specifically, we discuss strategies used by companies to gain and defend market position and, in this context, address the issues of pioneering advantage, managing sales growth, and managing product lines. We further address the process of developing new market offerings and the ways in which companies manage the relationship with their customers. The final part of this book presents a set of tools that illustrate the practical application of marketing theory. Specifically, Part Eight delineates two workbooks: a workbook for segmenting the market and identifying target customers and a workbook for developing the strategic and tactical components of a company's business model. This part also contains examples of two marketing plans--one dealing with the launch of a new offering and the other focused on managing an existing offering.
Advertising Strategy (5th ed.) by Derek D. Rucker
Publication Date: 2018-11-30
Description: Advertising strategy examines how to plan and execute advertising campaigns. The initial chapters examine the planning of advertising strategy. This analysis begins with an assessment of how to select the target for an advertising campaign and describes how insight about the target s knowledge and beliefs are used to guide the development of a brand position. Insight about how consumers use advertising content to make decisions is described and strategies for sustaining the impact of a position over time are evaluated. This is followed by a discussion of the execution of an advertising plan. Approaches to the selection of the media used to transmit the advertising message and the development of creative strategy are detailed and the criteria used to evaluate the effectiveness of a campaign are outlined. In the appendices, the structure of brand and agency organizations and the history of advertising are presented.
Table of Contents:
Chapter 1 - The Creative Brief
Chapter 2 - Setting Objectives
Chapter 3 - Segmentation and Targeting
Chapter 4 - Consumer Insights
Chapter 5 - Paths to Persuasion
Chapter 6 - Insights about Information Diffusion Chapter 7 - Brand Positioning
Chapter 8 - Sustaining a Brand s Position
Chapter 9 - Media Landscape and Channel Selection
Chapter 10 - Media Scheduling
Chapter 11 - Creative Strategy
Chapter 12 - Evaluation of Creative
Chapter 13 - Measuring and Testing Effectiveness
Appendix A - Brand and Agency Structure and Interaction
Appendix B - The History of Advertising
The Business Model by Alexander Chernev
Publication Date: 2017-03-12
Description: New product success is often attributed to intuition. Yet, while some products born from intuition do make it big, many others crash and burn. The reason is that intuition is only one aspect of new product development. The other key ingredient of success is having a business model that outlines the ways in which new products will create market value. This book offers a systematic approach to identifying market opportunities and developing breakthrough business models. It outlines the key principles of business model generation, presents a value-based framework for developing viable new offerings, and provides a set of practical tools for creating a meaningful value proposition that drives market success. The business model framework outlined in this book applies to a wide range of companies--startups and established enterprises, consumer-packaged-goods companies and business-to-business enterprises, high-tech and low-tech ventures, online and brick-and-mortar entities, product manufacturers and value-added service providers, nonprofit organizations and profit-driven companies. Practical, actionable, and succinct, The Business Model is the essential reference and how-to guide for everyone seeking to achieve market success: from entrepreneurs to experienced managers, from senior executives to product designers, from those creating new market offerings to those improving on existing ones. This book is for those passionate about building great products that create market value and disrupt industries.
