Libguide for Faculty: Data

Datasets

Library has acquired the following data sets which are hosted on a local server. To get access to these data, please write to rama.patnaik@iimb.ac.in. 

For comprehensive details on these data sets please check the link https://library.iimb.ac.in/datasetaccess

• ASI (Annual Survey of Industries): ASI is the principal source of industrial statistics in India. Currently, we have ASI (detailed) unit-level data from 1983-84 to 1984-85; 1989-90; 1994-95, 1996-97 to 2013-14.

 ASI (Detailed) unit-level data with common factory –ID is available from    1998-99 to 2017-18.

• CENSUS Data: Census report covers socio-economic statistical data about India and all the states like general description, population, religion and sect, sex and age, marriage & co, infirmities, birthplace and mother tongue, languages, towns, caste and other social divisions, instruction, caste & tribe, civil condition, race, occupation, accommodation, and occupation, etc.
  • • • The library has full census reports from 1881 to 1941, and partially data are available for the year 2014-15.
      • Census of India 2011 Data – 147 towns having population about 3 lakhs and above.

• CEB (Census Enumeration blocks): The CEB or the Census Enumeration Blocks are the most elementary census aggregates. Every national census unit has such an elementary census frame (for example, they are called "census precincts" in the United States and "first units" in some EU nations). Households are numbered serially within a CEB, and each CEB in urban India contains around 125 households or about 625 individuals.                 
• We have access to the following data:        
• CEB level data as per Census 2011 for the towns having a population from 50000 to 99999.
   Data available for 605 towns/cities.
• CEB level data as per Census 2011 for the towns having a population from 100000 to 299999.
  Data available for 356 towns/cities
• CEB level data as per Census 2011 for the towns having a population of 300000 and more
  Data available for 147 towns/cities
• CEB level data as per Census 2011 for the towns having a population less than 50000.

Data available for 7,935 Towns

Available Variables are State Code, State Name, District Code, District Name, Sub-dist Code, Sub-dist Name, Town Code, Town Name, Ward Code, EB/SubEb Code, TOT_P, TOT_M, TOT_F, SC_P, SC_M, SC_F, ST_P, ST_M, ST_F

• Election data (Polling Station Vote Distribution data): Data available for the Year 2009, 2013, 2014, 2018 and 2019 for Karnataka.

Election data (Polling Station Vote Distribution data): Data available for the Year 2014 & 2019 for the 21 States (Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh,  Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Telangana and West Bengal)

Available Variables are: PC, AC, Number of Polling Station, Name of Polling Station, Winner, Candidate Name, Winner Party Name, Winner Party Votes, Runner Candidate Name, Runner Party Name, Runner Party Votes,3rd Candidate Name, 3rd Party Name, 3rd Party Votes,4th Candidate Name, 4th Party Name, 4th Party Votes,5th Candidate Name,5th Party Name, 5th Party Votes, 6th Candidate Name,6th Party Name, 6th Party Votes,7th Candidate Name,7th Party Name,7th Party Votes,8th Candidate Name,8th Party Name,8th Party Votes,9th Candidate Name,9th Party Name, 9th Party Votes,10th Candidate Name,10th Party Name,10th Party Votes,11th Candidate Name,11th Party Name,11th Party Votes, 12th Candidate Name, 12th Party Name, 12th Party Votes,13th Candidate Name, 13th Party Name,13th Party Votes, 14th Candidate Name, 14th Party Name, 14th Party Votes, 15th Candidate Name, 15th Party Name, 15th Party Votes, 16th Candidate Name, 16th Party Name, 16th Party Votes, 17th Candidate Name,17th Party Name,17th Party Votes, Total Valid Votes, NOTA andTotal with NOTA.

• Extraction of Time series data:  A systematic downloading of data is allowed for research/educational purpose only as specified by publisher. Here is guide created for extraction of time series data.

• Digital Map Data: Digital Map Data provides data sets to comply with accepted standards of spatial integrity. These are vector maps in layers, sourced and digitized from satellite images and special maps.
  • • • Digital Map data of 34 state excluding Karnataka. All layers linked with 2011 census PCA (Primary Census Abstract) data. 
      • Digital Map data 2011 Census-Uttar Pradesh (Village, Panchayat and block boundary and assembly constituency along with the parliamentary constituency). All village boundaries are linked to census demographics. There is over 640 thousand village for 2011. 
      • Digital Map data of Karnataka state (State, District, Sub-District & village boundary) in ESRI SHP format with PCA date 2011.   

