Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advanced Introduction to National Innovation Systems by
Publication Date: 2018-05-25
Price : £15.95
Format : Print
Innovation studies is an evolving interdisciplinary field that has moved away from the weaknesses of neoclassical thinking and embraced evolutionary theory. In this timely book, the authors offer a precise introduction to the nature of national innovation systems (NIS), examining the history of the concept and its use in today's world.This book uses language appropriate for both social science and engineering scholars to offer an accurate synopsis of the emergence of the concept, its theoretical core and its evolution. It analyses both developed and developing countries in terms of their NIS and its application to current societal challenges, such as economic growth, inclusive development and environmental sustainability, in an increasingly globalized and interconnected world. Key features include:* three authors from three different generations and countries offer an overview of NIS from around the world* extensive use of examples from the Global North and Global South* recommended in-depth reading after each topical chapter* overview of future research challenges* up-to-date review of the literature and engagement in current debates.Erudite and accessible, this unique book on NIS can easily be used for undergraduate and graduate teaching. It is a valuable, and much-needed resource for teachers, students and researchers at all levels.
Contextualizing Entrepreneurship in Emerging Economies and Developing Countries by
Publication Date: 2017-03-31
Price : £105
Format : Print
Entrepreneurship in emerging economies and developing countries presents us with a unique set of working attitudes, modes of thinking, social practices and processes. This book explores these characteristics', focusing on the conceptualization of entrepreneurship 'in-between'. It highlights top-down, bottom-up and hybrid initiatives as well as driving forces for entrepreneurial activities, presenting the diversity, nuances and multiplicity of facets of relevant but unexplored contexts that we need in order to expand our dominant and traditional understandings of entrepreneurship.This book examines entrepreneurship as a contextualized phenomenon from different theoretical and empirical perspectives, gathering a group of researchers with different nationalities, backgrounds and contexts to shed light on how societies with alternative paths of development trigger different entrepreneurial activities and practices. It covers geographical contexts from five continents in a novel and multifaceted analysis.Including case studies, literature reviews and discourse analysis, this book will be a valuable resource for academics and PhD students as well as programme directors in entrepreneurship, development studies and economic geography, and policymakers working with local and regional development and entrepreneurship.
Handbook of Entrepreneurship and Sustainable Development Research by
Publication Date: 2015-01-30
Price : £40
Format : Print
Allying and expanding the diverse fields of entrepreneurship and sustainable development research is a modern day imperative. The Handbook of Entrepreneurship and Sustainable Development Research cuts through the different approaches and perspectives of the two fields to point the way ahead for research on sustainable entrepreneurship, outlining the motivation, intentions and impact of ecopreneurs in a local, national and global context. This Handbook paints an illuminating picture of the historic and current understanding of the bond between entrepreneurship and sustainable development. The authors explore the basic contradictions between the two fields and outline the transformative role entrepreneurship can play in achieving sustainable development. 45 expert researchers and their research communities from 16 countries across Europe, Africa, Australia and North America provide original and informative contributions on a variety of issues, from women's empowerment to climate change and organic farmers to ecotourism. With current and authorative contributions spanning the globe, this Handbook will inspire researchers, teachers and policy-makers to compose their own understanding and contribution on the fast expanding field of entrepreneurship and sustainable development.
Innovation, Economic Development and Policy by
Publication Date: 2018-04-27
Price : £115
Format : Print
This authoritative and enlightening book focuses on fundamental questions such as what is innovation, who is it relevant for, what are the effects, and what is the role of (innovation) policy in supporting innovation-diffusion? The first two sections present a comprehensive overview of our current knowledge on the phenomenon and analyse how this knowledge (and the scholarly community underpinning it) has evolved towards its present stance. The third part explores the role of innovation for growth and development, while section four is concerned with the national innovation system and the role of (innovation) policy in influencing its dynamics and responding to the important challenges facing contemporary societies.This comprehensive book is ideal for researchers and advanced students studying innovation theory, innovation policy and development issues. It encompasses the important advances of innovation research over the last two decades, providing a thorough insight into the evolution of the topic. Policymakers at the national or international level dealing with innovation would also greatly benefit from reading this book.
