It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2017 marks the 50th anniversary of ASEAN. In honour of this momentous occasion, this book titled 2017 Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact of Exchange Rates on Foreign Direct Investment Inflows to ASEAN Economies reflects upon the development experiences of the past five decades, casts forward by addressing mega-trends which will shape the course of development in the region, and provides actionable policy recommendations to set ASEAN on course to becoming the fourth largest economy in the world by 2030. Of particular relevance, in light of the current climate of anti-globalisation sentiments, is an in-depth discussion of the global flows of trade and investment which have long been major drivers of growth and development. The study of the Impact of Real Effective Exchange Rates on Foreign Direct investment inflows to ASEAN Economies in this book provides empirically backed analysis of the major factors underpinning these key components of economic growth. Furthermore, this book provides an update of the Asia Competitiveness Institute's annual competitiveness analysis for ASEAN-10. In this edition, the analysis based on 121 indicators across four different environments and What-if simulations is made more robust by the innovative use of Shapley values in calculating objective weights for the indicators. Book jacket.
This book entitled 2017 Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact of Exchange Rates on Foreign Direct Investment Inflows to Sub-National Economies of India undertakes a comprehensive and robust analysis of competitiveness in India's 36 sub-national economies. Into its fifth edition, this book presents Asia Competitiveness Institute (ACI)'s annual update of sub-national competitiveness employing 75 different indicators across lour different environments to capture the dynamics of competitiveness in a holistic way. This book introduces a novel method of weights assignment using "Shapley values" for the competitiveness index. The book also employs an analytical tool in the form of a "What-if" simulation analysis that assists policy makers in identifying the weaknesses in their respective sub-national economies that warrant an improvement. Finally, at the macro-economic level, the book uses real effective exchange rates as a proxy for competitiveness and undertakes an empirical investigation of the impact of real exchange rates on foreign direct investment inflows at the sub-national level in India. Book jacket.
Indonesia's diverse economic landscape and growing importance in the global and regional stages warrant deeper understanding of the economy at sub-national levels. This book by the Asia Competitiveness Institute (ACI) is an update of ACI's annual study of the competitiveness landscape of 34 Indonesian provinces. With 100 indicators covering four environments and 12 sub-environments of competitiveness, the study's unique methodology incorporates comparative strengths and weaknesses, and 'what-if' policy simulations aimed at policy suggestions for each province.This fifth instalment will continue to feature a structure and graphical presentation that offer investors an overview of each province's competitiveness landscape. A novel addition to this update is the chapter co-authored by academics from Indonesian provinces, which details recent developments in 34 provinces of Indonesia. This latest edition also introduces a novel approach of weights assignment in the form of Shapley values as a robustness test to our findings. Additionally, a new appendix has been included which provides a richer visual representation of each province's competitiveness profile. Finally, our study on the impact of exchange rates on foreign direct investment inflows to the provinces of Indonesia is also featured as a chapter in this book.Coupled with practical insights and policy implications, this book is a recommended read for policymakers, researchers, and the general audience interested in Indonesia's economic development.
With the growing prosperity of its people and the improvement of its international standing, China would "realise the Chinese Dream of national rejuvenation and see the people realise their aspirations for a better life" as visualised by President Xi Jinping in his speech delivered during the 19th National Congress of the Communist Party of China in October 2017. Into its fifth edition, this book presents the Asia Competitiveness Institute's annual update of sub-national economies of Greater China employing 102 different indicators across four different environments to capture competitiveness in a comprehensive manner. The methodological innovation using Shapley value introduces an element of objectivity into weight assignment. The what-if competitiveness simulation helps to identify the specific policy areas that each economy can focus on in order to improve their competitiveness. The book also features an empirical attempt to identify drivers of foreign direct investment inflows to China, with a specific focus on exchange rate movements and volatility. As China has achieved the transformation from regaining dignity to becoming prosperous and is on the path Inwards growing strong as a great modern socialist country, the book concludes tentatively by examining exactly what is meant to be "growing strong" as a nation. Book jacket.
Asia Competitiveness Institute (ACI) at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy (LKYSPP), National University of Singapore (NUS) started producing its flagship analysis of competitiveness covering the sub-national economies of India on an annual basis since 2013. A unique feature of ACI's research comes from an effort to recognise the heterogeneity of India and how the variations in the dynamics of competitiveness pan out at the sub-national level. This book entitled Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact Estimation of Exchange Rates on Exports from Sub-National Economies of India not only undertakes a comprehensive and robust analysis of competitiveness in India's 36 sub-national economies but also features an empirical analysis of the impact of exchange rate movements and volatility on exports from sub-national economies of India.Overall, the analysis we provide in this book relating to different dimensions of competitiveness of India's sub-national economies can not only stand up to academic scrutiny as it is grounded in rigorous methodological foundations but also remains accessible and appealing to policymakers as we offer tailored policy recommendations based on our analysis that will enable them to take appropriate policy interventions in their sub-national economies to improve their overall competitiveness.