Consumer Neuroscience by Moran Cerf (Editor); Manuel Garcia-Garcia (Editor); Philip Kotler (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Description: A comprehensive introduction to using the tools and techniques of neuroscience to understand how consumers make decisions about purchasing goods and services.Contrary to the assumptions of economists, consumers are not always rational actors who make decisions in their own best interests. The new field of behavioral economics draws on the insights of psychology to study non-rational decision making. The newer field of consumer neuroscience draws on the findings, tools, and techniques of neuroscience to understand how consumers make judgments and decisions. This book is the first comprehensive treatment of consumer neuroscience, suitable for classroom use or as a reference for business and marketing practitioners. After an overview of the field, the text offers the background on the brain and physiological systems necessary for understanding how they work in the context of decision making and reviews the sensory and perceptual mechanisms that govern our perception and experience. Chapters by experts in the field investigate tools for studying the brain, including fMRI, EEG, eye-tracking, and biometrics, and their possible use in marketing. The book examines the relation of attention, memory, and emotion to consumer behavior; cognitive factors in decision making; and the brain's reward system. It describes how consumers develop implicit associations with a brand, perceptions of pricing, and how consumer neuroscience can encourage healthy behaviors. Finally, the book considers ethical issues raised by the application of neuroscience tools to marketing. Contributors Fabio Babiloni, Davide Baldo, David Brandt, Moran Cerf, Yuping Chen, Patrizia Cherubino, Kimberly Rose Clark, Maria Cordero-Merecuana, William A. Cunningham, Manuel Garcia-Garcia, Ming Hsu, Ana Iorga, Philip Kotler, Carl Marci, Hans Melo, Kai-MarkusM ller, Brendan Murray, Ingrid L. C. Nieuwenhuis, Graham Page, Hirak Parikh, Dante M. Pirouz, Martin Reimann, Neal J. Roese, Irit Shapira-Lichter, Daniela Somarriba, Julia Trabulsi, Arianna Trettel, Giovanni Vecchiato, Thalia Vrantsidis, Sarah Walker
Democracy in Decline by Philip Kotler
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Description: In his latest call to arms, Philip Kotler passionately argues that democracy is under grave threat. Too much money has entered politics, and its donors, often billionaires and corporations, now hold too much influence in favor of the 1%. Meanwhile, the voting system is flawed, too few citizens are politically informed, and many don't vote. At the same time, major political parties are unable to agree on policies, Presidents are disempowered, and the real changes needed don't occur. Kotler confronts this gloomy outlook positively with some potential solutions, as well as an invitation for you to get involved in the democratic issues that impact your life.
Advances in Consumer Research Vol. 35 by Angela Y. Lee (Editor); Dilip Soman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Description: These are the Proceedings of the North American Association for Consumer Research conference.
Database Marketing: Analyzing and Managing Customers by Robert Blattberg, Byung-Do Kim, Scott Neslin
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Description: Database marketing is at the crossroads of technology, business strategy, and customer relationship management. Enabled by sophisticated information and communication systems, today’s organizations have the capacity to analyze customer data to inform and enhance every facet of the enterprise—from branding and promotion campaigns to supply chain management to employee training to new product development. Based on decades of collective research, teaching, and application in the field, the authors present the most comprehensive treatment to date of database marketing, integrating theory and practice. Presenting rigorous models, methodologies, and techniques (including data collection, field testing, and predictive modeling), and illustrating them through dozens of examples, the authors cover the full spectrum of principles and topics related to database marketing.
"This is an excellent in-depth overview of both well-known and very recent topics in customer management models. It is an absolute must for marketers who want to enrich their knowledge on customer analytics."
-Peter C. Verhoef, Professor of Marketing, Faculty of Economics and Business, University of Groningen
"A marvelous combination of relevance and sophisticated yet understandable analytical material. It should be a standard reference in the area for many years."
-Don Lehmann, George E. Warren Professor of Business, Columbia Business School
"The title tells a lot about the book's approach—-though the cover reads, "database," the content is mostly about customers and that's where the real-world action is. Most enjoyable is the comprehensive story – in case after case – which clearly explains what the analysis and concepts really mean. This is an essential read for those interested in database marketing, customer relationship management and customer optimization."
-Richard Hochhauser, President and CEO, Harte-Hanks, Inc.
"In this tour de force of careful scholarship, the authors canvass the ever expanding literature on database marketing. This book will become an invaluable reference or text for anyone practicing, researching, teaching or studying the subject."
-Edward C. Malthouse, Theodore R. and Annie Laurie Sills Associate Professor of Integrated Marketing Communications, Northwestern University
Kellogg on Advertising and Media by Bobby J. Calder (Editor); Philip Kotler (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2008-04-25
Description: In Kellogg on Advertising and Media, members of the world's leading marketing faculty explain the revolutionized world of advertising. The star faculty of the Kellogg School of Management reveal the biggest challenges facing marketers today- including the loss of mass audiences, the decline of broadcast television advertising, and the role of online advertising- and show you how to advertise successfully in this new reality. Based on the latest research and case studies, this book shows you how to find and engage audiences in a chaotic media climate.
