Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 92 - July 2020): Banking & Finance

Publisher : Auerbach Publishers

This book delves into the essential concepts and technologies of acquiring systems. It fills the gap left by manuals and standards and provides practical knowledge and insight that allow engineers to navigate systems as well as the massive tomes containing standards and manuals. Dedicated to card acquiring exclusively, the book covers: Payment cards and protocols EMV contact chip and contactless transactions Disputes, arbitration, and compliance Data security standards in the payment card industry Validation algorithms Code tables Basic cryptography Pin block formats and algorithms When necessary the book discusses issuer-side features or standards insomuch as they are required for the sake of completeness. For example, protocols such as EMV 3-D Secure are not covered to the last exhaustive detail. Instead, this book provides an overview, justification, and logic behind each message of the protocol and leaves the task of listing all fields and their formats to the standard document itself. The chapter on EMV contact transactions is comprehensive to fully explain this complex topic in order to provide a basis for understanding EMV contactless transaction. A guide to behind-the-scenes business processes, relevant industry standards, best practices, and cryptographic algorithms, Acquiring Card Payments covers the essentials so readers can master the standards and latest developments of card payment systems and technology

eBook Price: £86.40

Publisher : CRC Press LLC

This book provides solid, state-of-the-art contributions from both scientists and practitioners working on botnet detection and analysis, including botnet economics. It presents original theoretical and empirical chapters dealing with both offensive and defensive aspects in this field. Chapters address fundamental theory, current trends and techniques for evading detection, as well as practical experiences concerning detection and defensive strategies for the botnet ecosystem, and include surveys, simulations, practical results, and case studies.

eBook Price: £90.00

Publisher : Fordham University Press

From a certain perspective, the biggest political story of 2016 was how the candidate who bought three-quarters of the political ads lost to the one whose every provocative Tweet set the agenda for the day's news coverage. With the arrival of bot farms, microtargeted Facebook ads, and Cambridge Analytica, isn't the age of political ads on local TV coming to a close? You might think. But you'd be wrong to the tune of $4.4 billion just in 2016. In U.S. elections, there's a lot more at stake than the presidency. TV spending has gone up dramatically since 2006, for both presidential and down-ballot races for congressional seats, governorships, and state legislatures--and the 2020 campaign shows no signs of bucking this trend. When candidates don't enjoy the name recognition and celebrity of the presidential contenders, it's very much business as usual. They rely on the local TV newscasts, watched by 30 million people every day--not Tweets--to convey their messages to an audience more fragmented than ever. At the same time, the nationalization of news and consolidation of local stations under juggernauts like Nexstar Media and Sinclair Broadcasting mean a decreasing share of time devoted to down-ballot politics--almost 90 percent of 2016's local political stories focused on the presidential race. Without coverage of local issues and races, ad buys are the only chance most candidates have to get their messages in front of a broadcast audience. On local TV news, political ads create the reality of local races--a reality that is not meant to inform voters but to persuade them. Voters are left to their own devices to fill in the space between what the ads say--the bought reality--and what political stories used to cover.

eBook Price: $34.99

Publisher : Polity Press

'Governments should spend no more than their tax income.' Most people in Europe and North America accept this statement as simple common sense. It resonates with the deeply engrained economic metaphors that dominate public discourse, from 'living within your means' to 'balancing the budget' - all necessary, or so conventional wisdom holds, to avoid the dangers of debt, taxation and financial ruin. This book shows how these homely metaphors constitute the 'debt delusion': a set of plausible-sounding yet false ideas that have been used to justify damaging austerity policies. John Weeks debunks these myths, explaining the true story behind public spending, taxation, and debt, and their real function in the management of our economies. He demonstrates that disputes about public finances are not primarily technical matters best left to specialists and experts, as many politicians would have us believe, but rather fundamentally questions about our true political priorities. Requiring no prior economic knowledge, this is an ideal primer for anyone wishing to cut through the rhetoric and misinformation that dominate political debates on economics and become an informed citizen.

eBook Price: $9.99

Publisher : Oxford University Press

The global financial sector is increasingly vulnerable to penetration by criminal money-launderers, financiers of terrorism, and proliferators of weapons of mass destruction. At the same time, it offers instruments that can be usefully employed to pursue foreign and security policyobjectives. It is thus hardly surprising that finance has emerged as an arena of intense competition, if not conflict, between those seeking to exploit or attack this vital element of state power and those tasked with defending its integrity or harnessing it for legal purposes.Navias assesses the key threats to financial systems and shows how the public and private sectors are co-operating to contain them. He analyses the main characteristics of criminal money-laundering and terrorist financing, and reviews major multilateral and national regimes locked in the perpetualbattle to shore up the financial sector against these constantly evolving security challenges. He also considers the uses of finance in support of key sanctions, counter-proliferation, and arms embargo policies.Uniquely, Finance and Security views these financial threats and weapons through a security and war studies prism. It will be equally invaluable to scholars of security and international relations and to professionals working in the legal, banking and compliance professions.

