It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An Introduction to Econometric Theory by James Davidson
Publication Date: 2018-10-22
Price : $85
A guide to economics, statistics and finance that explores the mathematical foundations underling econometric methods An Introduction to Econometric Theory offers a text to help in the mastery of the mathematics that underlie econometric methods and includes a detailed study of matrix algebra and distribution theory. Designed to be an accessible resource, the text explains in clear language why things are being done, and how previous material informs a current argument. The style is deliberately informal with numbered theorems and lemmas avoided. However, very few technical results are quoted without some form of explanation, demonstration or proof. The author -- a noted expert in the field -- covers a wealth of topics including: simple regression, basic matrix algebra, the general linear model, distribution theory, the normal distribution, properties of least squares, unbiasedness and efficiency, eigenvalues, statistical inference in regression, t and F tests, the partitioned regression, specification analysis, random regressor theory, introduction to asymptotics and maximum likelihood. Each of the chapters is supplied with a collection of exercises, some of which are straightforward and others more challenging. This important text: Presents a guide for teaching econometric methods to undergraduate and graduate students of economics, statistics or finance Offers proven classroom-tested material Contains sets of exercises that accompany each chapter Includes a companion website that hosts additional materials, solution manual and lecture slides Written for undergraduates and graduate students of economics, statistics or finance, An Introduction to Econometric Theory is an essential beginner's guide to the underpinnings of econometrics.
Automating with SIMATIC by Hans Berger; Marius Leibold; Nitin Nohria; Sven C. Voelpel
Publication Date: 2006-12-13
Price : $65
Totally Integrated Automation is the concept by means of which SIMATIC controls machines, manufacturing systems and technical processes. Taking the example of the S7-300/400 programmable controller, this book provides a comprehensive introduction to the architecture and operation of a state-of-the-art automation system. It also gives an insight into configuration and parameter setting for the controller and the distributed I/O. Communication via network connections is explained, along with a description of the available scope for operator control and monitoring of a plant. As the central automation tool, STEP 7 manages all relevant tasks and offers a choice of various text and graphics-oriented PLC programming languages. The available languages and their respective different features are explained to the reader. For this third edition, the contents of all sections of the book have been revised, updated and the new data communications with PROFINET IO have been added. The STEP 7 basic software is explained in its latest version. The book is ideal for those who have no extensive prior knowledge of programmable controllers and wish for an uncomplicated introduction to this subject.
Buying, Selling, and Valuing Financial Practices by David Grau
Publication Date: 2016-08-22
Price : $59.95
The Authoritative M&A Guide for Financial Advisors Buying, Selling, & Valuing Financial Practices shows you how to complete a sale or acquisition of a financial advisory practice and have both the buyer and seller walk away with the best possible terms. From the first pages of this unique book, buyers and sellers and merger partners will find detailed information that separately addresses each of their needs, issues and concerns. From bestselling author and industry influencer David Grau Sr. JD, this masterful guide takes you from the important basics of valuation to the finer points of deal structuring, due diligence, and legal matters, with a depth of coverage and strategic guidance that puts you in another league when you enter the M&A space. Complete with valuable tools, worksheets, and checklists on a companion website, no other resource enables you to: Master the concepts of value and valuation and take this issue "off the table" early in the negotiation process Utilize advanced deal structuring techniques including seller and bank financing strategies Understand how to acquire a book, practice or business based on how it was built, and what it is capable of delivering in the years to come Navigate the complexities of this highly-regulated profession to achieve consistently great results whether buying, selling, or merging Buying, Selling, & Valuing Financial Practices will ensure that you manage your M&A transaction properly and professionally, aided with the most powerful set of tools available anywhere in the industry, all designed to create a transaction where everyone wins--buyer, seller, and clients.
