Subject Guide: Economics: Data Source

This page lists selected sources of economic statistics and data licensed by the IIM-B library or freely available on the web.

1. CEIC Global Data 

Global economic and financial data. National Accounts, Industries,  Demography, Trade, Banking, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

2. EIU Viewpoint 

Forecasts and data in the areas of business and politics, markets, industries, policy, and economic indicators

3. AEA Data and Code Repository at ICPSR 

Data sets deposited in American Economic Association (AEA) journal articles.

4. Google Dataset Search 

Offers publicly available data and statistics for free.

5. World Bank Open Data

The World Bank, the Development Data Group coordinates statistical and data work and maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases. All available data and statistics are free to use for educational purposes.

6. ICSSR Data Service

The ICSSR Data Service includes social science and statistical datasets of various national-level surveys on debt & investment, domestic tourism, enterprise survey, employment and unemployment, housing condition, household consumer expenditure, health care, etc., into its repository. To download the data from ICSSR Data Service site, you need to register, post that you will able to download the desired data.

7. National Data Archive

This system serves as a portal for researchers to browse, search, and download relevant census or survey documents and metadata. The Microdata Archive provides web based access to the complete metadata and unit level data of over 163 surveys and censuses on the following subjects:

• Annual Survey of Industries
• Index of Industrial Production
• Household Consumer Expenditure
• Economic Census
• Enterprises Surveys
• Periodic Labour Force Survey
• Employment and Unemployment
• Land and Livestock Holding Surveys
• Other Surveys

We have various sets of data avaialble for IIM-B community for research and academic use. Few of them are listed below:

1. Census Data: Census report covers socio-economic statistical data about India and all the states like general description, population, religion and sect, sex and age, marriage & co, infirmities, birthplace and mother tongue, languages, towns, etc.

• The library has full census reports from 1881 to 1941, and partially data are available for the year 2014-15. These data are available in PDF format with Metadata which is accessible through the CD-Mirroring platform.
• Census of India 2011 Data – 147 towns having population about 3 lakhs and above.

Note: Faculty and FPM scholars may copy the data in their hard disk after signing the copyright declaration form

2. Economic Census Data: Economic Census provides disaggregated information on various operational and structural variables of all establishments of the country. It also provides valuable insights into geographical spread/clusters of economic activities, ownership patterns, persons engaged, etc. of all economic establishments in the country.

The economic census data are available from 1990 to 2014 (Round 3 to 6) in CD/DVD form. These data can be downloaded in HTML, XML, doc, and pdf formats through the CD-Mirroring Platform.  

3. EPWRF India Time Series : Economic and Political Weekly Research Foundation includes a long-term data series online for twenty-one modules covering a wide range of macro-economic and financial sectors.

4. Consumer Pyramids Household Survey : A continuous survey of 2,40,000 households in India, covering demographics, religion, caste, migration, health, financial inclusion, employment, income, wealth, consumer sentiment, time use, consumer expenditure and more. User registration and agreement with the terms of use is required.

5. Indiastat.com : Statistical data from India-specific, state-specific and sector-specific.