Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 1 - Nov 2017): Risk Management

Gary Gastineau and Mark Kritzman team up once again for the third edition of this classic reference tool designed for financial analysts and managers. Anyone involved in financial risk management must have a proper understanding of the words, terms, and phrases used in this fast paced field-and Dictionary of Financial Risk Management clearly provides that understanding. Risk management terminology is a part of almost any financial operation, including cash, forwards/futures, swaps, options-and is found in many disciplines: probability and statistics, tax and financial accounting, and law. The vocabulary of the risk manager continues to expand with the creation of new products and new concepts. This volume carefully defines and illustrates all the words and phrases that financial professionals need to know and understand. The Dictionary of Financial Risk Management includes listings of common acronyms, profit/loss diagrams of new financial instruments, and extensive coverage of derivatives and quantitative techniques. This invaluable reference guide provides comprehensive definitions of the key terms and concepts that many financial professionals need to know on a day-to-day basis.

Author of the acclaimed work Iceberg Risk: An Adventure in Portfolio Theory, Kent Osband argues that uncertainty is central rather than marginal to finance. Markets don't trade mainly on changes in risk. They trade on changes in beliefs about risk, and in the process, markets unite, stretch, and occasionally defy beliefs. Recognizing this truth would make a world of difference in investing. Belittling uncertainty has created a rift between financial theory and practice and within finance theory itself, misguiding regulation and stoking huge financial imbalances. Sparking a revolution in the mindset of the investment professional, Osband recasts the market as a learning machine rather than a knowledge machine. The market continually errs, corrects itself, and makes new errors. Respecting that process, without idolizing it, will promote wiser investment, trading, and regulation. With uncertainty embedded at its core, Osband's rational approach points to a finance theory worthy of twenty-first-century investing.

This work compresses much of the established literature on risk and investment-business strategy. While it may not offer new direction, it succeeds in bringing together the perspectives of international finance, rooted in country risk analysis, with those of broader social science. It focuses the reader's attention on the political and social forces directly impacting on business operations. This, this book serves as an excellent literature review for academics, and helps the strategic planner in business get a grip on the political risk literature from a multidisciplinary perspective. It deserves a prominent place in the political risk/international business environment literature. The International Executive

Listed as one of the 30 Best Business Books of 2002 by Executive Book Summaries Proactive Risk Management'sunique approach provides a model of risk that is scalable to any size project or program and easily deployable into any product development or project management life cycle. It offers methods for identifying drivers (causes) of risks so you can manage root causes rather than the symptoms of risks. Providing you with an appropriate quantification of the key factors of a risk allows you to prioritize those risks without introducing errors that render the numbers meaningless. This book stands apart from much of the literature on project risk management in its practical, easy-to-use, fact-based approach to managing all of the risks associated with a project. The depth of actual how-to information and techniques provided here is not available anywhere else.

The use of derivative products in risk management has spread from commodities, stocks and fixed income items, to such virtual commodities as energy, weather and bandwidth. All this can give rise to so-called volatility and there has been a consequent development in formal risk management techniques to cover all types of risk: market, credit, liquidity, etc. One of these techniques, Value at Risk, was developed specifically to help manage market risk over short periods. Its success led, somewhat controversially, to its take up and extension to credit risk over longer time-scales. This extension, ultimately not successful, led to the collapse of a number of institutions. The present book, which was originally published in 2002, by some of the leading figures in risk management, examines the complex issues that concern the stability of the global financial system by presenting a mix of theory and practice.

Risk management is the discipline of identifying, monitoring and limiting risks. In some cases, the acceptable risk may be near zero. Risks can come from accidents, natural causes and disasters as well as deliberate attacks from an adversary. In businesses, risk management entails organised activity to manage uncertainty and threats and involves people following procedures and using tools in order to ensure conformance with risk-management policies. Risk management is also used in the public sector to identify and mitigate risk to critical infrastructure. Some traditional risk management programs are focused on risks stemming from physical or legal causes (e.g. natural disasters or fires, accidents, ergonomics, death and lawsuits). Financial risk management, on the other hand, focuses on risks that can be managed using traded financial instruments. In ideal risk management, a prioritisation process is followed whereby the risks with the greatest loss and the greatest probability of occurring are handled first, and risks with lower probability of occurrence and lower loss are handled in descending order. This book gathers the latest research from around the globe in this field.

This book reflects the trend in industry toward an increased focus on risk management in insurance. Combining both the theoretical and practical, it explores what today's risk managers need to know.

2002 Collection of papers on financial risk analysis, addressing the weaknesses of Value at Risk theory.

The use of derivative products in risk management has spread from commodities, stocks and fixed income items, to such virtual commodities as energy, weather and bandwidth. All this can give rise to so-called volatility and there has been a consequent development in formal risk management techniques to cover all types of risk: market, credit, liquidity, etc. One of these techniques, Value at Risk, was developed specifically to help manage market risk over short periods. Its success led, somewhat controversially, to its take up and extension to credit risk over longer time-scales. This extension, ultimately not successful, led to the collapse of a number of institutions. The present book, which was originally published in 2002, by some of the leading figures in risk management, examines the complex issues that concern the stability of the global financial system by presenting a mix of theory and practice.

