Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 136 - Feb 2021) - 2020 Publications: Environmental Economics

Print Book Price : £44.99

Climate change represents the most important environmental challenge of our time. Organisations are responding to this by implementing governance processes and by taking action to reduce their own emissions and the emissions from their supply chains and value chains. Yet very little is known about how these efforts contribute to reducing greenhouse gas emissions (if indeed, they make any substantive contribution at all) or about how they might be harnessed to deliver more ambitious reductions in emissions. 　 This book explains when and where particular forms of governance intervention - these include internal governance processes and external governance pressures - are likely to be effective on climate change. From this analysis, it offers practical proposals on the climate policy frameworks that need to be in place to facilitate or accelerate changes in corporate behaviour. The book is truly global: it focuses on the world's 25 largest retailers (including Walmart, Tesco, Carrefour, Sears and Aldi) and is based on detailed interviews with senior managers from these corporations, and with key global and national NGOs, corporate responsibility experts, politicians and regulators. These interviews provide clear insights into how external governance pressure and actions (public opinion, regulation, incentives) interact with internal governance conditions (management systems and processes, corporate policies, board/CEO leadership) to change and shape corporate actions on climate change and, in turn, the climate change impacts of these corporations. This book can be used as a core reference for any courses dealing with corporate governance and business strategy, in particular those relating to climate change and to environmental management more generally. It is also of relevance to business practitioners, public policy makers, investors and NGOs interested in ensuring that companies play a constructive role in the transition to a low carbon economy.

Print Book Price : £34.99

In one volume, this book brings together a diversity of approaches, theory and frameworks that can be used to analyse the governance of renewable natural resources. Renewable natural resources are under pressure, with over-exploitation and degradation raising concern globally. Understanding governance systems and practice is essential for developing effective and fair solutions. This book introduces readers to key concepts and issues concerned with the governance of renewable natural resources and illustrates the diversity of approaches, theories and frameworks that have been used to analyse governance systems and practice. Each chapter provides an introduction to an area of literature and theory and demonstrates application through a case study. The book covers a range of geographical locations, with a focus on low- and middle-income countries, and several types of natural resources. The approaches and theories introduced include common property theory, political ecology, institutional analysis, the social ecological systems framework and social network analysis. Findings from across the chapters support an analytical focus on institutions and local context and a practical focus on diverse, flexible and inclusive governance solutions. The book serves as an essential introduction to the governance of renewable natural resources for students, researchers and practitioners.

Print Book Price : £42.99

The Routledge Handbook of Political Ecology presents a comprehensive and authoritative examination of the rapidly growing field of political ecology. Located at the intersection of geography, anthropology, sociology, and environmental history, political ecology is one of the most vibrant and conceptually diverse fields of inquiry into nature-society relations within the social sciences. With contributions from over 50 leading scholars, the Handbook presents a systematic overview of political ecology's origins, practices, and core concerns, and aims to advance both ongoing and emerging debates. While there are numerous edited volumes, textbooks, and monographs under the heading "political ecology" these have tended to be either collections of empirically based (mostly case study) research on a given theme, or broad overviews of the field aimed at undergraduate audiences. The Routledge Handbook of Political Ecology is the first systematic, comprehensive overview of the field. With authors from North and South America, Europe, Australia, and elsewhere, the Handbook provides a state-of-the-art examination of political ecology; addresses ongoing and emerging debates in this rapidly evolving field; and charts new agendas for research, policy, and activism. The Handbook opens with several chapters that critically reflect on political ecology and situate it within the broader scope of nature-society scholarship. These are followed by a section on the practice of political ecology: ethics, methods, activism, and policy. The remainder of the book comprises five sub-sections that examine fundamental concepts at the heart of political ecology: environmental knowledge, environmental change, environmental governance, environmental identities, and environmental politics. The Routledge Handbook of Political Ecology introduces political ecology as an interdisciplinary academic field. It will serve as an excellent resource for graduate and advanced undergraduate teaching, and as a key reference text for geographers, anthropologists, sociologists, environmental historians, and others working in and around the fields of political ecology, environmental politics, and the political economy of environmental change.

Print Book Price : £110

This book uses spatio-temporal analysis to understand urbanisation in Indian cities and explain the concept and impact of global greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. It creates a GHG footprint for Indian cities and engages in a discussion about the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and smart city initiatives within an Indian context. Understanding the spatial patterns of land use/land cover (LULC) dynamics in the rapidly urbanising cities of India, the readers will be able to simulate future urbanisation patterns and use spatial temporal analysis as a tool for implementing appropriate mitigation measures. Features Analyses the complete urbanisation and urban sprawl of major cities in India using advanced geospatial modelling techniques Highlights the best practices and methods used in modelling urban growth Discusses greenhouse gas emissions from various sectors and their effects in local environments Addresses the increase of local temperature in cities due to unplanned land use change and its impact on environmental sustainability and resilience Fills the need for data-driven governance and policy decisions by introducing various analyses through spatial mapping Highlighting some of the best practices and tools being used for modelling urban growth through case studies, the book is useful to those interested in using new technologies and methods for data collection and problem solving. It focuses on the major environmental issues in India, which are prevalent in most developing countries.