Collateral Management by Michael Simmons
Publication Date: 2019-04-29
Price : $95
Insight into collateral management and its increasing relevance in modern banking In the wake of recent financial crises, firms of all sizes have adjusted their policies to incorporate more frequent instances of collateral management. Collateral Management: A Guide to Mitigating Counterparty Risk explains the connection between the need for collateral management in order to alleviate counterparty risk and the actions that firms must take to achieve it. Targeted at middle and back office managers seeking a hands-on explanation of the specifics of collateral management, this book offers a thorough treatment of the subject and attends to details such as internal record management, daily procedures used in making and receiving collateral calls, and settlement-related issues that affect the movements of cash and securities collateral. An expert in financial topics ranging from trade lifecycle to operational risk, author Michael Simmons offers readers insight into a field that, so far, is struggling to produce enough expertise to meet its high demand. Presents hands-on advice and examples from a bestselling, internationally renowned author who introduces his third book on operations and operations-related activities Explains the relationship between collateral management and preventing institutional defaults, such as the recent Lehman Brothers downfall Since 2008, firms have recognized and embraced the importance of collateral management, but this book will provide practitioners with a deeper understanding and appreciation of its relevance.
Enterprise Agile by Doug Rose
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
Price : $31.99
Manage and improve your organization's agile transformation Adopting an enterprise agile framework is a radical organizational change, and this book will help you get there without ever breaking a sweat. In Enterprise Agility For Dummies, you'll discover how to successfully choose and implement the right framework based on your organization's own unique culture. Organizational culture is one of the most overlooked challenges when trying to make a change to enterprise agile, and there are lots of resources out there that claim to have the perfect, one-size-fits-all solution. Luckily, this book takes a neutral stance and covers popular organizational change management techniques that you can implement to suit to your unique needs. Packed with step-by-step instruction and complemented with real-world case studies, this book offers everything you need to know in order to embrace a more agile mindset. Understand the benefits of an agile approach Pick the best enterprise agile framework for your organization Create a successful enterprise change management plan Let Enterprise Agility For Dummies help you optimize your business processes, and watch your productivity soar.
Environmental Innovation and Ecodesign by Romain Debref
Publication Date: 2018-08-14
Price : $120
The end of the post-war economic boom was marked by the recognition of the environmental problem with the oil crises of the 1970s and, in 1972, the first major UN conference devoted to the human environment. Successive international meetings have resulted in a context where technical change, innovation and industry have assumed a central place in the creation of a new model of society. Against this consensus, the author demonstrates from economic analysis and wide-ranging examples that the environmental innovation doctrine and ecodesign methods remain fragile and can lead to paradoxical results.
Handbook of Safety Principles by Niklas Moller; Sven Ove Hansson (Editor); Jan-Erik Holmberg (Editor); Carl Rollenhagen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018-02-21
Price : $156
Presents recent breakthroughs in the theory, methods, and applications of safety and risk analysis for safety engineers, risk analysts, and policy makers Safety principles are paramount to addressing structured handling of safety concerns in all technological systems. This handbook captures and discusses the multitude of safety principles in a practical and applicable manner. It is organized by five overarching categories of safety principles: Safety Reserves; Information and Control; Demonstrability; Optimization; and Organizational Principles and Practices. With a focus on the structured treatment of a large number of safety principles relevant to all related fields, each chapter defines the principle in question and discusses its application as well as how it relates to other principles and terms. This treatment includes the history, the underlying theory, and the limitations and criticism of the principle. Several chapters also problematize and critically discuss the very concept of a safety principle. The book treats issues such as: What are safety principles and what roles do they have? What kinds of safety principles are there? When, if ever, should rules and principles be disobeyed? How do safety principles relate to the law; what is the status of principles in different domains? The book also features: * Insights from leading international experts on safety and reliability * Real-world applications and case studies including systems usability, verification and validation, human reliability, and safety barriers * Different taxonomies for how safety principles are categorized * Breakthroughs in safety and risk science that can significantly change, improve, and inform important practical decisions * A structured treatment of safety principles relevant to numerous disciplines and application areas in industry and other sectors of society * Comprehensive