Using your Library: Library Catalogue

Using Search Form

The using search form lest you initiate a search on an index of headings.

Using the advance search from

The advance search form lets you initiate a keyword search on the bibliographic index. We display an example of a Bibliographic advance Search form

Bibliographic advance search text box - The text box in which you type the search term. The maximum length of the text that you can type is determined by the library. There may be up to four keyword search text boxes in the search form. In addition to search terms, you can use the following symbols in the bibliographic keyword search text box:

?   - Indicates a single-character wild card.

*    - Indicates a multiple-character wild card.

""   - Encloses one or more terms to signify a phrase search.

Note: If you enter multiple terms in a single text box without enclosing them in quotation marks, the terms will be connected with an implicit AND operator, meaning that both terms must exist somewhere in an indexed field.

Bibliographic field category pull-down list box - The list box from which you choose a bibliographic keyword category to search. There is one keyword category pull-down list box for each keyword search text box.

Operator pull-down list box - The list box from which you choose an operator to connect the terms entered in multiple keyword search text boxes.

Search button - The button that you click to initiate the search.

Reset button - The button that you click to reset the search form to its original values. When you submit a search query by clicking the Search button, the iPortal sends the search to the server for the selected database.

Using the Keyword Search Form to Search for

Control Numbers

 You can use the Bibliographic Keyword Search form to search for control numbers, such as ISSN, ISBN, and LCCN numbers.

To search for a control number,

1. In the first search text box, type the control number for which you want to search.

2. In the associated search type pull-down list box, choose a control number search type, such as Item ID.

3. Click the Submit button.

Note:

When searching for a control number, use only the first text field of the search form, and do NOT join it with a keyword or another control number.

Control number searches return only exact matches. Keyword search options such as truncation, wild cards, and grouping are NOT available with a control number search.

Filters (other than location) do not affect the result set of a control number search

Please contact Mr Mihir Ranjan Panda (mihir.panda@iimb.ernet.in) in case you need any help in using the online catalogue