Marketing in the Public Sector by Nancy Lee; Philip Kotler
Publication Date: 2006-10-16
Description: Marketing in the Public Sector is a groundbreaking book written exclusively for governmental agencies. It offers dozens of marketing success stories from agencies of all types-from around the world-so that you can make a difference in your organization. World-renowned marketing expert Dr. Philip Kotler and social marketing consultant Nancy Lee show that marketing is far more than communications and has at its core a citizen-oriented mindset. You'll become familiar with the marketing toolbox and come to understand how these tools can be used to engender citizen support for your agency, increase utilization of your products and services, influence positive public behaviors-even increase revenues and decrease operating costs. This book offers no-nonsense roadmaps on how to create a strong brand identity, gather citizen input, and evaluate your efforts. It presents a step-by-step model for developing a marketing plan, pulling the lessons of the entire book together into one, high-impact action plan. Simply put, this book empowers you to build the "high-tech, high-touch" agency of the future-and deliver more value for every penny you spend.
High Visibility, Third Edition by Irving Rein; Philip Kotler; Michael Hamlin; Martin Stoller
Publication Date: 2006-01-05
Description: The classic guide to personal and public image making--now updated for the digital age The groundbreaking, critically acclaimed original edition of High Visibility established celebrity--the creating and managing of one's public persona--to be a critical factor in achieving personal and professional success and status. Now, in this new third edition, international communication expert Irving Rein, international marketing guru Philip Kotler, and coauthors Michael Hamlin and Martin Stoller show you how to achieve and benefit from high visibility--in any profession! "High Visibility brilliantly captures the how, why, and what of the celebrity-building process." --Al Reis, bestselling author of Positioning and Marketing Warfare "High Visibility is the Bible, the Das Kapital, the Origin of Species of the infant science of celebritology." --Peter Carlson, Washington Post Today, it's not just what you know or who you know--it's who knows you. High Visibility is the difference between being just a member of the crowd and becoming a highly recognized individual.
The Complete Guide to Sales Force Incentive Compensation by Sally E. Lorimer; Andris A. Zoltners; Prabhakant Sinha
Publication Date: 2006-08-07
Description: Designing an incentive plan to turn sales reps into sales superstars! If you're like most sales leaders, your incentive program is a constant challenge, as you try to jumpstart sales, energize a geographically dispersed and autonomous workforce, and motivate salespeople to achieve ambitious revenue goals. And sometimes it seems like you just don't know what works; your products and markets are changing, the incentive program that was so successful last year no longer produces the desired results, or perhaps the generous incentive program you created has yielded a corps of highly paid salespeople who spend most of their time on existing clients and minimal time generating new business - and threaten to walk away with your customer base if you scale back paychecks! Incentive programs are seductively powerful but complicated instruments. Without careful planning and implementation, they can be too stingy to motivate, too complex to understand, too quick to reward mediocre results, and too difficult to implement. But a well-designed and implemented incentive program is an essential tool for building a motivated, highly effective sales force that delivers the results you need. The Complete Guide to Sales Force Incentive Compensation is a practical, accessible, detailed roadmap to building a compensation systemthat gets it right by creating motivating incentives that produce positive outcomes. Packed with hundreds of real-life examples of what works and what doesn't, this important guide helps you: Understand the value of building an incentive plan that is aligned with your company's goals and culture. Avoid the common trap of overusing incentives to solve too many sales management problems. Measure the effectiveness of your current incentive program, employing easy-to-use tools and metrics for pinpointing its weak spots. Design a compensation plan that attracts and retains successful salespeople, including guidelines for determining the correct pay level, the best salary incentive mix, the proper performance measures, and the right performance payout relationship. Select an incentive compensation plan that works for your organization - then test the plan before it is launched. Set territory-level goals that are fair and realistic, and avoid overpaying the sales force because goals are too easy, or demoralizing salespeople by having goals that are too difficult or not fairly assigned. Create and manage sales contests, SPIFFs (Special Performance Incentive for Field Force), and recognition programs that consistently deliver the intended results. Manage a successful transition to a new compensation plan and build efficient administration systems to support your plan. Every year, corporations spend $200 billion compensating their sales forces, with extremely mixed results. Make sure every dollar you spend is helping to achieve your goal of creating an empowered, effective sales force that drives your company's success. Packed with ready-to-use formulas and assessment tools and a wealth of insights from frontline sales managers and executives, The Complete Guide to Sales Force Incentive Compensation is your hands-on, easy-to-read playbook for crucially important decisions.
