Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 18 - May 2018): General Management

Publisher : Edward Elgar

Elgar Advanced Introductions are stimulating and thoughtful introductions to major fields in the social sciences and law, expertly written by the world's leading scholars. Designed to be accessible yet rigorous, they offer concise and lucid surveys of the substantive and policy issues associated with discrete subject areas.Hans Landström's book provides a comprehensive understanding of entrepreneurial finance from the entrepreneur and investor's perspectives. With a unique research-based focus, he synthesizes contemporary knowledge and presents diverse theoretical approaches to explain financial decision-making in entrepreneurial ventures. This Advanced Introduction analyses the financial problems facing the diverse range of entrepreneurial projects taking into consideration the changing nature of entrepreneurial ventures today. In particular, this work focuses on the demand for finance and financial decisions taken by entrepreneurs in new and growing ventures. In addition, it includes a detailed discussion of the supply of capital from debt-capital providers, like banks and microfinance organizations, and equity-capital providers, such as crowd investors, business angels and venture capitalists. It concludes by considering the characteristics of financial markets for entrepreneurial finance, examining both financial gaps and public interventions.Key features include: * a strong focus on the entrepreneur's perspective in entrepreneurial finance, yet also a discussion on the supply of capital for ventures from different capital providers such as governments, banks, crowd investors, business angels and venture capitalists * synthesized contemporary knowledge on entrepreneurial finance to provide a comprehensive, accessible understanding* a starting point for entrepreneurship studies, with a focus on young and growing ventures.This is ideal for advanced students and scholars in entrepreneurship, innovation, finance and business. Policy-makers interested in financial issues in young and growing ventures will also find this Advanced Introduction a useful tool for exploring financial decision-making from an entrepreneur's perspective.

Publisher : Stanford Business Books

As economic growth slows in the developed world, the base of the pyramid (BoP) represents perhaps the last great, untapped market. Of the world's 7 billion inhabitants, around 4 billion live in low-income markets in the developing world. These 4 billion people deserve--and, increasingly, are demanding--better lives. At the same time, the business community seeks new opportunities for growth, and the development community is striving to increase its impact. With these forces converging, the potential for mutual value creation is tremendous. This book provides a roadmap for realizing that potential. Drawing on over 25 years of experience across some eighty countries, Ted London offers concrete guidelines for how to build better enterprises while simultaneously alleviating poverty. He outlines three key components that must be integrated to achieve results: the lived experiences of enterprises to date--both successes and failures; the development of an ecosystem that is conducive to market creation; and the voices of the poor, so that entrants can truly understand what poverty alleviation is about. London provides aspiring market leaders and their stakeholders with the tools and techniques needed to succeed in the unique, opportunity-rich BoP.

Publisher : Hachette Books

Publisher : Gower

Every day human organisations fail. Building Anti-Fragile Organisations explores a powerful alternative framework for risk in the design and management of human systems. Anti-Fragility is a new way of thinking about mitigating risk that builds on earlier work on the characteristics of biological systems that, being more than just robust, actually improve their resilience through being stressed. Professor Bendell explains how applying this concept to the development and management of organisations, services and products, allows us to identify the characteristics that will not only mitigate against the realisation of hazards, but enable growth in protection, strength and anti-fragility over time. In this context, anti-fragility also encompasses flexibility, agility and the exploitation of opportunities. At the organisational level, anti-fragility (or its absence) is determined by the organisational strategy, structure and systems, its people, relationships and culture. The book focuses on establishing the Anti-Fragile concept of the firm, and explores its application in private and public sector organisations of all types. It identifies characteristics relevant to survival in a turbulent world, and how our approaches to risk and governance need to change in order to create and manage anti-fragile organisations. It provides practical insight into the concept of Anti-Fragility and its deployment within human organisations of all types, and give readers the opportunity to start to make sense to applying the concepts within their own worlds.