Print Price: $37.95

Publisher : Yale University Press

An insider's view of the U.S. government's response to the 2007-2009 global financial crisis, recounted by the people who made the key decisions In 2008, the world's financial system stood on the brink of disaster. The United States faced an unprecedented crisis when the investment bank Lehman Brothers collapsed, setting off a global panic. Faced with the prospect of a new Great Depression, the Treasury Department, the Federal Reserve, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, and other agencies took extraordinary measures to contain the damage and steady the financial system and the economy. Edited by three of the policymakers who led the government's response to the crisis, with chapters written by the teams tasked with finding policy solutions, this book provides a comprehensive accounting of the internal debates and controversies surrounding the measures that were taken to stabilize the financial system and the economy. Offering previously untold insight into the key choices (including rejected options) and a frank evaluation of successes and failures, this volume is both an important historical document and an indispensable guide for confronting future financial calamities.

Print Price: $37.50

Publisher : Boydell & Brewer, Limited

Margaret of Anjou remains a figure of controversy. As wife to the weak King Henry VI, she was on the losing side in the first phase of the Wars of the Roses. Yorkist propaganda vilifying Margaret was consolidated by Shakespeare: his portrait of a warlike and vengeful queen - "a tiger's heart wrapped in a woman's hide" - became the widely-accepted view, which up until recently had been little questioned. However, Margaret's letters, collected here in full for the first time, have their own story to tell - and present a rather different picture. In her words and the words of her contemporaries, both friend and foe, they reveal a woman who lived according to the noble standards of her time. She enjoyed the hunt, she practised her faith, and she tried to help or protect those who called upon her for assistance, as was expected of a queen and "good lady". Henry's mental breakdown, the birth of their son and growing tensions among the lords of the land forced her to step outside the life she would have expected to live. This study of Margaret's letters establishes the scope of a late medieval queen's concerns, while providing a unique account of this extraordinary woman. HELEN MAURER and B.M. CRON are both independent scholars; their work has focussed on Margaret of Anjou for many years. d to live. This study of Margaret's letters establishes the scope of a late medieval queen's concerns, while providing a unique account of this extraordinary woman. HELEN MAURER and B.M. CRON are both independent scholars; their work has focussed on Margaret of Anjou for many years. d to live. This study of Margaret's letters establishes the scope of a late medieval queen's concerns, while providing a unique account of this extraordinary woman. HELEN MAURER and B.M. CRON are both independent scholars; their work has focussed on Margaret of Anjou for many years. d to live. This study of Margaret's letters establishes the scope of a late medieval queen's concerns, while providing a unique account of this extraordinary woman. HELEN MAURER and B.M. CRON are both independent scholars; their work has focussed on Margaret of Anjou for many years.

Print Price: $120.00

Publisher : Simon & Schuster

The authoritative biography of Michael Bloomberg: business genius, inventor, innovator, publisher, philanthropist, activist, and presidential candidate. With unprecedented access, a veteran New York Times reporter and editorial writer who covered New York City and state politics offers a revealing portrait of one of the richest and famously private/public figures in the country. Michael Bloomberg's life sounds like an exaggerated version of The American Story, except his adventures are real. From modest Jewish middle class (and Eagle Scout) to Harvard MBA to Salomon Brothers hot shot (where he gets "sent upstairs" and later fired) to creator of the machine that would change Wall Street and the rest of the world and make him a billionaire (a description by the author makes the invention clear to non-engineers). Randolph's account of Bloomberg's life and time reads almost like a novel, a quintessentially American story. She explains the "machine" he invented that gave and continues to give instant access to an infinite amount of information to bankers and investors on how, what, and where to invest, and how it changed the financial universe. Randolph recounts one day not long ago when the Bloomberg machine briefly blipped and the whole world's financial marketplace came to a halt. Randolph recounts Mayor Bloomberg's vigorous approach to New York city's care--including his attempts at education reform, contract control, anti-smoking and anti-obesity campaigns, green climate control, and his political adventures with both aides and opponents. After a surprising third term as Mayor, Bloomberg returned to his business and doubles its already tremendous worth. The chapter that describes this is one of the most revealing of his temperament and energy and vision as well as how he spends his "private" time--private but convivial. Bloomberg's philanthropies are education, anti-NRA, and supporting a cleaner environment. He is a moderate liberal in a time when that quality holds the future of the Democratic Party and the country to account.

eBook Price: $14.99

Publisher : ABC-CLIO, LLC

This engaging book offers a primer on stocks and bonds, using easy-to-understand language to explain how they function and why they are important. It will be a valuable resource for both economics students and readers interested in investing. Although news outlets provide daily updates on stock market performance, many Americans have little understanding of how stocks and stock exchanges work. Yet stocks, along with government and corporate bonds, represent two key cornerstones of modern economics. While the average American may think of them as simply two types of investments, stocks and bonds have impacts on the economy that go far beyond the realm of personal finance. The latest volume in Greenwood's new Student Guides to Business and Economics series, Stocks and Bonds gives readers an in-depth yet reader-friendly look at these integral components of the U.S. and global economy. It explores the different types of bonds, how stocks and stock exchanges work, and why periodic crashes and crises occur. It explains fundamental concepts such as risk versus return, interest rates, and behavioral economics, using real-world examples to illustrate key points. It also provides practical tried-and-true recommendations for investing in stocks and bonds. Presents a concise and easy-to-read overview of broad and foundational topics in economics Provides practical, balanced advice for readers interested in learning more about how to invest in stocks and bonds Includes a Questions for Further Discussion section, designed to stimulate classroom discussion and encourage critical thinking Offers an at-a-glance chronology of events related to the history of stocks and bonds, allowing readers to trace the evolution of ideas and better understand cause-and-effect relationships

Price: $40.00
Format : eBook Available