IIMB LIBRARY
Scope: This guide provides information on the useful resources for various types of Private, Public, & Global company information. It is divided into sections based on what kinds of information is needed. The following information may retrieve on companies.
| Public | A company is considered public if its shares of equity is traded on a stock exchange. Public companies are required to submit filings to the SEC, making information much easier to locate. |
| Private | A company is considered private if it is not traded on a stock exchange and is not owned by a larger parent company. They are not required to submit SEC filings, which can make finding financial information a bit trickier, if it is available. |
| Subsidiary | A company that operates under the control of a larger parent company is a subsidiary. The parent company may be a private or public company. The parent company may not disclose financial performance of individual subsidiaries. You may need to read the management discussion in SEC filings such as 10-K, study the information provided on the subsidiary’s and parent company’s websites, or find news articles in order to find information about financial performance and strategy. |
| Ticker Symbol | Publicly traded companies have ticker symbols, which act as a unique identifier on the exchange they are traded on. You can search databases using a company's ticker symbol narrowing your results to get the exact company you are looking for. |
|
Bloomberg |
Bloomberg has data on more than 5 million bonds, equities, commodities, currencies, and funds. It covers 1,80,000 publicly traded companies globally. 9000+ Indian companies are available. |
|
Calcbench |
Calcbench includes a financial statement viewer, a multi-company viewer, an analytics page, and a data query. It covers 12,000 listed public companies globally. |
|
Capexdx |
The CapExdx database contains the history of implementation of projects since 1995. Over 50,000 projects have been tracked. It includes projects for infrastructure, manufacturing, or even services. |
|
Capitaline AWS |
Capitaline AWS covers financial and other information on over 72,707 Indian companies, including listed and unlisted companies. It provides historical financial data for 15-20 years, and annual reports are available for the last five years. |
|
CMIE ProwessDx |
It covers data for about 50,107+ Indian companies, including listed companies, unlisted public companies, and private companies of all sizes and ownership groups. It contains time-series data since 1990. |
|
CMIE ProwessIQ |
It covers 54,000 companies on financial performances of Indian listed, unlisted and private limited companies from 1990. |
|
Dion Insight |
Dion Insight covers 8000+ listed and unlisted companies. Annual reports are available dating back to 1995. It provides live market data, the latest and most historical NAVs, portfolio composition, portfolio allocation, performance statistics, etc. |
|
EMIS Intelligence-Global |
EMIS provides data, research reports, and news across three pillars: country, industry, company, and company financials. It covers 11 million+ company profiles and 3 million with financial data. |
|
Factiva |
Factiva provides global information on economic, financial, and current news. It covers 40+M companies and provides data on peer comparison, reports, news & articles. |
|
Marketline |
Marketline provides a wide array of proprietary business research information, including company profiles and data books (company financials and global market reports). It covers 7M+ company profiles. |
|
Orbis |
It covers 375 million+ Companies globally, including private companies, public companies, banks, Insurance companies, etc. It provides company ownership information, including bank and subsidiary-level information. It also includes a visual ownership chart. |
|
Prime Database |
Primedatabase covers comprehensive information on all capital market offerings, including public issues, rights issues, investment trusts, and more. Data is available from 1989 case to case basis. |
|
Prime Infobase |
Primeinfobase provides all listed companies on NSE and companies exclusively listed on BSE with a market capitalization of more than INR 1000 crore. Annual reports are available from 2009 onwards. |
|
Private Circle |
Private Circle covers 30+ Lacs Listed & Unlisted Indian companies on a single screen. The platform covers 500+ data points. It provides 1,57,000 profiled Companies, adding 3000+ companies every month. It includes Financials, Deals History, Directors, Ratings, Filings in PDF etc. |
|
Refinitiv-Workspace (EIKON) |
Forty-four million filing documents are available, with 2.9 million sourced annually, covering 200,000 companies and 60,000 active and public companies across approximately 160 countries. |
|
Refinitiv-Workspace (SDC Global New Issues) |
It provides data on Global New Issues (IPO). It covers industry-leading capital markets transaction information for the global deal-making industry. It covers equity 4,40,000+equity deals, Bonds-1.15+million deals and Loans-4,00,000+deals. |
|
Refinitiv-Workspace (SDC Mergers and Acquisitions) |
It provides the most detailed financial transaction information on Mergers and Acquisitions. It provides 1.45 million+ deals globally, 400000+US M & A deals and 10,50,000+ non-US M & A deals |
|
Venture Intelligence-Private Company Financials |
It covers data on company financials. Data is available for the last six years. Profit & Loss and Balance Sheets of over 50,000+ private limited companies available. |
|
Watchoutinvestors |
Watchoutinvestors covers 43 regulators like the Bank, National Housing Bank, Association of Mutual Funds of India, Company Law Board, and Delhi Stock Exchange Ltd. |