Publisher : Edward Elgar

This book provides approachable and insightful chapters that summarize state-of-the-art thinking and research on alliances and networks. Contributions by leading scholars cover foundations or fundamentals as well as frontier areas through a diverse range of perspectives. Topics include:* the theoretical foundations of collaborative strategy* firms' partner selection and investment decisions* contractual foundations of collaboration* relational and behavioral aspects of collaboration, networks and portfolios* novel collaborative relationships such as ecosystems and public-private partnerships, and the consequences of inter-organizational collaborations.For doctoral and masters students, as well as managers new to the area of collaborative strategy, this collection provides concise chapters and literature reviews that make it an invaluable resource. Business practitioners and consultants who want to learn about this area and the underlying theory will also find this book a useful reference.

Publisher : Oldenbourg

Always having the right expression at the ready! Communication in Business will teach you the right words for both oral and written communication. If you are already working and want to improve your communication skills in English, Communication in Business may serve as the latest reference book. Whether you want to start preparing for the world of work or for learning at home alongside a full-time career Communication in Business will help you to gain an insight into how to communicate effectively, correctly and in a modern way in the most important situations in everyday business. Accompanied by the essential background information on commerce and foreign trade, Communication in Business covers the following domains: oral communication on the phone, at meetings and presentations or on visits to business partners, and written communication in the form of emails, letters and job applications.

Publisher : New York

Really new products and services are scarce, yet the need for them is huge. That's why Innovation is an important managerial instrument - but many of us struggle with how to approach it. Gijs van Wulfen's Creating Innovative Products and Services is an essential read for anyone involved in new product or service design, brand development, new business development or organizational development because it 'unfuzzies' the front end of innovation with practical tools, effective checklists and an inspiring innovation route map. Gijs van Wulfen explains how to: ¢ Build a committed ideation team, compile a concrete innovation assignment and identify opportunities; ¢ Explore trends, technology and potential customers, then choose the most positive opportunities and customer insights to transfer to the next step - raise ideas; ¢ Develop twelve new promising innovative product or service concepts; ¢ Check the concepts in qualitative research among potential clients and improve them; ¢ Work the best into a tangible mini business case per product idea, and present them for decision making and adoption in the regular stage gate development process. The effective 5-step FORTH method presented in this book, will jump start your product and service innovations. The success of this practical approach is highlighted in a case study of one of the largest insurance companies in The Netherlands: Univé VGZ IZA Trias and is suitable for both business-to-consumer and business-to-business markets. Creating Innovative Products and Services has been written for directors, managers, advisors and innovation specialists in organisations who are responsible for, or involved in, product innovation. In it you will find practical guidance through every stage.

Publisher : Routledge

Pierre Wack was head of scenario planning at Royal Dutch / Shell Oil in London for just over ten years. He died in 1997. He was a pioneer of what we know today as scenario planning - an alternative and complement to strategic planning. Scenarios explore a variety of possible futures for examining decisions in organizational planning. Pierre was a unique man with interests in Indian and Japanese cultures and traditions. He travelled extensively and led a unique life that involved long periods of visiting gurus in India and extended sabbaticals in Japan. His experiences with Eastern thought no doubt shaped his ability to evolve the scenario method at Shell, and as a result he was able to lead a team that foresaw the oil crises of the 1970's and 80's. This new volume will cover the basic context of his life timeline and attach it to the development of his thinking about scenario planning over the course of his career. After his death, Wack's materials, papers and documents were collected by Napier Collyns and have recently been made available at the University of Oxford where the Pierre Wack Memorial Library has been established. These documents contain a variety of clues and stories that reveal more about who Pierre Wack was, how he thought and will provide details about scenario planning that have never been seen or published. They also reveal a curious man and include a timeline written by his wife, Eve, which details their relationship over the course of 40 years. Written for management and business historians and researchers, this book will uncover unseen contributions by a scenario planning pioneer shaped by significant events in his personal life that helped him to see the world differently.

