Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 66 - May 2020): International Business

This volume critically analyzes the convergence of technology, business practices, public policies, political ideologies, and societal values for improving business performance at the global-local paradigm. It also enriches knowledge on contemporary business strategies against conventional wisdom of managing companies today.  Shifts in the global economic and political order have significantly affected the business patterns within developed, developing, and emerging markets. The reversal of political ideologies from liberal to protectionist business frameworks are disrupting the trade flows that were rooted in the international economy since the mid-twentieth century. The essays contemplate developing new visions and business perspectives to match with the changing political ideologies in emerging markets. This volume will serve as a valuable tool to readers looking for global market management strategies to generate cost-effective business models and create convergence with political and social values to drive better governance of businesses.  

Chinese companies have been increasingly active in outbound investment in recent years, with Germany the third largest destination in Europe. Adopting an analytical approach and utilizing case studies and expert interviews, this book examines Chinese mergers and acquisitions (M&As) in Germany, with a focus on the companies' business growth, particularly the integration process and subsequent growth after acquisition. The authors contend that Chinese investors take a different approach than their western counterparts, by fostering a long-term orientation toward their investments and placing greater emphasis on co-evolution with the acquired firms rather than transfer of knowledge back to China. This book offers readers a behind-the-scenes story of three separate M&A cases, shedding light on the growth models that ensue from mergers and acquisitions, and the endeavors of Chinese and German managers to grow the businesses together.

Drawing on the best contributions from the 2015 and 2016 Academy of International Business Latin America Chapter (AIB-LAT) conferences, this collection provides analysis and research into the intertwined managerial environments from this vast and complex region. By systematically highlighting environmental, firm and individual-level influences on international business activities, the authors aim to divide the complex nature of this phenomenon into manageable pieces while simultaneously providing an understandable overview of important international business factors in the region. The book invites readers to think critically about how factors at any particular level can only provide one piece of the overall internationalization puzzle in the region.

This contributed volume focuses on diasporans, their characteristics, networks, resources and activities in relation to international business and entrepreneurship. It presents an overview of diaspora concepts from an economic perspective, and analyzes the global-economic and societal effects and mechanisms, revealing both positive and negative aspects of diaspora activities. Providing insights into the socio-cultural influences, it discusses diaspora entrepreneurship and international business, the respective organisational models, investments and business types. Lastly it offers an assessment of managing diaspora resources and policymaking. This book was created by an interdisciplinary team of editors, co-authors and reviewers including historians, sociologists, psychologists, linguists and ethnologists, as well as experts in public policy, international business, marketing and entrepreneurship. This unique team (many of the authors are themselves diasporans with an extensive understanding of their topic) provides the first global academic platform on the subject, combining the latest empirical evidence from developing, emerging, transitional and developed countries with various combinations of diaspora flows that to date have received little attention.

Blazing the way towards freer commerce with more dynamic economies, Chile and Peru are paving the way for the Latin American penetration of the Asian markets, and the welcoming of important imported goods from the East. With its unique mix of theory, historical discussion, case studies, and contemporary analysis and prospection, this book offers a comprehensive look at the business environment in Chile and Peru. It examines how data analytics will affect the management of businesses in these two countries and how they can close the innovation gap. It also investigates the effects of past and recent corruption scandals on economic development. The book provides a solid grounding on the historical, economic, social, and political impacts of trade and business in this region and identifies the key drivers of Latin American economic growth and development. Further, the authors look forward to the rising trends that outline the future of business and commerce between these two prospering economies, the rest of Latin America, and the world.  This book is aimed at scholars and researchers who seek to learn more about the changing focus and interests of Latin America, the shift away from the Atlantic economies towards the Pacific powerhouses, and the implications and opportunities this poses for American business interests.

Analysing foreign investment promotion at a regional level in the Czech Republic, Poland and Slovakia, the book applies regional science, international business, and place marketing concepts to explore how Central Eastern European Countries compete for multinational firms. Taking a multidisciplinary approach, the author places special emphasis on promotion and its role within a wider context of regional strategies aimed at inward investment attraction. With useful insights for policy-makers, the book combines theory with empirical evidence and provides valuable reading for those researching international business location, place marketing and regional development.

This book explores emerging trends in internationalization, analyzing the processes and steps that firms take when entering new markets. This timely contribution highlights the need for a deeper understanding of today's internationalization process, critiquing existing literature and instead proposing a new paradigm based on a re-interpretation of the Resource-based View (RBV). Analysing the motives behind internationalizing, the factors affecting entry choices, and the challenges connected to outsourcing and offshoring, the authors present a new framework for understanding the reasons behind internationalization and the financial risks that are involved. With theoretical discussion and empirical case studies, this book seeks to offer an informed insight into internationalizing, making it an invaluable read for those researching entrepreneurship on a global scale, as well as managers and  leaders of international firms.