• Maharashtra-commercial & Residential Data (CRE Matrix): 

It covers Commercial & Residential data for Housing sale & lease transaction data for cities of Mumbai, Pune, Thane, Palghar and Raigad and commercial office lease transactions data for cities of Mumbai, Navi Mumbai, and Thane. 

• NIELSEN Dataset: The Consumer Panel Data include information about product purchases made by a panel of consumer households across all retail outlets in all US markets. It covers longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. The data represent approximately 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of fast-moving consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets.Access: Restricted Access (Only Faculty & FPM)  

• NSSO (National Sample Survey Office): IIMB library has the data from 1983 to 2016 (38 to 73 rounds). NSSO round covers socio-economic statistical data about India like Employment and Unemployment, housing condition, domestic tourism, Drinking water, sanitation, Land and livestock holdings, social consumption, health, Domestic tourism expenditure, Labour Force, Construction, Industries, Manufacture, etc.
• UNIDO-INDSTAT: UNIDO provides online access to different sets of data, variables like Employees, wages & salaries, female employees, Gross fixed capital information, index numbers of industrial production. Data can be tabulated using different dimensions (e.g., years, countries) and filtered (e.g., Output of India). 

Coverage:

• • • • Industries-23
      • No. of Countries- 170
      • Reference Period- 1963-2016

• UNIDO- IDSB: UNIDO provides online access to different sets of data, variables like the import world, export world, apparent consumption, imports developing, exports developing, export industrialized.

Coverage:

• IDSB Revisions- 3

• Industries- 127
• No. of Countries- 121
• Reference Period- 2005-2015

• IDSB Revision- 4

• Industries-137
• No. of Countries- 68
• Reference Period- 2005-2015

How to get access to datasets: Some of these are stored in CD mirroring server and are easily downloadable to your laptops.

Please download the copyright form, sign and scan it to send email to librarian@iimb.ac.in  If you wish to use any of these datasets for your research, please write to  rama.patnaik@iimb.ac.in  with a CC to libraryit@iimb.ac.in .

Resource guide URL for access of Datasets: https://library.iimb.ac.in/datasetaccess

CEIC:

India Premium Database covers the most comprehensive and in-depth India-specific time series data, dating back to 1951 and other economic sector data series. With over 5,15,000 time series across 18 economic topics and 15 industry sectors, the India Premium Database contains resource for analysts, investors, and strategists, to assess and run analytical models on the Indian economy. This database offers an expansive range of national and subnational variables with varying frequencies. Some key highlights are:

1. National accounts data covers nation, state, and district data
2. National and state government Budget data and with respective monthly finance data
3. Comprehensive multi-tier data on the performance of trade, international payment, and investment
4. Detailed trade data covers both Principal commodities and HS classification
5. Detailed retail and wholesale commodities data at city level on a daily and monthly frequency
6. A unique business, economic, and household survey
7. Detailed weather, irrigation statistics, and agriculture sector and its linkages.
8. GDP Nowcast for India, a proprietary dataset designed by CEIC Insights, aimed at anticipating GDP growth on a real-time basis.
9. Government and Public Finance information, helping you summarize the fiscal situation at a country level and by state
10. Debt and mutual fund market to ascertain the health of the securities, besides getting an aggregate view of the financial markets
11. 15 key sectors of the country with highlights being Energy, Tourism, Transportation, Banking, Agriculture, Mining and Manufacturing
12. Survey Data from RBI on consumer confidence, household survey, Business, and Economic survey
13. Payroll statistics from EPFO
14. Automobile Registrations Data on Monthly and Weekly frequency from Govt source: Vaahan under Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. The data is available at the state level – Category wise, Class wise and Fuel wise

CMIE-Capexdx:

CapExdx database contains the history of implementation of projects since 1995. contains information on over 60,000 such projects. Of these over 35,000 have been completed, a little over 5,000 were abandoned, and the remaining exceeding 13,000 are currently under various stages of implementation.

