Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 25 - June 2018): Edward Elgar Publishing

Price : £28.00
Format : Print

Entrepreneurship is a creative practice with tremendous impact, but how does one effectively teach entrepreneurs to engage in this sometimes tumultuous and risk-laden process? A traditional stand and lecture approach to teaching this complex subject does not always suffice, and many professors are finding that students benefit more from hands-on experiences. By engaging and acting, students can own their knowledge and progress beyond an intellectual understanding of the subject. This book offers sixty-five experiential exercises, each designed to be applicable to the entrepreneurial process. These cross-disciplinary exercises vary in scale from single-class activities to course projects or yearlong capstones. Learning objectives are clearly defined so that instructors can incorporate the book's exercises, games, simulations and demonstrations into their syllabi. Whether classes are basic, intermediate or advanced, instructors can use the exercises to engage their students and help them develop as creatively-minded entrepreneurs.Entrepreneurship professors seeking experiential exercises to incorporate into their teaching will find this book of value.

Price : £23.96
Format : Print

Essentials of Entrepreneurship examines all phases of the entrepreneurial process: generating ideas for something new and better than what currently exists, determining whether these ideas suggest viable business opportunities, identifying and obtaining the financial and human resources required, securing intellectual property protection, launching the new venture, developing strategies for gaining and maintaining competitive advantage, and building a customer base. In discussing these and other topics, the text draws on research findings that help identify variables that play a role in entrepreneurs' effective performance of these tasks, and so-ultimately-in their success. New to the second edition: * Two brand new chapters, addressing the issues facing the next generation of entrepreneurs: * how to achieve long-term success through maintaining growth with sustainable business goals * the emerging trends to look out for, including the gig economy and technological advances.* New updated case studies place entrepreneurial theory into practice, identifying how others can take inspiration from them. Updated cases and examples include Pets.com; aeroponic farming; Martha Stewart Living; the amphicar and social networks.* New discussion of non-traditional forms of support such as crowd funding and social media, and their effect on the modern entrepreneur.* Updated chapter on opportunity recognition; why some people are better at it than others and the role of self-regulatory theory, including signal detection theory.* New coverage of the effects of business failure, including the role of psychological capital and how successful serial entrepreneurs learn from their failures and mistakes.* Updated coverage of the government regulation and legislation affecting new ventures.Presenting a concise and current overview of entrepreneurship and assuming no previous knowledge, this text is ideal for use in any undergraduate or MBA level entrepreneurship course, whether within a business school or any other discipline.

Price : £153.00
Format : Print

This comprehensive Handbook summarizes existing work and presents new concepts and empirical results from leading scholars in the multidisciplinary field of behavioral and cognitive geography, the study of the human mind, and activity in and concerning space, place, and environment. It provides the broadest and most inclusive coverage of the field so far, including work relevant to human geography, cartography, and geographic information science.Behavioral and cognitive geography originated as a contrast to aggregate approaches to human geography that treat people as homogenous and interchangeable; to models of human activity based on simplistic and psychologically implausible assumptions; and to conceptualizations of humans as passive responders to their environment. This Handbook is highly multi- and interdisciplinary, featuring scholars from geography, geographic information science, and more than ten other academic disciplines; including: psychology, linguistics, computer science, engineering, architecture and planning, anthropology, and neuroscience. The contributors adhere to scientific rigor in their approach, while fully engaging with issues of emotion, subjectivity, consciousness, and human variability.Thoroughly informed by the history of geography and of the cognitive sciences but also providing guideposts for future research and application, this Handbook will be an essential resource for researchers, lecturers and students in geography, psychology, and other social, behavioral, cognitive, and design sciences.

Price : £162.00
Format : Print

It is now over 50 years since the term 'gentrification' was first coined by the British urbanist Ruth Glass in 1964, in which time gentrification studies has become a subject in its own right. This Handbook, the first ever in gentrification studies, is a critical and authoritative assessment of the field. Although the Handbook does not seek to rehearse the classic literature on gentrification from the 1970s to the 1990s in detail, it is referred to in the new assessments of the field gathered in this volume. The original chapters offer an important dialogue between existing theory and new conceptualisations of gentrification for new times and new places, in many cases offering novel empirical evidence.Scholarly contributions are drawn from both established and up and coming experts in gentrification studies world-wide, and a deliberate attempt has been made to broaden the geographical scope of study. As such, the Handbook covers processes of gentrification in the global north and the global south. It also looks at different mutations of gentrification and pays proper attention to both resistance to gentrification and the importance of thinking about alternatives. The Handbook challenges readers to look at both the future of gentrification studies as well as the actual process of gentrification itself.Gentrification studies is interdisciplinary and this Handbook will be especially useful to scholars in many fields including geography, sociology, anthropology, planning, law, urban studies, policy studies, rural studies, development studies, and cultural studies. It will also be of value to those activists fighting gentrification worldwide.

Price : £265.50
Format : Print

This volume presents a compilation of key papers chronicling the evolution of the economics of information into the economics of knowledge. It traces the unfolding of the fertile ambiguity and ambivalence of the notion of information with the identification and eventual separation of its two basic, quite distinct meanings: knowledge and signals. It documents the progressive understanding that it is not only necessary to search, screen and understand signals, but also to assess and select them so as to distinguish between true, false and fake ones. The capability to process signals and transform them into actual information stems from the stock of competence and knowledge that individuals and organizations possess and mobilize. Together with an original introduction by the editor, this collection will be an indispensable research tool for economists and scholars alike.

Price : £72.00
Format : Print

Ludger Pries explores the important moral, social and political challenge facing Europe and the international community: the protection of refugees as one of the most vulnerable groups on the planet.Combining an in-depth analysis of current research, own empirical studies in several European countries, and a critical review of the policies of nation-states as well as international and transnational organizations, the author analyses the 2015 so-called refugee crisis and its continuing impact. Who are the refugees, how and why did they come? Which parts of civil society were actively involved and why? What are the future responsibilities of the state for arriving refugees and their successful integration? This book examines the limitations of structural settings with perspectives on collective actors' behaviour and strategies. Offering a critical view on the historical embedding of the refugee issue, as well as the current and future challenges for Europe, Pries provides an insightful overview of all aspects of the so-called European refugee crisis and its aftermath. Refugees, Civil Society and the State merges perspectives from political science and international relations with international humanitarian law, the sociology of migration and action theory. Scholars, journalists and political actors who want to further understand the ongoing challenge of refugee protection will greatly benefit from the distinguished author's research.

Price : £94.50
Format : Print

This collection of original research chapters by international scholars addresses the complementary roles of transportation and knowledge and their spatial manifestations in modern urban and regional economies. The featured studies employ the most current and sophisticated technologies, while the authors add a strong element of practical application and policy implications in each chapter.The book is organized into four major themes. The first is infrastructure and economic growth, addressing the historical and contemporary economic impacts of rail, highway and transit infrastructure. The second theme, models for transportation planning and policy, includes methods for optimal toll setting and the effect of transport costs on interregional trade. The third theme, which is the spatial structure of cities, examines processes that drive and arise from urban form, including personal interaction, shopping, commuting and residential location. The fourth theme is transformations in the knowledge economy, including growing income inequality and the role of knowledge in urban dynamics. This book will be of interest to the research communities in urban and regional economics and planning, regional science, transportation studies and the knowledge economy. With its emphasis on practical aspects, it will also be of interest to the policy community.