and practical coverage of the multitude of safety principles including maintenance optimization, substitution, safety automation, risk communication, precautionary approaches, non-quantitative safety analysis, safety culture, and many others The Handbook of Safety Principles is an ideal reference and resource for professionals engaged in risk and safety analysis and research. This book is also appropriate as a graduate and PhD-level textbook for courses in risk and safety analysis, reliability, safety engineering, and risk management offered within mathematics, operations research, and engineering departments. NIKLAS MÖLLER, PhD, is Associate Professor at the Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden. The author of approximately 20 international journal articles, Dr. Möller's research interests include the philosophy of risk, metaethics, philosophy of science, and epistemology. SVEN OVE HANSSON, PhD, is Professor of Philosophy at the Royal Institute of Technology. He has authored over 300 articles in international journals and is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. Dr. Hansson is also a Topical Editor for the Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science. JAN-ERIK HOLMBERG, PhD, is Senior Consultant at Risk Pilot AB and Adjunct Professor of Probabilistic Riskand Safety Analysis at the Royal Institute of Technology. Dr. Holmberg received his PhD in Applied Mathematics from Helsinki University of Technology in 1997. CARL ROLLENHAGEN, PhD, is Adjunct Professor of Risk and Safety at the Royal Institute of Technology. Dr. Rollenhagen has performed extensive research in the field of human factors and MTO (Man, Technology, and Organization) with a specific emphasis on safety culture and climate, event investigation methods, and organizational safety assessment.
Innovation and Society by Françoise Cros
Publication Date: 2018-03-27
Price : $119.95
This book takes stock of the state of the question on innovation in a particular area of ??education and training. But for this it must be noted that economists have appropriated the notion since Schumpeter and have constrained to think innovation in professions of intervention on others as if they were products to be delivered to the customer as quickly and the best (frugal innovation). Here the author brings a nuance and demonstrates the specificity of innovations in "soft" areas, their richness, while drawing the reader to caution and criticism because any innovation is not good in itself: it can Produce adverse effects in the medium and long term. The author proposes two supports for innovation: on the one hand the approach by its most objective evaluation which itself induces an innovation in its evaluation and, on the other hand, an approach to values ??and therefore to philosophy of the desired future man. A detour on the history of innovation, on its international approaches, on the imaginary investments it is often the object of (with a nuance of utopia) makes it possible to understand why innovation has been a means To drive the reforms and to convince people for a better future.
Innovation Governance by Jean-Philippe Deschamps; Beebe Nelson
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Price : $55
The business leader's guide to encouraging continuous innovationin any organization Innovation governance is a hot topic in the business world. In afast-paced business environment, the ability of corporate leadersto build purpose, direction, and focus for innovation is moreimportant than ever. In this book, the authors provide a frameworkfor encouraging and focusing innovation by explaining whatinnovation governance is, the various models for governance andtheir advantages and disadvantages, how to assess and improvegovernance practices, and behavioral tactics for maximizing theeffectiveness of governance. It offers guidance for everyone fromthe boardroom through senior management, illustrating effectivegovernance models with real case studies from a range of companiesin the United States and Europe. Addressesan important yet underappreciated skill for CEOs, board members,and top management Featuresreal-world examples and case studies from a variety of businessfrom around the world Writtenby an author team with hands-on experience in the subjects ofinnovation management, organizational learning, innovationleadership, organizational behavior, and individual leadership andteamwork Innovation governance is a sadly neglected topic in manyorganizations. This book offers vital guidance and real-worldexperience for building innovation into any business from the topdown.
Introduction to International Economics by Dominick Salvatore
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
Price : $222.95
Introduction to International Economics by Dominick Salvatore offers a clear presentation of today's global economy while explaining the workings of the world economy, the major benefits it provides to both people and nations, and the most serious challenges it faces. The text is filled with more than 85 current and relevant case studies and business examples, represented in every chapter. By using real-world data, Salvatore makes international economics applicable to all. Salvatore introduces the four principles of international economics that are essential to understanding, evaluating, and solving the important issues facing the United States and the world today. These principles- addressing topics from deep poverty in developing countries to the globalization of capital markets- are discussed in a simple but comprehensive way. The text also provides the most up-to-date and clear exposition of international economics principles.