Indonesia is one of the largest economies in the world and is one of the major players in the global economy. The diversity in Indonesia's socio-economic structure from province to province and region to region warrants an in-depth inquisition at the sub-national level. This book forms part of the series of Asia Competitiveness Institute (ACI) annual flagship study on the competitiveness of the 34 provinces in Indonesia. Using over 100 indicators, the study covers four environments in (1) Macroeconomic Stability, (2) Government and Institutional Setting, (3) Financial, Businesses and Manpower Conditions and (4) Quality of Life and Infrastructure Development, and 12 sub-environments. This book also provides insights to the comparative strengths and weaknesses of the sub-national economies and conducts a 'What-ifs' policy simulation to craft targeted policy recommendations for each province.This sixth edition will continue to elucidate the competitiveness landscape of each province's competitiveness. Additionally, this edition will also feature commentaries by the local academics on the recent developments in the 34 provinces of Indonesia. In view of the importance of international trade to the Indonesia's economy, this book also features the study of impact estimation of exchange rates on exports in Indonesia.
In the midst of turbulence in the international trade, this book titled Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact Estimation of Exchange Rates on Trade in Value-Added of ASEAN Economies provides a comprehensive overview on recent developments and policy initiatives in ASEAN, highlighting its strengths and weaknesses in facing the trade disruption from global events such as the US-China trade dispute, the rise of protectionist sentiments, and the expansion of China's Belt and Road Initiative.This sixth instalment features an update on ACI's annual competitiveness index for ASEAN-10 economies. Using a total of 121 indicators, the study analyses the competitiveness of the 10 ASEAN countries across four environments namely (i) Macroeconomic Stability, (ii) Government and Institutional Setting, (iii) Financial, Businesses and Manpower Conditions, and (iv) Quality of Life and Infrastructure Development.Also in this book is an in-depth coverage on trade, a key component of the ASEAN economy, and the integration of ASEAN into wider value chains. This phenomenon heavily features ongoing efforts to develop ASEAN and creates the need for a deeper understanding of the impact of these global value chains on trade in ASEAN. This book examines and provides empirical insights on the impact of real effective exchange rates on exports in ASEAN economies within the context of increased participation in global value chains. The findings have direct policy implications in the management of monetary policy.Additionally, this book provides an extensive discussion on the impact of the US-China Trade War on ASEAN, presenting the background analysis on the annals of the dispute as well as examining determining factors that may positively or negatively affect the trade and investment landscape in ASEAN. This latest edition also features a compilation of speeches and writings by academics and policymakers on key issues and development of ASEAN. It includes a speech by Minister Lawrence Wong, Minister for National Development and Second Minister for Finance on the importance of infrastructure development for economic competitiveness. On top of that, this book also features an essay by Mr Bilahari Kausikan, Chairman of the Middle East Institute at the National University of Singapore, and former Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Singapore, which addresses the impact of the US-China trade war on ASEAN.
Drawing on the studies by the Asia Competitiveness Institute (ACI) at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy (LKYSPP), National University of Singapore (NUS), this book titled Balanced, Sustainable and Competitiveness Enhancement Study for Vietnam: A Critical Evaluation with Development Potentials, which is a joint research collaboration between the National Research Project on Improving Vietnam's Competitiveness and ACI-LKYSPP-NUS, provides a detailed assessment of the Vietnamese economy. We contend that Vietnam is at a critical juncture in its development whereby a new wave of far-reaching reforms is required to address persistent structural weaknesses and unleash the country's economic potentials. In addition, Vietnam's new growth model must tackle widening regional disparities which puts Vietnam at risk of becoming one country with two economies where the southern region of Vietnam pulls too far ahead of its northern and central counterparts. Based on our analysis, we propose a comprehensive policy roadmap for Vietnam to achieve balanced and sustainable development for enhanced competitiveness. The successful completion of this reform agenda will set Vietnam firmly on a dynamic growth path which will allow the country to catch up with the more advanced ASEAN member states by 2040.
With the advent of the Internet, and the resulting interconnection within a city and among cities, internet innovation has led to a number of important applications in economic and social fields, helping traditional industries upgrade and organizations gain new core competencies, thereby engendering new business models and new industries. This is what we refer to as the 'Internet Plus'. The 'Internet Plus' action plan was first introduced by Premier Li Keqiang in his Government Work Report at the Third Plenary Session of the 12th National People's Congress on March 5, 2015. This book expounds how 'Internet Plus' plan transforms and influences traditional economy, impacts technological and economic aspects of industries, extends its reach to people's daily lives and creates more profound social implications. In addition, the authors put forward constructive measures and suggestions for Shanghai to promote development of the 'Internet Plus' era and to enhance the city's economic impact and service level as a core city.