Innovation in Developing and Transition Countries by
Publication Date: 2017-09-29
Price : £85
Format : Print
This edited work offers a multidisciplinary perspective on innovation challenges and innovative practices in the context of developing and transition countries. The contributions mostly embrace a national innovation system approach in an attempt to understand innovation processes and their implications at both macro and micro levels. The chapters in this book, taken as a whole, offer insights into a range of issues grouped around the following questions:* What are the challenges for innovation at the macro (system) and micro (firm) levels according to the experiences of developing and transition countries?* What is the role of public policies in the transformation of national innovation systems?* What innovation practices allow to successfully overcome challenges to innovation?* What is the role of collaboration and learning strategies in fostering innovation?A variety of methods are presented including historical analysis, participatory action research, case studies, document analysis and survey-based quantitative research as well as triangulation to study innovation and adaptation strategies in developing and transition countries. It also provides ten case studies selected from developing and transition countries to offer a detailed and comprehensive perspective on innovation and innovation practices at macro and micro levels. Students and researchers interested in innovation and innovation systems around the world will find this book an invaluable tool and reference.
Research Handbook on Innovation Governance for Emerging Economies by
Publication Date: 2017-01-27
Price : £160
Format : Print
Although in recent years some emerging economies have improved their performance in terms of research and development (R&D) investment, outputs and innovative capacity, these countries are still blighted by extreme poverty, inequality and social exclusion. Hence, emerging countries are exposed to conditions which differ quite substantially from the dominant OECD model of innovation policy for development and welfare. This Research Handbook contributes to the debate by looking at how innovation theory, policy and practice interact, and explains different types of configurations in countries that are characterized by two contrasting but mutually reinforcing features: systemic failure and resourcefulness. Focusing on innovation governance and public policies, it aims to understand related governance failures and to explore options for alternative, more efficient approaches.This book brings to the fore new concepts, theories and questions about the Global South, across multiple disciplines. It discusses specific country cases, exploring overarching patterns and lessons that address development bottlenecks and policy designs aimed at improving quality of life and economic progress in emerging economies.Defining more adequate development strategies by balancing economic well-being with social inclusion, this book will be of great interest to scholars, students and policy makers of innovation, growth and development studies.
Research Handbook on Small Business Social Responsibility by
Publication Date: 2018-01-26
Price : £140
Format : Print
Ideas like corporate social responsibility (CSR) and stakeholder value creation are becoming second nature to businesses across the globe. Addressing the weakness of current CSR research, this Research Handbook provides a unique perspective on small business social responsibility in both the developed and developing world.Bringing together leading international experts, and including a foreword by R. Edward Freeman, this Research Handbook defines and contextualizes CSR in small businesses across the globe. It explores issues surrounding supply chains, responsible finance, and social enterprise, offering both practitioner insights and succinct case studies to go beyond the usual Western perspective and enable a globally relevant understanding of small business social responsibility.This Research Handbook will be an invaluable tool for researchers and educators, as well as for students of business and CSR, social enterprise, development and management.
The Rise to Market Leadership by
Publication Date: 2017-04-28
Price : £80
Format : Print
In recent years many new international market leaders from the BRICS countries have emerged in diverse manufacturing and service industries. How did these new leaders emerge and become key players in their respective industries? What factors contributed to their success and enabled them to become market leaders? This new study answers these important questions with evidence presented from case studies in the automotive, pharmaceutical and ICT industries of China, India and Brazil.A common framework of analysis is followed throughout the volume allowing readers to compare and contrast the cases examined. This framework brings together factors at the firm, country and sectoral levels to explain the rise to leadership of these firms. The book highlights the importance of vibrant entrepreneurship and demonstrates that being local and having an ability to learn and build capabilities based on local knowledge have been major drivers of market success. Yet it also shows how such firm-level factors have been complemented by the role of both national and sectoral systems of innovation. This book offers an integrated framework for the study of innovation and the rise of market leaders as well as original case studies from important emerging economies. It will appeal to students, scholars, researchers and policy-makers interested in economic development and catch-up, entrepreneurship, innovation management and evolutionary economics.