IP, Ethernet and MPLS Networks by André Pérez
Publication Date: 2011-05-09
Price : $150.75
This book summarizes the key Quality of Service technologiesdeployed in telecommunications networks: Ethernet, IP, and MPLS.The QoS of the network is made up of two parts: fault and resourcemanagement. Network operation quality is among the functions to be fulfilledin order to offer QoS to the end user. It is characterized by fourparameters: packet loss, delay, jitter or the variation of delayover time, and availability. Resource management employs mechanismsthat enable the first three parameters to be guaranteed oroptimized. Fault management aims to ensure continuity ofservice.
Managing the Unknown by Christoph H. Loch; Arnoud DeMeyer; Michael T. Pich
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Price : $119.5
Managing the Unknown offers a new way of looking at the problem ofmanaging projects in novel and unknown environments. From Europe'sleading business school, this book shows how to manage twofundamental approaches that, in combination, offer the possibilityof coping with unforeseen influences that inevitably arise in novelprojects: * Trial-and-Error Learning allows for redefining the plan and theproject as the project unfolds * Selectionism pursues multiple, independent trials in order topick the best one at the end Managing the Unknown offers expert guidelines to the specificproject mindsets, infrastructures, and management methods requiredto use these project management approaches and achieve success inspite of unforeseen obstacles. This book equips readers with: * Causal explanations of why unforeseeable factors in novelprojects make traditional project planning and project riskmanagement insufficient * Directly applicable management tools that help managers to guidenovel and high-uncertainty projects * Real-world case studies of both successful and unsuccessfulapproaches to managing high uncertainty in novel projects
Optimization Modeling with Spreadsheets by Kenneth R. Baker
Publication Date: 2011-05-24
Price : $128.95
Reflects the latest applied research and features state-of-the-art software for building and solving spreadsheet optimization models Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest topical and technical advances in the field, Optimization Modeling with Spreadsheets, Second Edition continues to focus on solving real-world optimization problems through the creation of mathematical models and the use of spreadsheets to represent and analyze those models. Developed and extensively classroom-tested by the author, the book features a systematic approach that equips readers with the skills to apply optimization tools effectively without the need to rely on specialized algorithms. This new edition uses the powerful software package Risk Solver Platform (RSP) for optimization, including its Evolutionary Solver, which employs many recently developed ideas for heuristic programming. The author provides expanded coverage of integer programming and discusses linear and nonlinear programming using a systematic approach that emphasizes the use of spreadsheet-based optimization tools. The Second Edition also features: Classifications for the various problem types, providing the reader with a broad framework for building and recognizing optimization models Network models that allow for a more general form of mass balance A systematic introduction to Data Envelopment Analysis (DEA) The identification of qualitative patterns in order to meaningfully interpret linear programming solutions An introduction to stochastic programming and the use of RSP to solve problems of this type Additional examples, exercises, and cases have been included throughout, allowing readers to test their comprehension of the material. In addition, a related website features Microsoft Office#65533; Excel files to accompany the figures and data sets in the book. With its accessible and comprehensive presentation, Optimization Modeling with Spreadsheets, Second Edition is an excellent book for courses on deterministic models, optimization, and spreadsheet modeling at the upper-undergraduate and graduate levels. The book can also serve as a reference for researchers, practitioners, and consultants working in business, engineering, operations research, and management science.
