Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 21 - May 2018): Management / Strategy

Publisher : Portfolio

Publisher : Harvard Business Review Press

You have more information at hand about your business environment than ever before. But are you using it to "out-think" your rivals? If not, you may be missing out on a potent competitive tool. In Competing on Analytics: The New Science of Winning, Thomas H. Davenport and Jeanne G. Harris argue that the frontier for using data to make decisions has shifted dramatically. Certain high-performing enterprises are now building their competitive strategies around data-driven insights that in turn generate impressive business results. Their secret weapon? Analytics: sophisticated quantitative and statistical analysis and predictive modeling. Exemplars of analytics are using new tools to identify their most profitable customers and offer them the right price, to accelerate product innovation, to optimize supply chains, and to identify the true drivers of financial performance. A wealth of examples--from organizations as diverse as Amazon, Barclay's, Capital One, Harrah's, Procter & Gamble, Wachovia, and the Boston Red Sox--illuminate how to leverage the power of analytics.

Publisher : Oxford University Press

Written by leading subject expert Christine Mallin, Corporate Governance combines clear, straightforward coverage of theory with a wealth of topical examples of corporate governance to introduce students to both the essential principles of the subject and how they apply in practice. Extracts from the Financial Times, case studies, and questions for discussion ensure the reader can relate key ideas and concepts to the real world of business, management, and finance. In addition, broad coverage of international attitudes and approaches to governance allow students to develop amore complete understanding of business issues on a global scale. The book is accompanied by an Online Resource Centre which includes: For students: * Corporate Governance blog* Fill-in-the-blank questions* Web links* Crosswords of key terms For lecturers:* Additional case studies * PowerPoint slides

Publisher : John Wiley & Sons

Fast track route to creating lasting business value through the entrepreneurial management of start-ups, buy-outs and corporate ventures Covers the key areas of enterprise, from understanding entrepreneurial management and aligning the interests of investors and entrepreneurs to choosing your exit route and maximizing your return Examples and lessons from some of the world′s most enterprising companies, including Michael Bloomberg′s recipe for selling your way to the top, Jurgen Klein′s Jurlique and Sherry Leigh Coutou′s Interactive Investor International. Plus ideas from the smartest thinkers and practitioners including Max Boisot, Neil Churchill, Peter Drucker, Josh Lerner, Will Schmidt and Howard Stevenson Includes a glossary of key concepts and a comprehensive resources guide

Publisher : John Wiley & Sons

A cliche it may be but we are living in ever more turbulent times. Business decision-making has become more challenging and unpredictable than ever: we see unforeseen and often cataclysmic changes in consumer demand, both at home and in export markets; customers continue to demand more, more quickly and for less; new laws and regulations abound; competitors steal loyal customers; and, increasingly, the advice that once could be found from a ′Small Business Adviser′ has been replaced by a call centre. Hand in hand with these challenges, the risks associated with expansion, or a new strategy, have grown significantly. In the context of a small business, where a manager has not necessarily had the breadth of experience of someone in a larger organization or formal management learning, they can seem extremely daunting. This book addresses the issues confronting managers/owners of SMEs by providing practical, jargon-free advice on which a SME can create a sound platform from which to prosper. ∗ Uncomplicated and jargon free to appeal to the SME director or manager who has little time to read ∗ Can be used as a continuous read or a source of ides for dealing with the day-to-day problems of running and growing a small business ∗ Based on the practical experience of the authors with examples taken from consulting practice