The Elusive Fan: Reinventing Sports in a Crowded Marketplace by Irving Rein; Philip Kotler; Ben Ryan Shields
Publication Date: 2006-07-14
Description: Sports are a multibillion-dollar global business that will continue to grow by leaps and bounds into the foreseeable future. The bad news is: It's never been harder to attract, engage, and retain the sports fan. Today's sports fans are bombarded by choices. Traditional sports, such as baseball, football, and basketball, compete for fans' dollars with snowboarding, lacrosse, poker...even paintball. The old business formulas, developed in the age of three TV networks and creaky stadiums, no longer apply. World-renowned communication expert Irving Rein, international marketing guru Philip Kotler, and communication specialist Ben Shields deliver an innovative new business model centered squarely on fan satisfaction and retention. They give you the tools to transform your sports product into an enduring brand-immune to the vagaries of winning and losing-that quickly adapts to changing market conditions. Along the way they illustrate their points with fascinating case studies, including Manchester United's transformation from a plucky home team to a billion-dollar international franchise Professional golf phenomenon Michelle Wie's quest to maximize her talents and marketability Southlake Carroll High School football team's benchmarking of professional and college football programs to build its own brand Daytona International Speedway's reinvention of fan intimacy Combining expert analysis with field-tested strategies for winning hearts and minds, The Elusive Fan is your guide to surviving and thriving in today's ever-widening world of sports.
Kellogg on China: Strategies for Success by Angela Y. Lee, Anuradha Dayal-Gulati
Publication Date: 2005-10-25
Sales Force Design for Strategic Advantage by A. Zoltners; P. Sinha; S. Lorimer
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Description: This book focuses upon the role of the sales force in today's changing world and how to design a sales force for strategic advantage. It includes sections on how to assess the current sales force design and how to implement change and covers customer segmentation, market strategy, structuring and sizing, alignment, metrics and managing change.
Ten Deadly Marketing Sins by Philip Kotler
Publication Date: 2014-05-28
Description: In this clear and comprehensive guide, renowned marketing expert Philip Kotler identifies the ten most common - and most damaging - mistakes marketers make, and how you can dodge them. Covering crucial ground such as brand-building, maximizing technology, and relationship management, this book is a must-have for marketers aiming to remain competitive in an increasingly challenging marketplace.
Foundations of Social Cognition by Galen V. Bodenhausen (Editor); Alan J. Lambert (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003-02-14
Description: A tribute to Robert S. Wyer, Jr.'s remarkable contributions to social psychology, Foundations of Social Cognition offers a compelling analysis of the underlying processes that have long been the focus of Bob Wyer's own research, including attention, perception, inference, and memory. Leading scholars provide an in-depth analysis of these processes as they pertain to one or more substantive areas, including attitudes, construct accessibility, impressions of persons and groups, the interplay between affect and cognition, motivated reasoning, and stereotypes. Each chapter reviews and synthesizes past scholarship with the assessment of current understanding and cutting-edge trends and issues. A "must have" for scholars, researchers, and advanced students in the fields of social and cognitive psychology, as well as those in related fields such as consumer, organizational, and political psychology, neuroscience, marketing, advertising, and communication.
Rethinking Marketing by Philip Kotler
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Description: This book offers a fresh perspective on understanding how successful business strategies are crafted. It provides insights into the challenges and opportunities present in changing Asian business environments. Concepts are presented through models and frameworks. These are illustrated through case studies showcasing a broad spectrum of Asian businesses, ranging from manufacturing to logistics planning to retailing and services. Readers will be able to understand the problems faced by Asian companies, and to apply useful conceptual tools to formulate effective strategies in solving them.
Strategic Marketing for Non-Profit Organizations by Philip Kotler; Alan Andreasen
Publication Date: 2007-10-10
Description: Reflecting the most recent, relevant information in the field, this best-selling book offers readers a practical foundation for marketing in nonprofit organizations. KEY TOPICS: Its coverage encompasses the entire marketing process, providing valuable insights on strategic evaluations, positioning, market targeting, and more. MARKET: For managers and future managers of nonprofit organizations, for-profit organizations, and government agencies.