Optimize Your Greatest Asset -- Your People by Gene Pease
Publication Date: 2015-08-17
Price : $60
Drive better business strategy with practical analytics for people data Optimize Your Greatest Asset -- Your People brings advanced analytics into Human Resources, giving you a framework for optimizing human capital investments through predictive analysis. You'll learn how to transition from anecdotes and surveys to more advanced measurement techniques, and combine the data from multiple systems into a unified plan of action that improves business results. Practical examples and case studies show how these techniques are applied in real-world settings, and executives and thought leaders weigh in on how advanced analytics are informing better business decisions every day. Coverage includes the latest research on the state of current HR measurement techniques, as well as the important considerations surrounding data security and employee trust. Executives and managers alike are swimming in pools of people data, spread across multiple systems that don't talk to each other. This book shows you how to bring that data together, organize it, and turn it into useful information, and how to build your data strategy to take advantage of the wealth of available tools. Produce actionable intelligence with data from multiple systems Move beyond activity metrics and into advanced measurements Create stronger policy covering security, privacy, and ethics Achieve sophisticated HR analytics without breaking employee trust It's time for HR leaders to get over their fear of Big Data. Good data drives good business, and human capital is the biggest asset a company has. Start measuring the things that matter, and start turning those measurements into actual information that goes beyond the spreadsheet. Optimize Your Greatest Asset -- Your People shows you how to get started, and where to go from there.
Panic, Prosperity, and Progress by Timothy Knight
Publication Date: 2014-02-17
Price : $60
A detailed guide to financial market performance duringfinancial crises With the financial markets seemingly careening from one crisisto another, it's vital for today?s investors and traders tohave an historical perspective on market performance during timesof great turmoil. In this book, Tim Knight provides an exhaustiveanalysis of financial market behavior prior, during, and followingtumultuous events since 1600. Making copious use of charts and basic technical analysis,Knight demonstrates how external shocks tend to create extremereactions in the financial markets and how these predictablereactions provide opportunities for investors and traders toprofit. Knight traverses five centuries of financial markethistory, from Tulipmania in the 1600s to the contemporary sovereigndebt crisis. He looks at each event from the prism of the financialmarkets, examining the market climate prior to the event, duringthe event, and following the event. Draws essential lessons from history providing investors andtraders with guidelines to better navigate markets in today'stumultuous times Offers valuable insights on understanding and anticipatingmarket responses to shocks and crises Companion website with a Q&A section contains charts fromkey moments in past financial crises and asks readers to choosewhether to go long, short, or step aside If you're looking for a better way to make it today's dynamicmarkets, look no further than this timely book.
PMP Project Management Professional Exam Certification Kit by Kim Heldman
Publication Date: 2018-03-05
Price : $100
STUDY, PRACTICE, REVIEW! This complete package includes: The PMP Project Management Professional Exam Deluxe Study Guide, Third Edition, is a comprehensive study aid for the upcoming Project Management Professional (PMP) certification administered by PMI. The book is designed to prepare candidates for the PMP exam, as well as serve as a good reference for project managers.The book will reflect the the Project Management Process and Procedures that are outlined in the revised A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, Sixth Edition--also known as the PMBOK(R) Guide. Readers will benefit from the detailed discussion of the wide-range of project management and exam topics, concepts, and key terms, and will present the material in a logical manner; each section builds upon previous sections and a chapter on previous chapters. The book will cover 100% of the exam outline, including new and expanded coverage of agile. Each chapter will include a list of topics covered in that chapter, following by in-depth discussion of those objectives, complete with hands-on Real World Scenarios and "How This Applies to Your Current Project" sidebars. The chapter will conclude with an Exam Essentials section and comprehensive review questions. Organized by exam objectives, the PMP Project Management Professional Exam Review Guide, Fourth Edition, is a focused, concise review guide that works hand-in-hand with any learning tool, including the Sybex PMP: Project Management Professional Exam Study Guide, Ninth Edition. The book is designed to prepare candidates for the PMP exam, as well as serve as a good reference for project managers.The book is organized around the five domain areas of the PMP exam: * Initiating the Project * Planning the Project * Executing the Project * Monitoring and Controlling the Project * Closing the Project The book will reflect the the Project Management Process and Procedures that are outlined in the updated A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, Sixth Edition--also known as the PMBOK(R) Guide. The Certification Kit includes: INTERACTIVE ONLINE LEARNING ENVIRONMENT AND TEST BANK! The Sybex interactive online learning environment and test bank includes Assessment test, practice exam questions, hundreds of electronic flashcards, a PDF of the Glossary of Terms, as well as audio instruction and review, FREE eBooks in multiple formats to read on your favorite device, and bonus chapter resources to supplement your learning and help you study for the exam. ALSO INCLUDES TWO BONUS CAPM EXAMS! This Deluxe Study Guide includes two bonus CAPM exams for those candidates preparing for the entry-level Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) certification offered by PMI. 30 DAYS FREE VIDEO TRAINING FROM ITPro.TV! Take your exam prep to a new level! Access over 20 hours of hands-on PMP video training from subject-matter experts at ITPro.TV.