Publisher : Harvard Business Review Press

A year's worth of management wisdom, all in one place. We've examined the ideas, insights, and best practices from the past year of Harvard Business Review to bring you the latest, most significant thinking driving business today. With authors from Marcus Buckingham to Herminia Ibarra and company examples from Google to Deloitte, this volume brings the most current and important management conversations to your fingertips. This book will inspire you to: Tap into the new technologies that are changing the way businesses compete Fuel performance by redesigning your organization's practices around feedback Learn techniques to move beyond intuition for better decision making Understand why your strategy execution isn't working--and how to fix it Lead with authenticity by moving beyond your comfort zone Transform your physical office space to promote creativity and productivity This collection of best-selling articles includes: "Reinventing Performance Management," by Marcus Buckingham and Ashley Goodall "The Transparency Trap," by Ethan Bernstein "Profits Without Prosperity," by William Lazonick "Outsmart Your Own Biases," by Jack B. Soll, Katherine L. Milkman, and John W. Payne "The 3-D Printing Revolution," by Richard D'Aveni "Why Strategy Execution Unravels--and What to Do About It," by Donald Sull, Rebecca Homkes, and Charles Sull "The Authenticity Paradox," by Herminia Ibarra "The Discipline of Business Experimentation," by Stefan Thomke and Jim Manzi "When Senior Managers Won't Collaborate," by Heidi K. Gardner "Workspaces That Move People," by Ben Waber, Jennifer Magnolfi, and Greg Lindsay "Digital Ubiquity: How Connections, Sensors, and Data Are Revolutionizing Business," by Marco Iansiti and Karim R. Lakhani

Publisher :

Businesses often find themselves trapped in a competitive dogfight, scratching and clawing for market share with products consumers view as largely undifferentiated. Conventional wisdom suggests that dogfights are to be expected as marketplaces mature, giving rise to the notion that there are "bad" industries where it is unlikely that any company can succeed. But there are notable exceptions in which enlightened executives have changed the rules to grasp the holy grail of business: long-term profitable growth. Rather than joining the dogfights raging within their industry, companies such as Apple, FedEx, and Starbucks have chosen to become metaphorical cats, continuously renewing their distinctive strategies to compete on their own terms. In If You're in a Dogfight, Become a Cat, Leonard Sherman draws on four decades of experience in management consulting, venture capital, and teaching business strategy at Columbia Business School to share practical advice on two of the most vexing issues facing business executives: why is it so hard to achieve long-term profitable growth, and what can companies do to break away from the pack? Sherman takes the reader on a provocative journey through the building blocks of business strategy by challenging conventional wisdom on a number of questions that will redefine management best practices: * What should be the overarching purpose of your business?* Do you really know what your strategy is?* Is there such a thing as a bad industry?* Where do great ideas come from and how do I find them?* What makes products meaningfully different?* What makes and breaks great brands?* How and when should I disrupt my own company?* What are the imperatives to achieving long-term profitable growth? Filled with dozens of illustrative examples of inspiring successes and dispiriting falls from grace, this book provides deep insights on how to become the cat in a dogfight, whether you are a CEO, mid-level manager, aspiring business school student, or curious observer interested in achieving sustained profitable growth.

Publisher : Edward Elgar Publishing

The Landscape of Family Business expands upon groundbreaking research to offer owners, consultants, and academics a new holistic way to view family business.What are the important outcomes in family business? What are the relationships among those outcomes? And, what does an overall pattern of outcome relationships reveal about family business? Based on 12 years of family business research, this book presents answers to these questions in the form of a Map of the Landscape of Family Business. In addition, leading scholars provide reviews and make recommendations to researchers and practitioners about each of the seven clusters revealed in the map - Governance, Performance, Social and Economic Impact, Strategy, Family Dynamics, Family Business Roles, and Succession.Clear and concise, with a focus on relationships in family business, this insightful book is both an enjoyable and informative read and will prove to be an asset to every bookshelf. Scholars, academics and family business owners and managers are sure to find The Landscape of Family Business an invaluable resource.

Publisher : Oxford University Press

Managerial Economics: Principles and Worldwide Applications, 7e, is designed for the standard undergraduate and graduate courses in managerial economics in most business and some economic programs. It offers complete coverage of all topics usually encountered in actual managerial decision making. This seventh edition includes new sections, new case studies, some of which are India based, and five new longer Indian integrated case studies. In addition, the existing case studies, supplementary readings, and Internet site addresses have been revised.

Publisher : Organization for Economic Cooperation & Development

The biennial OECD Digital Economy Outlook examines and documents evolutions and emerging opportunities and challenges in the digital economy. It highlights how OECD countries and partner economies are taking advantage of information and communication technologies (ICTs) and the Internet to meet their public policy objectives. Through comparative evidence, it informs policy makers of regulatory practices and policy options to help maximise the potential of the digital economy as a driver for innovation and inclusive growth.