Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 60 - May 2020): Asian Business

Bringing together a collection of interdisciplinary chapters on China's Belt and Road Initiative (BRI, or also known as One Belt One Road), this book offers a comprehensive overview of the topic from a business and management perspective. With contributions from scholars based in Asia, Europe and North America, Volume I provides theoretical and empirical analysis of the opportunities and challenges facing businesses in relation to BRI. Key areas covered include economics and finance, history, trade, value chain and human resource and cross-cultural management, creating a useful tool for academics, as well as policy-makers and practitioners in China and other countries along the new Silk Road.

Bringing together a collection of interdisciplinary chapters on China's Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), this book offers a comprehensive overview of the topic from a business and management perspective. With a focus on the China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), Volume II provides theoretical and empirical analyses of the opportunities and challenges facing businesses. With contributions covering economics, agriculture, energy, value chain, ethics, governance, and security, this collection is a useful tool for academics as well as policy-makers and practitioners in China, Pakistan, and other countries along the new Silk Road.

Capturing the overall development of the Chinese economy, this comprehensive book offers an introduction to one of the most astonishing economic growth stories of the last three decades. The authors identify the key stages and unique features of China's development, exploring its geopolitical impact on the world economy, and in particular, on the European Union. Analysing factors such as education, urbanisation and innovation, this book highlights the reasons behind China's success in the international market, and places a special focus on the country's energy policy. By providing insights into such an important case of expansion and growth in international business, this innovative book will be of interest to those researching Asian business, internationalisation and the Chinese economy.

This book is the first anthology compiled in English by the CEIBS Case Center to promote China-focused cases worldwide. Included are ten of twenty six award-winning cases from the Global Contest for the Best China-Focused Cases during 2015 to 2017: these works exemplify the quality of effective business cases and share stories of China to the world. Each of the ten cases has a defining feature. Some cases, with a focus on user demand, analyze how companies build their core competence (e.g., Haidilao Hot-Pot and OnePlus Mobile Phone), while others present an array of business innovations in the era of new retail, e-commerce, and the sharing economy (e.g., SF Express, Jinhuobao, ofo, FamilyMart, and Handu Apparel). Some describe Chinese companies' operations in the overseas market (e.g., Huawei and TECNO), and others depict how foreign companies adapt to the Chinese market in a unique way (e.g., Starbucks). These cases were drawn from Chinese and overseas business schools.   The book helps bridge the gap between the world management community's interest in China and the limited availability of China-focused management cases. We hope this collection of select cases will prove valuable and informative for our readers.

This edited collection highlights the unique cultural and socioeconomic elements of China and the strong influence of those elements on women leaders in the nation. The authors present perspectives on women leaders' current state of working conditions and balancing of personal and professional lives in diverse contexts while discussing commonalities and differences across sectors in China and drawing comparisons with Asian and non-Asian contexts. Chapters will explore cultural contexts that hinder career advancement, family roles for women, government policies and educational opportunities that support women's development, and finally the future for women in China. The book provides a thorough assessment of the situation of women in China for scholars in leadership, management, international relations, and human resource development.

Deeply rooted in Chinese culture, the concept of guanxi has been widely researched from historical, cultural and political perspectives. As Chinese multinational corporations (MNCs) expand, expatriates are increasingly carrying guanxi with them to host countries, yet little has been written on how this indigenous construct is employed in the Western world. This book takes a theoretical approach to the examination of this phenomenon and proposes a conceptual framework for the 'guanxi capitalism structure,' illustrating its fundamental role as the invisible hand in China. Providing empirical analysis, the author demonstrates how guanxi affects intra-firm multicultural group dynamics involving Chinese expatriates and host-country natives in Chinese MNCs. With insights for scholars researching Asian business and globalisation, and practitioners working in Chinese MNCs, this book argues that guanxi significantly alters an expatriate's adjustment, and offers practical suggestions for cross-cultural management and the process of  initiating, building, and utilising guanxi in a Western context.

This book examines the global corporate strategy of Japanese multi-national enterprises (MNEs) and analyses their position in today's business environment. Focusing in particular upon Indonesia, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Vietnam, Japanese Global Strategy presents nine empirical case studies on companies including Denso, Furukawa Electric and Yamaha Motor. Based on questionnaires and interviews with senior managers, this book applies the hybrid theories of application and adaptation to each company's corporate strategy. By delving into the historical reasons behind investing in strategy, the author asserts that MNEs should be a priory for Asian markets, making this an invaluable read for anyone researching international business and Asian business more specifically.

This book reviews the past 116 Japanese outbound acquisitions in three decades and determines success and failure, with the goal of explaining what works. Dr. Matsumoto emphasizes that such acquisitions are part of a long-term strategy and should not be judged based short-term gains and losses, especially short-term changes in company stock prices. The book also highlights common pitfalls hidden within the expected benefits of these overseas acquisitions. Dr. Matsumoto provides valuable insights for executives, corporate managers working on strategy, finance and overseas development, practitioners, researchers and MBA students trying to succeed in cross border merger and acquisitions using 16 case studies and careful investigation.