Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 37 - June 2019): Marketing

Price: € 34.99/-

This critical introductory text explores the role of advertising in contemporary culture and its connections to larger economic, social and political forces. From an investigation of advertising's crucial function in media economics and our wider capitalist system to a consideration of the people who both make and watch advertising, this insightful text enables students to make sense of advertising's powerful influence as both an economic force and an artistic form; assess the various claims of these two perspectives on advertising; and understand how they challenge and complicate one another. Written in an engaging and accessible style and incorporating a wide range of examples from around the world, the chapters introduce the key concepts, methods and debates needed to analyse and understand advertising.  Equipping students with the skills needed to partake in this lively discourse, the text is an invaluable resource for studying advertising critically. It is essential reading for students of advertising, media studies and communication studies.

Price: £ 43.99/-

Presenting the basics of brand management, the book provides both a theoretical and practical guide to brands, placing emphasis on the theory that the consumer is a co-creator in a brand's identity. In a world in which social media and inclusive digital platforms have increased customer engagement, the role of brands and branding has changed. The line between the producer and the consumer has become blurred; consumers are no longer the recipients of brand identity, but the co-creators, playing a significant role in shaping new products and systems. To help students better understand the basics of brand management, and the co-creation theory, the book includes a collection of geographically diverse case studies, including: Burger King, Lego, Lynx, Maserati, HSBC and Vegemite. The book is complemented by online resources for lecturers and students, including PowerPoint slides, journal articles, web and video links, and a selection of exclusive videos with a professional brand consultant. Suitable reading for students of branding and brand management modules.

Price: £ 34.99/-

In a global business environment characterized by volatility and change, the formation of enduring relationships with consumers is paramount, but also notoriously difficult. Developing a unique brand personality is increasingly recognized as a key method to achieving the goal of customer loyalty. Focusing on the creation, development and management of brands in the world¿s most dynamic, diverse and challenging business environment, Building Brands in Asia challenges the assumption that the continuing success of global brands in Asia is a given. The first part examines the challenge multinational corporations face in balancing brand consistency with local effectiveness. In the second part, attention shifts to Asian company brands, where the focus on branding has been relatively muted until now. Through a variety of sector and country contexts ¿ from facilities management to football clubs, places to pop bands, home appliances to home weaving - we narrate simply and clearly the value, meaning, auditing, aligning, extending and architecture of brands from the likes of Haier, Ah Yee Taung, Axis Bank, OCS, Caltex, Manchester United and Thai Airways in markets as diverse as Japan, Laos, Korea and Singapore. Replete with anecdotes, interviews and case studies, Andrews and Chew provide an insightful, detailed and timely examination for all those interested in today¿s primary corporate preoccupation set in the world¿s most exciting marketplace.

Price: £ 66.95/-

This series epitomizes the 2017 ConsumerCulture Theory (CCT) conference themes of hyper-reality and culturalhybridization. The partnership of the co-editors, with diverse backgroundsincluding Caribbean, Mexican and Indian roots, itself depicts culturalhybridity, culminating in a series of fascinating articles written by authorsfrom around the globe. The eleven research papers provide a global perspective ona range of consumer discourses both in the physical marketplace (research onmobility practices within the transportation market in Vietnam; or anexamination of stigma in beef consumption practices in India), or in thevirtual marketplace (a study of the discourses surrounding the mythic nature ofBitcoin creator, Satoshi Nakamoto; or parental management understood throughthe media marketplace experiences of black women in Britain). The conference'sBest Competitive Award paper is featured; a compelling look at hyper-realitywithin the world of the Broadway musical, Wicked,examining how new media platforms are used to appeal to new and existingconsumers. This series also includes two insightful papers on wine producersand their cultural intermediaries, and on wine tourism, where the authorstraverse the globe to better understand market development and consumerengagement respectively. Whether it be an examination of consumer tribes,breast cancer and gender identity, or product gender and design, these authors collectivelyprovide us with unique and riveting perspectives on consumer and marketplace experiences.The series fittingly culminates with a critical look at the emergence of theCCT tradition; an emergence that is both timely and important as this seriesdemonstrates.

