Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 29 - Nov 2018) : Edward Elgar Publishing: Business & Corporate Governance

Price : £120
Format : Print

Corporate entrepreneurship is about remaking organizations; it affects organizational cultures and systems which, in turn, influence the magnitude, direction and content of corporate entrepreneurship activities. This Handbook hopes to synthesize what we know and clarify what we need to know about key issues such as strategic renewal, innovation and venturing activities within established companies, giving direction to future research.This Handbook combines conceptual and empirical contributions covering a wide gamut of theories and perspectives that include: opportunity discovery vs. creation, the behavioral theory of the firm, learning, human capital, agency, and dynamic capabilities. The chapters uncover who the corporate entrepreneur is, how corporate entrepreneurs vary from their independent counterparts, how corporate entrepreneurship influences organizational performance, and the effect of incremental versus radical strategic renewal undertaken within corporate entrepreneurship on financial performance. They also investigate what an organization learns from corporate entrepreneurship, as well as the types of innovation that companies gain through corporate venturing capital investments. The diversity of authors, perspectives and foci of the chapters highlight the growing depth and breadth of the worldwide research on corporate entrepreneurship and the growing maturity of this research. This book will appeal to scholars and students of entrepreneurship and/or strategic management, as well as managers of established firms.

Price : £35
Format : Print

The global financial crisis has led to more and more focus on corporate governance and financial institutions. There has been much coverage in the media about various corporate governance-related issues in banks and other financial institutions, such as executive directors' remuneration and bankers' bonuses, board composition and board diversity. This book, dedicated to the corporate governance of banks and other financial institutions, makes a timely and accessible contribution to the literature in this area. The contributors are experts in their field with in-depth knowledge of the various countries covered in this book, including Italy, the UK, Germany, the US, China, Japan, Brazil, Russia, Australia and Nigeria, plus a chapter on Islamic financial institutions. Overall, the engagingly written chapters highlight many of the shortcomings of corporate governance which have led to financial scandals, whilst indicating areas where corporate governance can be strengthened and improved.Adding depth and accessibility to existing corporate governance books, this Handbook is ideal as a teaching and learning tool for undergraduate and postgraduate students. For directors and the general business and wider stakeholder communities concerned with corporate governance, it is an essential resource.

Price : £90
Format : Print

The world is changing. After old certainties were swept away by the Financial Crisis of 2008-09, states are grappling with the implications of new thinking about the role and nature of corporations and how they should be regulated. This timely book brings together the contributions of leading scholars from around the world to highlight and provide critical analysis of developments and trends in corporate governance in a range of jurisdictions, both mature and developing.The diverse subjects covered in the book include shareholder protection in Delaware, trends in the governance of state-owned enterprises in China, say on pay in the Netherlands, board committees in the UK, and stakeholder governance in Germany. The book also includes theoretical perspectives, including one chapter arguing against the notions of shareholder primacy that underpin Anglo-American corporate law. The final section presents two chapters on the governance of banks, reflecting the contemporary importance of financial institutions.Innovations in Corporate Governance offers an essential global perspective on corporate governance that will be of interest to students and academics in the field, as well as professionals, policy makers and those working in regulatory agencies around the world.

Price : £80
Format : Print

This book collects some of the author's most illuminating recent papers on competition policy published since the turn of the millennium. They focus on three main themes: how technological innovation leads to monopolistic market structures and is reciprocally influenced by them; how competition agencies deal with the links from merger to economic efficiency, static and dynamic; and the behavioral problems posed by 'tacit' collusion and monopoly power in vertical market chains. Taken together they provide unique insight into competition, mergers and monopolies from one of the leading pioneers in the field.

Price : £85
Format : Print

Power, Policy and Profit investigates the many ways in which corporate actors attempt to influence political activities. Through the intensified globalization of markets, the restructuring of welfare services and the accumulation of private capital, opportunities for corporate influence in politics affairs are shown to have multiplied. Bringing together different fields of global governance studies, this book addresses the rising political influence of corporate actors both nationally and internationally. Corporate influence on policy is now commonplace through lobbying, advocacy and campaign contributions; funding analysis and research; creating or adopting standards for social responsibility and shaping transparency guidelines. Key chapters show how corporations can now have leverage in broad political affairs: an activity central to the organization of markets.Power, Policy and Profit will be of great interest to students and academics of business and management, politics and governance studies. Policy professionals will find this a timely read on the complexities of corporate engagement in politics and governance.

Price : £35
Format : Print

Drawing upon current cutting-edge theories, knowledge and research findings, this Handbook provides an analysis of the interaction between small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), entrepreneurs and financial institutions globally. The contributors consider regional and international perspectives within and between Europe, North America, New Zealand, the Middle East, as well as South, Central and East Asia on a chapter-by-chapter basis. In so doing, they provide a contextualized, up-to-date snapshot of research into entrepreneurial finance across the world. This book is aimed at both established and emergent researchers, as well as undergraduate and postgraduate students looking for avenues of future research into entrepreneurial finance. It will also be of use to policymakers and practitioners seeking a global perspective in their work.

Price : £140
Format : Print

Transnational corporations (TNCs) have moved to the forefront of regulatory governance both within states and in the international arena. The Research Handbook on Transnational Corporations provides expert background commentary and up-to-date insights into regulatory frameworks impacting on TNCs at global, industry and national levels. Written by global experts in their field, this unique collection of essays provides in-depth understanding of how the forces of globalisation affect the world's largest corporations, and how those corporations, in turn, shape globalisation. Comprehensive yet highly accessible, this is the first major work on the reciprocal impact of TNCs on regulatory processes. The Research Handbook provides guidance on how best to understand the rapidly evolving relationship between TNCs and the processes of treaty making, the formation of global industry standards and the processes of national law making and policy formation (with a focus on resource taxation). Global, industry and national-level case studies are used to explain the basic principles used to support state, private, and international regulatory programs. Delivering both theoretical and practical insights into the regulation of TNCs, this timely and authoritative Research Handbook will be of particular interest to policy makers, industry practitioners and lawyers. Students and academics will also find it to be an invaluable resource.