Investigating how international market actors create market morality on a global level, this book reflects on the unresolved questions and debates regarding the relationship between business and society. The author explores how market actors in international business communication are unified in their attempts to make markets moralised. Providing detailed case studies and empirical evidence based on interviews with practitioners, Moralising Global Markets is a useful read for anyone interested in international business, and for those researching morality, ethics and corporate social responsibility.

In this book, the authors investigate the rise in outward direct investment (ODI) from four emerging economies, Brazil, Russia, India and China (BRIC). Over the last two decades, these countries have transformed from recipients of foreign direct investment (FDI) into important international investors. This new book explores the reasons behind the impressive surge in ODI from developing economies, and examines the characteristics of firms within BRIC countries by creating and testing a conceptual framework. Addressing the need for a greater understanding of aggregated ODI patterns, the authors focus on the different types of ODI being employed by firms within BRIC countries, covering details such as destinations and foreign ownership structures. By evaluating the correlation between ODI and a firm's performance, this book will be a valuable read for anyone researching international business and emerging economies.

Showcasing methodological rigour and state-of-the-art methods as hallmarks of modern international business (IB) research, this book offers a collection of the most relevant and highly cited research methods articles from the Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS). Each piece is accompanied by a new Commentary written by experts in the field; some also include Further Reflections by the original authors. Encompassing both qualitative and quantitative approaches, this comprehensive volume explores research design, testing and reporting, as well as specific methodological issues such as endogeneity, common method variance, and theorising from case studies. With recommendations for best practices relating to interaction effects, hypothesis testing, and replicability, this book is a unique and up-to-date reference source on the latest research methods and practices in international business. The book will also be essential reading for those studying any sub-discipline of IB research, including international economics, entrepreneurship, finance, management and marketing.

This is the first English book on the economic relations between China and Latin America written by Chinese scholars. The authors are all from the Institute of Latin American Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences -- China's premier think tank. By combining empirical techniques and political-economic analysis, it investigates the history of and the outlook for China-Latin America relations. It offers readers insights into the Chinese perspective and an evaluation of the development of the relations between the two parties.

The ACADEMY OF INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS (UK and Ireland Chapter) Published in association with the UK and Ireland Chapter of the Academy of International Business. In line with the 45th AIB-UKI conference, this edited collection brings together fresh perspectives on international business strategy, with a focus on the challenges faced by multinational enterprises (MNEs) in today's changing commercial and political landscape. With a diverse range of contributors from varying international backgrounds, this book discusses the different strategies employed by MNEs, and analyses how they cope with the current global business environment. An extremely useful read for those studying globalisation and MNEs, this book provides an interdisciplinary and timely approach to international business strategy.

Global business management issues and concerns are complex, diverse, changing, and often intractable. Industry actors and policy makers alike rely upon partnerships and alliances for developing and growing sustainable business organizations and ventures. As a result, global business leaders must be well-versed in managing and leading multidimensional human relationships and business networks - requiring skill and expertise in conducting the negotiation processes that these entail.  After laying out a foundation justifying the importance of studying negotiation in a global context, this book will detail conventional and contemporary theories regarding international engagement, culture, cultural difference, and cross-cultural interaction, with particular focus on their influence on negotiation. Building on these elements, the book will provide a broad array of country-specific chapters, each describing and analyzing the negotiation culture of businesspeople in a different country around the world. Finally, the book will look ahead, with an eye towards identifying and anticipating new trends and developments in the field of global negotiation. This text will appeal to scholars and researchers in international business, cross-cultural studies, and conflict management who seek to understand the challenges of intercultural communication and negotiation. It will provide trainers and consultants with the insights they need to prepare their clients for intercultural negotiation. Finally, the text will appeal to businesspeople who find themselves heading out to engage with counterparts in another country, or operating in other multinational environments on a regular basis. 

This handbook, which serves as a follow-up text to The Palgrave Handbook of Experiential Learning In International Business, reviews theoretical and empirical approaches of experiential learning pedagogy, and its role in increasing the effectiveness in teaching and learning of international business, and also, in the incorporation of international business-related concepts and competences in business and non-business programs. This edition offers a broader and updated perspective on experiential learning pedagogy for international business and management, and beyond. The first part provides an updated overview of the theories of experiential learning and effectiveness of teaching and learning in international business through the use of experiential learning projects. Part two provides a collection of specific applications of experiential learning in International Business and related fields. This handbook is a one-stop source for international managers, business educators, and trainers seeking to either select and use an existing experiential learning project or develop new projects and exercises of this kind.