Price: £ 24.99/-

Companies who invest in successful Customer eXperience (CX) innovation stand out from the crowd. Markets tend to reward these companies because it is rare for firms to try something new, much less prove customer acceptance of their attempted innovations. Firms offering remarkable CX create loyal customers who happily pay more for their products and services, and then refer them to other customers for free.  This book outlines innovative processes used to research, conceive and develop innovations in the CX space for both large and small companies. The challenge is not so much finding out what customers like, as it is remaining apart from the crowd of rivals and copycats.  Written as a practical guide for managers with a background in line management, operations, marketing, finance or customer service, this book contains a simple framework with an extensive range of design thinking and creative problem solving tools. Starting with a validation for investing in improving your firm's CX, the book also provides a primer on competitive advantage, the most critical objective of strategic planning. Mastering the book's content creates the potential for any business manager or owner to find a hard-to-copy market advantage and drive their business' growth.

Price: £ 65/-

This book presents real life business-to-business (B2B) branding cases. The book deploys a theoretical-practical approach, where theoretical and conceptual frameworks related to key branding topics are supported by empirical case studies. Each case helps to illustrate the framework and discuss its applicability in practice. Through the presented exploratory case studies, the authors provide fresh examples from business practice that are easy to comprehend by undergraduate students, and are easily applied by managers in the field. The book consists of three main parts, covering important aspects of B2B branding. It presents several aspects of external as well as internal branding, supplemented by novel approaches in B2B branding. In addition, the book offers examples of best practices, as well as notable mistakes made by companies involved in branding processes. Thus, it provides a holistic perspective, which will enable companies to learn not only about best practices, but also about pitfalls in the area of corporate branding. In addition to the novel practical cases, each chapter provides relevant theoretical underpinnings presented in a simple, down-to-earth manner. The book highlights recent research areas and coming trends within B2B branding. The book is suitable for everyone with an interest in B2B branding, regardless of background or previous knowledge of branding.

Price: £ 24.95/-

Digital Marketing: Communicating, Selling and Connecting is an invaluable and vital tool for students seeking a comprehensive introduction to the subject of digital marketing. Written by a leading expert in the field, it is an unparalleled resource for students in marketing, as well as an accessible supplementary text for business and management students.Covering digital marketing's background and development, its practical challenges and unique benefits, and its operational foundations, this textbook introduces both technological and marketing concepts. It culminates with discussion of the future of digital marketing in an increasingly networked world.Key Features:* In-depth introductions to the foundations and basic operating principles of digital marketing* Multiple chapters covering consumer decision making online, and how digital marketing affects the consumer* Chapters on service technology and visual design, for a deeper understanding of digital marketing* Coverage of digital marketing in both B2B and B2C contexts* Discussion of legal and ethical aspects of digital marketing* Discussion questions in each chapter to promote engagement with the material and deepen student understanding.Charles Hofacker has drawn on extensive expertise to create an invaluable resource. Written for undergraduate students of marketing and digital marketing this textbook will be useful for anyone looking for an introduction to the subject.

Price: £ 24.99/-

Using powerful storytelling and unique access to the personal perspectives of top-flight marketers who have developed truly world-class business growth programs, Pete Canalichio shows us how successful marketers have extended and expanded their brands, and the challenges they have had to overcome along the way.  The LASSO model (Lateral; Addictive; Storied; Scalab≤ Own-able) offers a simple, accessible and effective way for marketers to get their heads around the desired attributes of highly successful growth programs. With insightful advice, anecdotes and tips from leading brand licensing professionals, household names like Coca-Cola and Disney, senior marketers and inspiring individuals, Canalichio has created a measured and proven "Think Big, Get Big" framework to truly help your brand first expand, grow successfully, and ultimately thrive.

Price: € 109.99/-

This is the first academic book to examine the long running hit series Grand Designs, which occupies a significant place in the popular imagination internationally.  The authors apply an empirically grounded, critical perspective to the study of television to reveal how people use the program in their everyday lives. The emphasis on everyday uses and meanings combines creatively with understanding the program theoretically, textually and in terms of its production structures. This position challenges framings of the popular lifestyle and factual television genre that has been dominated by a neoliberal or governmentality perspective for many years.  Presented by British designer and writer, Kevin McCloud, Grand Designs follows the progress of home owners as they embark on design, renovation and building projects at almost always dizzying scales of endeavour. Understanding the program as both a text to analyse and a site of material impact, the book draws on interviews with production members, home renovators, building practitioners and audiences, as well as references to associated media formats to provide contextual depth to the analysis. The authors argue that, as a cultural object, the program is both shaped by and enacts social discourses of home-making, design value and taste. Navigating public, commercial and promotional logics, Grand Designs sparks new forms of cultural production and consumer markets. 