The author outlines the reasons why management risk must be examined within the perspective of each company's business challenges. He suggests there is a synergy between shareholder value and business ethics. He also underlines the importance of honesty, the risks associated with short-sighted management and over-centralisation, the benefits of innovative strategies and senior management's accountability for reliable financial reporting. The text is based on an extensive research project done by the author between 2000 and 2002 in the US, the UK, France, Italy and Switzerland.

This text on risk management is designed to improve on the risk management ability of managers. Risk is present in all business environments and it is the responsibility of all managers to manage risk properly. This is done in order to reduce its impact on company profit. Risk management creates a new study environment. It creates awareness about the various risks which can disrupt the smooth running of most business ventures and other organisations. Risk management when applied efficiently and effectively, helps to maximise shareholders' wealth. Managers must note that risk is managed most, when investment is carried out in the form of a portfolio. Investment in single assets may only reduce risk, when hedging is implemented by the manager. This text offers diversity in terms of risk management. It provides risk management procedures in a commercial, banking, industrial and agricultural environment.

This practical handbook covers health and safety issues for the primary care practitioner, including what is meant by risk, who is at risk and why the establishment of a risk management policy should be a priority.

Discusses the safety and risk management in the nuclear power, airline and chemical industries. Recognized experts presented papers at the Risk Management Symposium on such topics as risk management control systems, airline industry safety and power plant applications of PRA.

Risk Management Handbook for Health Care Organizations, Student Edition is a complete introductory textbook on risk management in health care, incorporating all the basic elements of risk management as it relates to health care finance, quality, management, law, and regulatory compliance. In 24 concise chapters, this comprehensive introduction provides a perfect overview to prepare students, or working professionals in health care or law, enter the field of health care risk management and patient safety. Readers will be provided an understanding of general risk management techniques; standards of health care risk management administration; federal, state and local laws; and methods for integrating patient safety and enterprise risk management into a comprehensive risk management program. Each chapter will have key points, standardized introduction, list of key terms, and discussion questions. A separate downloadable instructors? manual will have additional support tools for the instructor. Chapter topics include: Enterprise Risk Management in Health Care ? The Basics Health Care Legal Concepts Governance of the Health Care Organization Development of a Risk Management Program The Health Care Risk Management Professional Risk Management Metrics Ethics in Patient Care Interpersonal Communication Skills: The Ultimate Loss Control Technique Physician and Allied Health Professionals Credentialing Documentation and the Medical Record Basic Claims Administration A Contract Review Primer for Risk Management Information Technologies and Risk Management Health Information Management Introduction to Risk Financing Insurance: Basic Principles and Coverages Organizational Staffing Emergency Management Occupational Safety , Health ad Environmental Impairment: A Brief Overview Early Warning Systems for the Identification Organizational Patient Safety and the Risk Management Professional Risk Management?s Role in Performance Improvement The Risk management Professional and Medication Safety

This comprehensive textbook provides a complete introduction to risk management in health care. Risk Management Handbook, Student Edition, covers general risk management techniques; standards of health care risk management administration; federal, state and local laws; and methods for integrating patient safety and enterprise risk management into a comprehensive risk management program. The Student Edition is applicable to all health care settings including acute care hospital to hospice, and long term care. Written for students and those new to the topic, each chapter highlights key points and learning objectives, lists key terms, and offers questions for discussion. An instructor's supplement with cases and other material is also available.

This comprehensive textbook provides a complete introduction to risk management in health care. Risk Management Handbook, Student Edition, covers general risk management techniques; standards of health care risk management administration; federal, state and local laws; and methods for integrating patient safety and enterprise risk management into a comprehensive risk management program. The Student Edition is applicable to all health care settings including acute care hospital to hospice, and long term care. Written for students and those new to the topic, each chapter highlights key points and learning objectives, lists key terms, and offers questions for discussion. An instructor's supplement with cases and other material is also available.

At a time when corporate scandals and major financial failures dominate newspaper headlines, the importance of good risk management practices has never been more obvious. The absence or mismanagement of such practices can have devastating effects on exposed organizations and the wider economy (Barings Bank, Enron, Lehmann Brothers, Northern Rock, to name but a few). Today's organizations and corporate leaders must learn the lessons of such failures by developing practices to deal effectively with risk. This book is an important step towards this end. Written from a European perspective, it brings together ideas, concepts and practices developed in various risk markets and academic fields to provide a much-needed overview of different approaches to risk management. It critiques prevailing enterprise risk management frameworks (ERMs) and proposes a suitable alternative. Combining academic rigour and practical experience, this is an important resource for graduate students and professionals concerned with strategic risk management.