In recent years, the 'supply-side structural reform' has become a popular term in all regions and fields in China. The supply-side structural reform is the key component of the Chinese government's economic policy framework during the '13th Five-Year Plan' period. It is crucial in both theory and practice, to have an accurate understanding of its background, content, essential features, principles, and goals.The theme of the book revolves around the supply-side structural reform and analyses the concept from different perspectives, such as the basic theories and institutional framework, the fiscal taxation system, the financial system reform, and the innovation system. It attempts to address questions such as: how to understand the supply side and the demand side; why the supply-side structural reform is currently proposed; how to implement the reform; what are the changes brought about by the reform; what factors should be taken into consideration in its implementation; what are the policies to be developed in the process, etc.
"This book explains the essence of planning of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, and thoroughly demonstrates the new opportunities and challenges that it brings to various cities, industries, enterprises, and even individuals. It serves as a good reference for understanding and accurately grasping the development of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area"--
The Chinese economy has been playing an increasingly significant role on the global stage. This book is the sixth annual project of Asia Competitiveness Institute studying competitiveness at the sub-national level of Greater China. ACI's flagship competitiveness study not only adopts a comprehensive framework to measure competitiveness by incorporating 102 indicators under four environments and 11 sub-environments, but is also undertaken at the sub-national level to account for the considerable disparities within a large economy like Greater China. The comparative strengths and weaknesses based on the scores and rankings as well as the what-if simulation analysis can be used to formulate development strategies that are specific and of practical value for each sub-national economy and region.The Shapley methodology adopted by ACI introduces a novel approach for the assignment of weights to the various indicators that constitute competitiveness. This concept has introduced an element of objectivity in terms of the assignment of weights. The findings using the Shapley value also tend to validate the robustness of results obtained from the competitiveness studies over the past years.Moreover, the empirical research featured in this book attempts to understand the drivers of exports of Mainland China provinces, with a specific focus on real effective exchange rate movements and volatility. Nowadays with the international flows of goods and capital becoming ubiquitous and comprising an important aspect of national competitiveness, the role of exchange rate is drawing much more policy attention. In view of this, the research findings presented in this book make an important academic and policy contribution by empirically examining the relationship between exports and exchange rate.Finally, the timing of this publication makes it indispensable to include some dedicated discussions of the trade disputes between the US and China. Several topics would be discussed in this book, including China's protection on Intellectual Property Rights, its violation of World Trade Organisation rules, challenges to its economic growth, the development of its three regional megalopolises, and how to mitigate the impact and ramification of its trade war against the US. This book attempts to identify the growing concerns in the US-China trade tension and provide suggestions for China's development in the future.
Protectionism has been placed under the media spotlight, with news headlines generated by populist anti-globalization movements and Donald Trump's term as US President. Such a policy stance is putting at risk unilateral trade reform efforts in the Asia-Pacific region and elsewhere.This two-volume reference work provides a timely update on how far the region has come in opening markets. It analyzes the motivations or ostensible objectives of policies adopted in the past, the changing extent of the domestic price distortions involved, the economic effects of those policies at home and abroad, the political economy forces at work that brought about those policies and their subsequent reform, their consequences for international trade, economic welfare and poverty alleviation, and prospects for sustainable improvements in current policies. Case studies of major East Asian economies and Australia reveal how government priorities to assist farmers versus manufacturers changed over the past century but especially since the 1980s, and how that has affected trade between natural resource-poor and resource-rich economies.This set is highly recommended for those who are interested in the economics and politics of trade policies, agricultural economics, economic development, and food and nutrition security in the Asia-Pacific region and beyond.
2017 Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact of Exchange Rates on Foreign Direct Investment Inflows to ASEAN Economies by 
2017 Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact of Exchange Rates on Foreign Direct Investment Inflows to Sub-National Economies of India by 
2017 Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact of Exchange Rates on Foreign Direct Investment Inflows to Sub-National Economies of Indonesia by 
2017 Impact Estimation of Exchange Rate on Foreign Direct Investment Inflows and Annual Update of Competitiveness Analysis for 34 Greater China Economies by 
Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact Estimation of Exchange Rates on Exports from Sub-National Economies of India by 
Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact Estimation of Exchange Rates on Exports from Sub-National Economies of Indonesia by 
Annual Competitiveness Analysis and Impact Estimation of Exchange Rates on Trade in Value-Added of ASEAN Economies by 
Balanced, Sustainable and Competitiveness Enhancement Study for Vietnam by 
Economic Impact in the Internet Plus Era by 
Great Transformation, the: Supply-Side Structural Reform by 
Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area by 
Impact Estimation of Exchange Rates on Exports and Annual Update of Competitiveness Analysis for 34 Greater China Economies by 
World Scientific Reference on Asia-Pacific Trade Policies (in 2 Volumes) by 