Publisher : Gower

The modern consumer is no longer attracted by single-minded, predictable and one-benefit-focused brand promises. The old-fashioned FMCG communication strategies based on television, radio and print with constant repetition have become outdated. From Great to Gone shows that what¿s needed are ¿Lego¿ strategies, whereby the marketing and communication strategies are built up by many key facets (like building blocks) and delivered to the consumer through a mix of various touch points. Most importantly, you need to leave consumers to put all of that together themselves. There are major internal and external hurdles to transforming FMCGs successfully into FICGs - Fast Innovating Consumer Goods. It requires new brand strategies and flatter, more top-down than bottom-up, decision-making organisations and a 21st-century model for advertising agencies. Externally these companies need a new route to market through transformation of their old retail dependencies. Changes are also required in all communication delivery, reflecting modern consumers¿ connectivity and unlimited access to information. In the book the authors showcase what the winners of the 21st century have in common that has enabled them to become FICGs. New, unimagined models continue emerge, to which, with the authors¿ guidance producers and retailers may develop their own sustainable responses.

Publisher : Springer

This book provides readers an in-depth understanding of the inner mechanisms and principles of the global supply chain. Authored by the Head of Supply Chain and Transport Industries at the World Economic Forum, it draws on a wealth of operational and managerial expertise in the global supply chain industry that drive the world's economies. The book analyzes the importance and impact of globally networked sourcing, production and distribution, and presents detailed information on the opportunities, limitations and challenges of linear value and supply chain systems. Building on a series of recent industry cases and with a focus on the latest developments in actual business processes and models, it reveals how the transformation toward circular supply chains and regenerative resource management forms the basis for success and sustainability in business. "The book brings together technical, social, political, and geographical trends, suggesting how supply chain management can lead the quest for many of the world's most pressing challenges."  Yossi Sheffi, Professor of Engineering, MIT, Head, MIT Center for Transportation and Logistics "This book provides an essential roadmap, guiding the reader easily through complex developments and concepts."  John Manners-Bell, CEO Transport Intelligence and Honorary Visiting Professor, Guildhall Business School, London  "With strategic foresight, Lehmacher develops a vision of a circular economy within which consumer, manufacturer and logistics companies assume collective responsibility for sustainable value creation."  Alfred Talke, Group Managing Director ALFRED TALKE Logistic Services  "Those who are active in logistics and supply chain management, in practice or academia, will discover a fresh view on the whole field of activity beyond the day-to-day-business."  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wimmer, Chairman of the Executive Board, BVL International          

Publisher : Routledge

Of all the sciences and social sciences, management is the one that most deliberately turns its back on the past. Yet management as we know it today did not spring into life fully formed. Management has more than just a present; it also has a past, and a future, and all three are inextricably linked. This book charts the evolution of management as an intellectual discipline, from ancient times to the present day. Contemporary management challenges, including sustainability, technology and data, and legitimacy are analysed through an historical lens and with the benefit of new case studies. The author helps readers understand how the evolution of management ideas has interacted with changes in society. By framing management's history as one of challenge and response, this new edition is the perfect accompaniment for students and scholars seeking meaningful study in the business school and beyond. Essential reading as a core textbook in management history, the book is also valuable supplementary reading across the humanities and social sciences.

Publisher : Routledge

This book analyses managerial responses and people management strategies and processes adopted to deal with the challenges imposed by the Global Financial Crisis (GFC). It examines how key actors in the system exercised strategic choices in a given strategic environment, as well as how they responded and developed strategies in this globally integrated industry, in an emerging market context. The book focuses on the nature of strategic choices available to firms in the Indian information technology (IT) and knowledge and business process outsourcing (K and BPO) industry. It looks at how these Indian firms in the IT industry exercise their strategic choices to deal with their routine business and how these routines were changed through learning and investment in certain HR and management practices in times of crisis. Additional insights from other national and industry contexts are also provided for wider coverage of how the GFC-affected organisations frame their responses to deal with it. The book examines the changes in the human resource processes and how organisations adjust their operant business models to deal with the pressures brought about by the crisis.

Publisher : Routledge

In this book Linda Holbeche offers an historical narrative on the changing landscape of work since the 1980s and considers how definitions of organizational effectiveness have changed over time. She considers the characteristics and effects of the neo-liberal work culture of new capitalism, and how HRM practices have contributed to shaping this work culture. Influencing Organizational Effectivenesschallenges mainstream thinking around business strategy, change and organizational effectiveness, and about the roles of HRM and management. While the overall tone of the book is critical, Holbeche argues that HRM can play an active role in giving voice to employees and advancing organizational effectiveness. Grounded in research, this book includes reflective questions, case studies and helpful guidelines to support HRM and organizational development professionals and master's-level students. It illustrates what 'better' might look like and how HRM can contribute to a new definition of effectiveness which is aligned to the needs of modern organizations.