TechVenture by Mohanbir Sawhney; Ranjay Gulati; Kellogg Techventure Team; Anthony Paoni
Publication Date: 2001-04-26
Description: Drawn from the popular TechVenture program at the Kellogg School of Management, this book provides a deep understanding of the key finance and business trends in e-commerce Viewing Silicon Valley as a test lab for e-commerce strategies, this book delivers the latest financial and business models shaping the e-commerce industry. TechVenture focuses on the Silicon Valley phenomenon, the new financial strategies, and evolving e-business models. Each chapter draws from field research and interviews with the top minds in business today, and covers the most recent advances in e-finance, including: technology incubators, start-up funds, measuring intellectual capital, valuation techniques for Internet firms, and emerging technologies. In addition, TechVenture features intriguing and informative case studies and examples of major companies, including Idealab, Merrill Lynch, Pfizer, and Amazon.com. General business and finance readers, as well as those fascinated by the Internet economy, will find TechVenture an invaluable read that is on the cutting edge of e-business. Mohanbir Sawhney (Evanston, IL) is the McCormick Tribune Professor of Electronic Commerce and Technology at the Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University. Mr. Sawhney was recently named one of the twenty-five most influential people in e-business by Business Week magazine. Ranjay Gulati (Chicago, IL) is the Associate Professor of Management and Organizations at the Kellogg Graduate School of Management and the Director of the Center for Resource on E-Business Innovation. Anthony Paoni (Chicago, IL) is Associate Professor at the Kellogg Graduate School of Management.
The Case for Patents by Daniel F. Spulber
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Description: "This book offers an affirmative case for the many economic benefits of the patent system and shows how patents provide incentives for invention, innovation, and technological change. The discussion highlights the many contributions of patents to economic growth and development. The book helps restore balance to public policy debates by recognizing the important contributions of the patent system"--
The Theory of the Firm by Daniel F. Spulber
Publication Date: 2009-04-06
Description: The Theory of the Firm presents a path-breaking general framework for understanding the economics of the firm. The book addresses why firms exist, how firms are established, and what contributions firms make to the economy. The book presents a new theoretical analysis of the foundations of microeconomics that makes institutions endogenous. Entrepreneurs play a central economic role by establishing firms. In turn, firms create and operate markets and organizations. The book provides innovative models of economic equilibrium that endogenously determine the structure and function of economic institutions. The book proposes an 'intermediation hypothesis' - the establishment of firms depends on the effects of transaction costs and on the extent of the market.
College Success by Michael S. McPherson (Editor); Morton Owen Schapiro (Editor); College Board Editors
Publication Date: 2008-05-27
Description: About two out of three high-school graduates currently enroll at one of America's 4,000 colleges or universities within a year of graduation. But even though college enrollment has increased over the past few decades, college completion rates have fallen. How do so many talented and promising students get derailed along the way? This book examines the financial and social roadblocks as well as the level of college-prep readiness that can affect learning and ultimately graduation rates. Inlight of the staggering differences that characterize American higher education and a student body with diverse socioeconomic backgrounds, College Success: What It Means and How to Make It Happen by The College Board provides a guide to promoting truly effective teaching and redefining success in a way that makes sense in today's heterogeneous world.
College Access by Michael S. McPherson (Editor); Morton Owen Schapiro (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-10-03
Description: Michael S. McPhersonis president of The Spencer Foundation in Chicago, a foundation that researches how education can be improved. He is a former president of Macalester College in Minnesota. A nationally known economist who focuses on the interplay between education and economics, McPherson is the coauthor ofEconomic Analyses and Moral Philosophy. Morton Owen Schapirohas been president of Williams College in Williamstown, Massachusetts, since 2000. An authority on the economics of higher education, he has written more than 50 articles and has coauthored five books with Michael McPherson, includingThe Student Aid GameandKeeping College Affordable. America is often seen as a land of golden opportunity, but for many young people the statistics on college enrollment paint a different picture: Students from low-income families are less likely to graduate from high school and go on to college, and low-income students who do attend a post-secondary institution are most likely to enroll in public community college rather than an elite school.College Access:Opportunity or Privilege'addresses the problem of unequal educational opportunity in the U.S. through essays and studies detailing the disadvantages of our country's low-income students. Back by quantitative data and expert analyses,College Accesshighlights the underlying problems while presenting opportunities for positive change. The authors, analysts of higher education and economic policy, discuss various models colleges can use to educate low-income students and argue that it is imperative to give these students full access to high cost colleges as well as low cost ones in order for the country to remain globally competitive. "Michael McPherson and Morton Owen Schapiro have been joined by sixteen other scholars to produce an important and useful book that presents an integrated, data-rich view of the realities and issues regarding access to higher education in America. It considers three sweeping themes: the future of affirmative action in admissions, the financial and educational issues regarding college attendance by low-income students, and policy recommendations to improve college attendance by low-income level students. It is of great importance to policymakers and educational leaders."