Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 29 - Nov 2018) : Edward Elgar Publishing: International Finance & Trade

Price : £205
Format : Print

The Handbook of Finance and Development provides a thorough assessment of the existing research on the relationship between the financial system and economic growth. Containing chapters on theory, empirical work and historic accounts, this is the first Handbook to provide a comprehensive overview of the fields of finance and development. As leading researchers in the field the contributors analyse the emergence of, and innovations in, financial instruments, markets and intermediaries, providing commentary on how these components of financial systems shape resource allocation, poverty, income inequality and aggregate economic growth. They also explore the causes and consequences of financial fragility, the historic development of financial systems, and the regulatory and supervisory underpinnings of financial sector development. Further chapters examine financial development at both the aggregate and country levels and assess the degree to which individuals and firms can access financial services. Recent literature on the financial inclusion of households and enterprises is also analysed.The Handbook will be of great value to scholars and researchers who are interested in the fields of finance, development and financial inclusion. Throughout the chapters contributors highlight how insights drawn from research inform policy debates on the topics at hand, making this work a useful resource for policy makers and regulators.

Price : £100
Format : Print

This book offers a critical reflection of the North-South regional trade agreements (RTAs), known as the Economic Partnership Agreements, negotiated between the EU and the African, Caribbean, and Pacific countries. Conceiving of regions as legal regimes, Clair Gammage highlights the challenges facing developing countries when negotiating RTAs with developed countries.North-South Regional Trade Agreements as Legal Regimes offers a rich analysis of the negotiations between the EU and the southern African regional group as well as a factual presentation of liberalisation under the final agreement. Interrogating the assumption that economic growth will lead to sustainable development, this book draws insights from the experience of the Caribbean countries as they implement their Economic Partnership Agreement to question the extent to which RTAs between developed and developing countries will and can promote development through trade.This unique book will appeal to academics and advanced students in international trade law and development law. Trade practitioners in government, the private sector and civil society, including those involved in policy making and challenging the policy making process will appreciate the author's lucid analysis of analysis of the law and the broader concept of promoting development through trade.

Price : £85
Format : Print

Public Private Partnership for WTO Dispute Settlement is an interdisciplinary work examining the growing interaction between business entities and public officials. Crucially, it identifies how this relationship can enable developing countries to effectively utilize the provisions of the World Trade Organization Dispute Settlement Understanding (WTO DSU).Building on more than five years of empirical investigation, Amrita Bahri reflects on the dispute settlement partnership experiences of the top DSU users from the developed and developing world. This enables her to evaluate a diverse range of dispute settlement partnership strategies, which have allowed the governments involved to harness resources and expertise from the private sector.With practical suggestions on dispute settlement capacity building, this book provides a roadmap to policymakers, industry representatives and legal professionals on how to effectively engage with business entities for the resolution of international trade conflicts. It also provides a template for teaching and research activities to scholars focusing on international trade law, development studies and international dispute settlement.

Price : £75
Format : Print

In the age of globalisation, goods, services, labour and capital are crossing international borders on a scale never before known. They are creating a nationless market. Governed by both the invisible hand of business and interest and the visible hand of authority and direction, a world market can be a free-for-all, but it can also be constrained by the national interest of countries that differ greatly in their social institutions and material circumstances. This book provides a lucid and comprehensive account of contemporary international political economy. Beginning with the ideological underpinnings, it examines the globalisation of trade in goods and services and labour and capital. It relates the free economic market to social consensus and political regulation, both within sovereign countries and at the supra-national level.The book is comprehensive and interdisciplinary, incorporating philosophical, political, social and economic insights on an international scale and applying them directly to the ongoing phenomenon of globalisation. Topical and non-nation specific, it covers the WTO, EU, the transfer of technology, the multinational corporation, the exchange rate, free versus regulated trade, the status of agreements and blocs, as well as contemporary issues such as populism, xenophobia and rapid economic growth in both rich and poor nations.Accessible to specialists, students and the informed reader alike, State and Trade offers wide-ranging analysis of the politics of trade in goods and services, international investment and the migration of labour across the globe.