IIMB LIBRARY
Scope: This guide will help locate information on industries and markets. You can identify and search databases pertaining to market share, consumer information & current trends in industries, etc
Industry analysis can help you understand the following:
| NAICS Code | The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) uses six-digit codes to identify an industry. The NAICS system is gradually replacing the SIC system. Many resources use these codes to identify a company’s activities, index companies by activity, and to define industry data and information. For more information on the history and structure of the NAICS, as well as to search for codes, visit the NAICS Association website at http://www.naics.com/ and the U.S. Census Bureau at https://www.census.gov/naics. |
| SIC Code | Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes are four-digit codes used to identify an industry. Many resources use these codes to identify a company’s activities, index companies by activity, and to define industry data and information. For information on the history of the SIC codes and information about its replacement, the NAICS, visit the NAICS Association website at http://www.naics.com/info.htm. An excellent website for a list of SIC codes and to search for a code is the OSHA site from the U.S. Department of Labor at https://www.osha.gov/data/sic-search. |
| ISIC Code | International Standard Industrial Classification is maintained by the U.N. Statistics Division. It is used in a number of international databases |
|
Bank Focus |
Bank focus covers around 1,19,487 banks. Historical data is available for the last ten years. |
|
Bloomberg |
It covers industries like energy, consumer, technology, healthcare, industrials, utilities, etc. It provides information on industries like market share, news, and graphs & charts in real-time. |
|
CAPA |
CAPA includes 3200 airline and 90 airline group profiles, including news, analysis & data on the airline sector. It covers over 57000 aircraft, including values, lease rates, hours/cycles data, and profiles of the major global suppliers across all industry sectors. |
|
CMIE-Industry Outlook |
It covers 209 industries like Manufacturing, Food & agro-based products, Textiles, Chemical products, Fertilizers, Dyes & pigments, Drugs & pharmaceuticals, Organic chemicals, Consumer goods, etc. CMIE uses its own classification code. |
|
Crisil Research |
It provides data on 76 industries. The available industries are automotive components, automobiles, 2- 3 wheelers, commercial vehicles, commodity chemicals, petrol-chemicals, etc. 200+ NBFC profiles are available. |
|
Dion Insight |
It covers 260+ industries like Aluminum products, Auto-2-3 wheelers & Cars, Airlines, Beverages & Distillation, Consumer goods, domestic appliances, Electronics, E-commerce, etc. |
|
Emarketer |
eMarketer covers industries like Advertising & Marketing, Ad Spending, Media, social media, Digital Health, Healthcare Providers, E-commerce, Consumer Behavior, Artificial Intelligence (AI), Cybersecurity, Internet of Things (IoT), Financial Services, Real Estate, Banking, Insurance, Digital Payments, Automotive, Sports and Telecom. |
|
EMIS Intelligence- Global |
EMIS covers 370+ industry sectors. Data is available in industry reports, industry news, industry statistics, etc. It includes industries like Agriculture, Automotive, Banking & Insurance, Chemicals, Consumer Electronics, Energy, Construction, and Manufacturing as categorized by NAICS. |
|
Factiva |
Factiva includes 26+indusry sectors like Agriculture, Automotive, Chemicals, Mining/Quarrying, Primary Metals, Dry Cleaning/Laundry Services, Educational Services, Waste Management, Legal Services, Moving/Relocation Services, Rental/Leasing Services, and Consumer Goods. |
|
Frost and Sullivan |
Frost and Sullivan cover industries like Aerospace & Defense, Business & Financial Services, Chemicals, Materials & Foods, Information & Communication Tech, Consumer Products, Education & Energy & Power Systems, etc. |
|
Gartner |
This database gives information about research and analysis of the global information technology industry. It covers information on IT news, Global IT industry perspectives, IT management and organizations, Application Development, Cloud Computing, Communications Services, IT Outsourcing, IT Professional Services, Mobile Devices and Phones, Semiconductor Applications, Semiconductor Manufacturing, Servers, and Software Infrastructure. |
|
ICRA Industry Reports |
ICRA Sectoral research reports cover 60 sectors with 55 industry reports. Available industries are Affordable Housing Finance, Airlines, Apparel & Fabrics, Automobile, Banking, NBFC, Pharmaceuticals, Power, Ports, Renewable energy, Transportation, Telecommunication and Tyers, etc. |
|
Marketline |
Marketline provides information on industries like crops, artificial intelligence, automotive, biotechnology, business services, and computer software and services. It includes data on Industry profiles, Industry profile Archives, industry analysis, Analysts' insights, industry chartbooks, industry data, industry comparison, industry case studies, market value forecast, market volume forecast, and market analysis. |
|
Passport Euromonitor |
Passport covers industries like Consumer Products, Alcoholic Drinks, Apparel and Footwear, Beauty and Personal Care, Consumer Appliances, Eyewear, Fresh Food, Health and Wellness, Home and Garden, Home Care, Hot Drinks, Luxury Goods, Packaged Food, Personal Accessories, Pet Care, Soft Drinks, Consumer Finance, Consumer Foodservice, Retailing, Travel, and Packaging, etc. |
|
PropEquity-PE Plus Application (Residential & Commercial) |
PropEquity-PE Plus Application covers real estate industry data. It tracks almost 100,000 projects of 27,000 developers across cities in India on a real-time basis. The library has city access, i.e., MMR (Mumbai, Thane, and Navi Mumbai), NCR (Delhi, Gurgaon, Noida, Greater Noida, Faridabad, and Ghaziabad) Pune, Bangalore, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Ahmedabad. |
|
· Workspace Refinitiv (Eikon) |
It provides industry information like Technology, Healthcare, Real Estate, Academic & Education services, Banking, Insurance, Industrial, Utilities, IT services, Telecommunication, etc. It covers industry-specific KPIs (over 300 across 15 industries, with annual history back to 1995). |
|
Statista |
It provides information on 170+ industries. It offers quantitative facts by market sector, media, industry outlook & industry reports. It covers industries like Advertising & Marketing, Agriculture, Construction, Consumer Goods & FMCG etc. |
Technology:
• Artificial Intelligence (AI)
• Machine Learning (ML)
• Internet of Things (IoT)
• Cybersecurity
• Cloud Computing
• Big Data
• Augmented Reality (AR) / Virtual Reality (VR)
Finance:
• Fintech
• Cryptocurrency
• Blockchain
• Asset Management
• Risk Management
• Financial Planning
• Trading Platforms
Healthcare:
• Telemedicine
• Electronic Health Records (EHR)
• Medical Devices
• Biotechnology
• Personalized Medicine
• Health Informatics
• Patient Care Management
Automotive:
• Electric Vehicles (EVs)
• Autonomous Vehicles
• Connected Cars
• Vehicle Telematics
• Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS)
• Mobility as a Service (MaaS)
• Automotive Parts
Retail:
• E-commerce
• Omnichannel Retail
• Supply Chain Management
• Retail Analytics
• Customer Relationship Management (CRM)
• Inventory Management
Energy:
• Renewable Energy
• Solar Power
• Wind Power
• Smart Grid
• Energy Storage
• Sustainable Development
• Energy Efficiency
Manufacturing:
• Industry 4.0
• Additive Manufacturing (3D Printing)
• Robotics
• Supply Chain Automation
• Digital Twins
• Predictive Maintenance
• Lean Manufacturing
Agriculture:
• Precision Agriculture
• Agtech
• Vertical Farming
• Remote Sensing
• Crop Monitoring
• Agricultural Drones
• Sustainable Farming