—Charles M. Vest, Professor and President Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology "Michael McPherson and Morton Owen Schapiro have been joined by sixteen other scholars to produce an important and useful book that presents an integrated, data-rich view of the realities and issues regarding access to higher education in America. It considers three sweeping themes: the future of affirmative action in admissions, the financial and educational issues regarding college attendance by low-income students, and policy recommendations to improve college attendance by low-income level students. It is of great importance to policymakers and educational leaders."—Charles M. Vest, Professor and President Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology "This book shines important new light on the issue of economic inequality in postsecondary education in the United States. But of equal importance, it shows practical ways for effectively tackling this devastating national problem. I hope it will serve as a spur for us to build the coalition that is needed to bring real change."—Bob Wise, President, Alliance for Excellent Education, and former Governor of West Virginia "Building on the contributions of the bookExcellence and Equity in American Higher Education,Collegetakes an important next step toward achieving access to college for low-income students. It gives us a comprehensive and nuanced look at the institutional, politi
Family Enterprising in the Asia Pacific by Kevin Au (Editor); Justin B. Craig (Editor); K. Ramachandran (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-09-30
Description: This book analyzes the findings reported in the first Asia Pacific summit of the Successful Transgenerational Entrepreneurship Practices (STEP) project. Researchers in Australia, China, and India discussed eleven in-depth case studies to shed light on the challenges that business families and family businesses faced in continuing and extending their entrepreneurial capabilities across multiple generations. Based on a common research framework from STEP, each chapter introduces key findings and challenges existing theory, offering answers to two broad questions in the Asia Pacific context: How do business families and family businesses generate and sustain entrepreneurial performance across generations and how does entrepreneurial performance relate to the continuity, growth and transgenerational entrepreneurship of business families and family businesses? In doing so, the authors look at key issues faced by family business including dealing with communication issues across generations, resolving conflict between siblings, preparing and luring younger generations back to family business, and professionalization of business. The chapters go beyond the succession and governance challenges and explore the processes and outcomes of entrepreneurship in the Austral-Asian family context. Academics, teachers and students in business and management, entrepreneurship and family business, and Asian studies will find this path-breaking book of great value, as will libraries, policymakers and consultants.
Human Resources in the Family Business by David Ransburg; Wendy Sage-Hayward; Amy M. Schuman
Publication Date: 2015-11-19
Description: This book will help HR managers and founders/owners develop a formal process within the company and also provide insights from family firms on how to manage sensitive topics ranging from family member compensation; family member appraisal, etc., and serves as a guide to HR managers struggling to get a "seat at the table" in family firms.
Leading a Family Business by Justin B. Craig; Ken Moores
Publication Date: 2017-07-20
Description: Based on insights from executives across the globe, this planning guide captures the unique challenges faced by leaders of a family business and presents an approach to help these operations survive and thrive across generations. Leading a company is a much different experience for those in a family-run business than for their contemporaries in nonfamilial environments. This book provides a comprehensive overview of the skill set and mindset required to lead family enterprises, and it introduces the four critical areas in which family businesses differ from traditional companies--management structures, governance mechanisms, entrepreneurial advantages, and stewardship practices. In a fascinating convergence of entrepreneurship, family relations, and corporate principles, the authors present two frameworks to better understand the best practices of leading a family business: a firm-level frame focused on these four critical areas of difference (architecture, governance, entrepreneurship, and stewardship) and an individual one that mirrors these in terms of the skill set and mindset successful leaders need to develop. Craig and Moores consider the differences between leadership in family enterprises and non-family enterprises; the entrepreneurial capabilities needed by executives in family-based firms; and the use of power, identification, and motivation in managing their responsibilities both at home and in the workplace. Case studies provide a real-life look at the inner workings of family operations across the globe. Includes insights from leaders of family businesses from all over the world Describes important characteristics for leading family and business systems successfully Features case vignettes showcasing the complex inner workings of family and business stewardship Compares the homogeneity evident in non-family enterprises versus the heterogeneity of family enterprises Discusses the differences between leadership in family enterprises and non-family enterprises