Pricing Done Right by Tim J. Smith
Publication Date: 2016-07-25
Price : $65
Practical guidance and a fresh approach for more accurate value-based pricing Pricing Done Right provides a cutting-edge framework for value-based pricing and clear guidance on ideation, implementation, and execution. More action plan than primer, this book introduces a holistic strategy for ensuring on-target pricing by shifting the conversation from 'What is value-based pricing?' to 'How can we ensure that our pricing reflects our goals?' You'll learn to identify the decisions that must be managed, how to manage them, and who should make them, as illustrated by real-world case studies. The key success factor is to build a pricing organization within your organization; this reveals the relationships between pricing decisions, how they affect each other, and what the ultimate effects might be. With this deep-level insight, you are better able to decide where your organization needs to go. Pricing needs to be done right, and pricing decisions have to be made'but are you sure that you're leaving these decisions to the right people? Few managers are confident that their prices accurately reflect the cost and value of their product, and this uncertainty leaves money on the table. This book provides a practical template for better pricing strategies, methods, roles, and decisions, with a concrete roadmap through execution. Identify the right questions for pricing analyses Improve your pricing strategy and decision making process Understand roles, accountability, and value-based pricing Restructure perspectives to help pricing reflect your organization's goals The critical link between pricing and corporate strategy must be reflected in the decision making process. Pricing Done Right provides the blueprint for more accurate pricing, with expert guidance throughout the change process.
Small Business by Alan Tyson; Jim Schell; Eric Tyson
Publication Date: 2018-08-07
Price : $24.99
Make big sense of small business Small Business For Dummies has been a leading resource for starting and running a small business. Calling upon their six decades-plus of combined experience running small businesses, Eric Tyson and Jim Schell once again provide readers with their time-tested advice and the latest information on starting and growing a small business. This new edition covers all aspects of small business from the initial business plan to the everyday realities of financing, marketing, employing technology and management--and what it takes to achieve and maintain success in an ever-changing entrepreneurial landscape. Write a strategic business plan Start, establish, or rejuvenate a small business Hire and retain the best employees Get a small business loan If you're a beginning entrepreneur looking to start and run your own small business, this book gives you all the tools of the trade you'll need to make it a success.
Urban Infrastructure by Kath Wellman; Marcus Spiller
Publication Date: 2012-10-04
Price : $138.25
The magnitude of investment, the long time-frames involved and theinfluence of pre-existing infrastructure on urban infrastructureprovision make a co-ordinated approach to forward-planning, policydevelopment and implementation essential. There are major challenges in making decisions on urbaninfrastructure and getting management structures and processes inplace. Getting it right generates long-term dividends; getting itwrong involves major costs, often borne by taxpayers. Urban Infrastructure: finance and management is positedon a strong belief that the physical structure of cities and theefficiency of infrastructure services delivered are driven byefficiencies within individual infrastructure sectors, lessonslearnt across these sectors and the ability to co-ordinate andintegrate sectors to generate economies of scale. Thisnecessitates an interdisciplinary approach, integrating knowledgefrom finance, governance, planning and management as well as thecharacteristics of the individual urban infrastructure sectorsinvolved. Here it is not only about getting the initial decisionsand policy settings right, but also ensuring effectiveimplementation. A major theme running through the book is thenature of institutions and the governance structures responsiblefor delivery and management of urban infrastructure and thedecision making processes involved. The editors have taken a deliberately pragmatic approach to thefinance and management of urban infrastructure; chapters arecross-sectorial and present both theory and practice. This book isfor students and practitioners in policy, planning, urbanmanagement, infrastructure finance and management.