CMIE-Consumer Pyramidsdx:

Consumer Pyramids is the largest survey of households of India. It makes estimates of income, expenses, savings, borrowings, investments, and ownership of assets of households. It also makes estimates of the age, gender, education, occupation, health, and financial inclusion of individuals. CPHS is conducted thrice every year. Thus, there are three Waves every year. The sample size of the survey is around 170,000 households, and the sample is maintained as a panel surveyed over multiple Waves. CPHS includes the following databases:

a)-People of India dx: The People of India database is particularly rich in capturing labour market supply characteristics. It provides information on the employment/unemployment status of every individual over 14 years of age. It covers in detail of the duration of the place of work, type of employment, and nature of engagement. Data is available from Jan 2014 to date.

b)-Aspirational India dx: The Aspirational India database offers several kinds of data that throw light on household assets and amenities, household sentiments, their perceptions, and decisions regarding the purchase of assets or to make investments. It covers data on ownership of a dozen assets by households and insights into the standard of living of Indian households. Data is available from Jan 2014 to date.

c)-Income Pyramids dx: This database presents information on income from wages, pensions, dividends, and interest of individual earning members of households. Each source of income is revealed separately. It offers income received by the household from sources that are usually not attributable to a specific household individual. These include private transfers, government transfers, business profits, profits from the sale of assets, the imputed income of home-grown agricultural products used for self-consumption, lotteries & gambling. It delivers monthly data for its sample households from January 2014 onwards.

d)-Consumption Pyramids dx: Consumption Pyramids deliver a monthly series of household consumption expenditure & snapshots of weekly expenses on select fast-moving expense items. The Consumer Pyramids Household Survey focuses on two questions. First, how much do households spend, in rupee terms, on consumption expenditure & second, what is the broad distribution of this spend. Consumption Pyramids also provides snapshots of weekly expenses on 27 items on which expenses are made with faster frequency. Data is available from Jan 2014 onwards.

CMIE-Prowessdx:

Prowessdx covers data for about 52,100 Indian companies, including listed companies, unlisted public companies, and private companies of all sizes and ownership groups. It contains time-series data since 1989. For latest information on companies, please prefer Prowess.

EPWRF India Time series:

Economic and Political Weekly Research Foundation includes a long-term data series online for twenty-one modules covering a wide range of macro-economic and financial sectors. It also covers economic and market reviews, financial market reviews, money market reviews, theme articles, and papers on economic/financial market indicators. Modules are National Accounts Statistics of India, Domestic Product of States of India, Price Indices, Agricultural Statistics, Agricultural Wages in India, Wage Rates in Rural India, Annual Survey of Industries, Industrial Production Series, Mineral Statistics, Statistics of Mines, Power Sector Statistics, External Sector Statistics, Monetary Statistics, Financial Markets, Banking Statistics, Insurance Statistics, Finances of the Government of India, Finances of State Governments, Combined Government Finances, Health Statistics, Educational Statistics.

Indiastat:

Indiastat.com provides socio-economic statistical data primarily from Indian government sources at the state level. Statistical data includes demographics, health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production information, economic statistics, etc. Information from specific sectors such as bank and foreign Trade, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, Power, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, and transportation are also included.

PropEquity-PE Plus Application (Residential & Commercial)

PropEquity is an online provider of Analytics, Data, and Deal flows covering the Indian real estate industry. PropEquity tracks almost 100,000 projects of 27,000 developers across cities in India on a real-time basis. This platform generates analysis for all verticals under residential, commercial, and retail sectors from a macro to a micro level.

Cities Access: MMR (Mumbai, Thane, and Navi Mumbai), NCR (Delhi, Gurgaon, Noida, Greater Noida, Faridabad, and Ghaziabad) Pune, Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Ahmedabad.

Data coverage: Data points like pricing, sales trend for the period Apr’20-Mar’21, details of projects launched in the period Apr’20-Mar’21 including new projects added in the PE database launched prior to Mar’21 (in new rows), RERA approved (Yes/No) status along with updated information on Construction Stages, Completion Date and Resale Prices of Sold-out Properties for all the projects shared across the cities.

Access: Kindly route your data request to librarian@iimb.ac.in

Statista:

Statista provides statistical data on media, business, politics, society, technology, and education. Its Global Consumer Survey module covers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is based on more than 700,000 online interviews conducted in 55 countries. Data are available from 2018 onwards on Demographics, Education & Employment, Income & economic situation, consumption, Internet & Media, Insurance, Health & Travel, etc.