Price: £ 92.95/-

This volume in the series has big objectives: describe the bad science practices now in use in most studies in business-to-business marketing strategy and describe a true paradigm shift to good science practices by replacing the variable-based linear-symmetric null hypothesis testing (NHST) approach in theory construction and testing--with case-based asymmetric models with somewhat precise outcome testing (SPOT). Whether the question refers to success or failure, wise executives ask, how did we get here? What's in store for the next decade? Unfortunately, the majority of scholarly articles examining the causes of success and failure offers scant useful information that is accurate in forecasting success or failure strategy outcomes. The majority of studies on strategy performance outcomes focus on variable relationships and testing for the directionality (positive or negative relationships) and effect size of relationships--using multiple regression analysis and structural equation modeling (MRA/SEM) using null hypothesis statistical testing (NHST). Research on the value of NHST indicates that such studies are worse than useless: such research does not focus on case-based outcomes and achieving a statistically significant relationship greatly depends on the sample size of firms in the studies. Researchers using NHST are answering the wrong questions in examining the net effects of independent variables on dependent variable of interest (e.g., net earnings per revenue). Here are the right questions to ask. What configurations of antecedent conditions combine to generate positive outcomes for our firm and similar firms? What configurations of antecedent conditions combine to generate negative outcomes for firms in our industry? Sound reasoning and empirical evidence supports the wisdom of business executives ignoring the scholarly empirical literature on forecasting successful and unsuccessful management strategies using the NHST of the size and directionality of relationships. Good science practice relies on the complexity theory tenets covered in the chapters in this volume. Good science practice includes matching case-focused theory with case-focused data analytic tools and using somewhat precise outcome tests (SPOT) of asymmetric models. Good science practice achieves requisite variety necessary for deep explanation, description, and accurate prediction. The fear of submission rejection is another reason for rejecting case-based asymmetric modeling and SPOT. Overcome such fear by learning to apply complexity theory tenets, constructing separate case-based, mid-range, models of successful versus unsuccessful outcomes, and testing for accuracy via SPOT. This volume provides tools necessary for you to accomplish this task.

Price: € 139.99/-

​The proposed book provides an assessment of an important yet controversial policy initiated by the Indian government and governments of several other developing countries. Marketing reforms, it is claimed, can be a crucial answer to solving the problem of rural poverty in agrarian economies where large sections of populace are engaged in low paying agriculture. On a wider front, these reforms could help in providing growth impetus to an economy and even the global economy at large. Yet, the subject of liberalizing agricultural markets is also part of a broad and perhaps a bitter political debate between national and sub-national policy makers and academic discourses in India and other countries. A clearer understanding and a possible resolution of the issues involved will be decidedly useful. The experience of India, one of the largest and most agriculture-dominated economies, will undoubtedly provide valuable lessons not only for steering the domestic economic policy but also for other countries to set their own policy agenda. The book attempts to capture the evolving reality in a large and diverse country and presents an objective evaluation to enable aspiring investors and those in policy making, food business and civil society to make more informed assessment and decision.

Price: £ 49.99/-

This book is an up-to-date resource that shows students how to achieve their marketing objectives through a campaign that coordinates marketing, advertising, and promotion. It provides essential information about planning, implementing, and assessing a comprehensive marketing plan to help students appreciate integrated marketing communications as a business strategy. The author describes the processes and considerations needed to appeal to consumers, identifying how geographic segmentation, timing, competitive environments, and cost contribute to planning. He considers the integration of digital technology, such as social media platforms and mobile apps, and how these can be used for advertising, sales promotion, and public relations. The book¿s concise, easy to read explanation of marketing components and their interconnected relationships is solidified by a series of visual summaries as well as examples and useful demonstrations. Students are given the opportunity to prepare their own integrated marketing communication plan based on consumer, product, and market research along with original creative materials and media spreadsheets. Students of marketing communication, advertising and promotion, and digital marketing will love this book¿s abbreviated, but thorough format. An interactive companion website rounds out a stellar set of features that encourage quick understanding, participation, and utilization of IMC concepts.

Price: € 139.99/-

With a special focus on private label food brands and manufacturer brands, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the fast-moving consumer goods marketing landscape. The author illustrates the volatile nature of the relationship between the two types of brands as they compete and co-exist with each other on supermarket shelves. Topics such as brand and category management, product innovation, and consumer choice are discussed and supported with rich empirical case studies from countries around the world. Marketing and management scholars will find this new book an insightful read, as well as those generally interested in the worldwide phenomenon of private label brands.

Price: £ 32.99/-

Radical and unique in its approach and presentation, Marketing Graffiti turns the traditional marketing introduction on its head by helping students to understand the part they already play as ¿consumers¿ in the marketing process. Most marketing textbooks tackle the subject as a business function ¿ i.e. how to "do" marketing in companies and other organizations. Marketing Graffiti shows how marketing is not just a business function but a part of our culture, and one in which we are all active as part-time marketers. By rejecting managerially-driven structures in this way, Saren's approach makes marketing immediate and instantly recognizable as a process and a phenomenon in which we are already complicit. It helps readers to become aware of what they already know. Critically examining a wide range of products, businesses, technologies, information, services, ads, packaging and branding, Saren utilizes everyday images and phenomena to draw out the conceptual foundations of marketing from a social science and cultural studies perspective as something that we all experience in everyday life. This new edition of the first critical marketing textbook discusses the role new technologies (such as social media) play in marketing culture and how this can potentially place more power in the clicks of the consumer. It includes new, updated or expanded sections on market exclusion, the role of the consumer in innovation, space and place, pricing, consumer communities, collaborative consumption and social media marketing. Leading experts in these fields of research and marketing practice also contribute additional sections on these topics. This essential marketing guide is supported by a range of teaching support materials including the latest journal and online references, guides to further reading, teaching slides and test bank questions

Price: £ 41.99/-

Market Management and Project Business Development is a guide to the theory of marketing and selling projects in business, demonstrating how to secure and deliver value, and improve performance in profitable ways. By providing a set of key principles and guidelines to business-to-business (B2B) marketing, construction project management expert Hedley Smyth demonstrates how to use marketing and business development principles to maximise the value of a project. The book takes a step-by-step approach by dealing with each stage in a project¿s lifecycle in turn, covering a range of approaches including the marketing mix, relationship marketing and its project marketing variant, entrepreneurial marketing and the service-dominant logic. This book is valuable reading for all students and specialists in project management, as well as project managers in business, management, the built environment, or indeed any industry.

Price: £ 60/-

Whetherprofessional or amateur, sports businesses must develop their brand and imageto meet the expectations of a diverse environment, consisting of fans,sponsors, and other stakeholders. The value and instruments of market researchcan provide the required resources for sports businesses to realize theirplans. In Market Research in the Sports Industry,Jasenko Ljubica and Neven Seric provide a comprehensive elaboration of marketresearch methods to be used by sports businesses. The book identifies andexplains the most effective uses of market research, drawing upon real-lifecase studies. The application of the methodspresented in this book, ranging from the simplest - monitoring the environment- to the most complex sampling methods, can significantly contribute to thedevelopment of sports businesses by increasing the number of members, sponsors,followers and fans. The book will beinvaluable for researchers, educators and students of Sports Management andMarketing, and it will also prove useful to sporting professionals seeking togain a competitive edge in the market. 

Price: £ 38.99/-

Why does a customer choose one brand over another? What are the factors which would make an individual more inclined to choose your brand? This book offers a way to predict which brand a buyer will purchase. It looks at brand performance within a product category and tests it in different countries with very different cultures. Following the Predictive Brand Choice (PBC) model, this book seeks to predict a consumer¿s loyalty and choice. Results have shown that PBC can achieve a high level of predictive accuracy, in excess of 70% in mature markets. This accuracy holds even in the face of price competition from a less preferred brand. PBC uses a prospective predicting method which does not have to rely on a brand¿s past performance or a customer¿s purchase history for prediction. Choice data is gathered in the retail setting ¿ at the point of sale. The Strategy of Global Branding and Brand Equity presents survey data and quantitative analyses that prove the method described to be practical, useful and implementable for both researchers and practitioners of commercial brand strategies.

Price: £ 65/-

The food and drink sector represents Europe's largest manufacturing industry, its largest employer and is a major player in the global economy. It also has one of the greatest environmental impacts. In order to maintain competitive advantage, SMEs need to address their environmental impact and integrate sustainability into their marketing strategies and operations.  The Sustainable Marketing Concept in European SMEs: Insights from the Food & Drink Industry brings together contributions from leading scholars to provide new knowledge and applications for the implementation of sustainable marketing orientation and sustainable marketing mix tools in SMEs operating in the industry. It will be the first publication focussing on the scope of sustainable marketing applications by SMEs providing comparison, data analysis and insights from Western Europe and Central - Eastern Europe.  The book is a result of an international cooperation undertaken by leading researchers from Poland, Croatia, the UK, Russia, Germany and Spain, all with many years of experience in issues related to marketing and sustainability.