Publisher : CRC Press

Managers and executives who work in international trade and foreign direct investment are acutely aware of the importance of the governmental, intergovernmental, and systemic factors that regulate, facilitate, and/or complicate the conduct of international business (IB). But most managers and executives have limited or no expertise in these factors, which are referred to collectively as the IB environment. Also, because the IB environment is a socio-political-economic construct that is governed by non-business disciplines (which include international relations, international law, sociology, and cultural anthropology), it can be difficult for managers and executives to access usable information on the elements of the IB environment. The International Business Environment: A Handbook for Managers and Executivesaddresses both of these conditions by providing managers and executives with concise and incisive information on each of the elements of the IB environment. The elements covered in the book include tariff and non-tariff barriers, anti-dumping duties, subsidies and countervailing duties, entry and post-entry barriers to foreign direct investment, political risk, the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade and other global instruments, the World Trade Organization and other global mechanisms, regional trade blocs (which include free trade areas and customs unions), bilateral trade and investment agreements, the conflict of laws, dispute settlement mechanisms, and systemic and cultural differences. The book also explains related terms, concepts, principles, and practices. The book relies primarily on original source materials; makes extensive use of examples; and can be used as a text in corporate seminars, executive development programs, and MBA programs.

Publisher : CRC Press

Social entrepreneurship is a revolution occurring around the world today. People from all walks of life are developing and implementing innovative, effective, and sustainable solutions in response to social and environmental challenges. These solutions include products, services, and interventions brought to market by new startups and existing organizations, both for-profit and non-profit. Introduction to Social Entrepreneurshipsummarizes the basic steps and tools needed to understand the challenge you are tackling, develop potential solutions, build a business model, measure, and grow your impact. Featuring case studies and interviews with leaders in the field, this comprehensive guide spans multiple sectors, including health, the environment, education, agriculture, commerce, finance, and retail. Designed for readers of all backgrounds, this book will change the way you look at today's world and what you do about it.

Publisher : Routledge

This book provides a new understanding of the constellations of logics in Japanese management practices in Asia and the West. Through comparative ethnographic case studies in a Japanese multinational corporation (MNC), the book explores the cultural meanings of family, corporation, market and religion logics at each subsidiary's site in Thailand, Taiwan, Belgium and the United States. In doing so, the book defines cultural space through an institutional logic approach. It argues that logics are culturally interpreted, which can impose a serious limitation on the institutional logic approach based on the analysis of Western society. It reveals that Japanese 'family' logics and Theravada Buddhism in Asia are strengthening each other and this directly supports the presupposition of amplification. It further elaborates on the ongoing constellations of logics that are continuously formed in relation to geographical contexts. The book also explains that the boundaries of organisational communities are not automatically formed by Japanese expatriates but constructed through actors' profiles, which, in turn, raises their importance. Therefore, this book is a must-read for researchers, managers and anyone interested in Japanese MNCs.

Publisher : Routledge

A leader's role in the management of change is a critical issue for successful outcomes of strategic initiatives. Globalization and economic instability have prompted an increase in organizational changes related to downsizing and restructuring in order to improve financial performance and organizational competitiveness. Researchers agree that a leader's inability to fully understand what is needed in order to guide their organization through successful change can be a reason for failure. Proper planning and management of change can reduce the likelihood of failure, promote change effectiveness, and increase employee engagement. Yet, change in organizations must be viewed as a continuous activity that affects both organizational and individual outcomes. If change management can be considered as an event induced by socio-cultural factors, the cultural variable gains greater significance when applied to the quality of the relationship between a leader and their team. Many organizations today are on the verge of internationalization. It is here that the cultural context can affect behaviors and, in the same way, leadership style. The research presented in this book by an eminent group of scholars explores the influence of culture - ethnic, regional, religious - on how leaders manage change within organizations.

Publisher : Routledge

For many organizations, the word strategy conjures up endless ideas, concepts and tools - while the intent is correct, the awful reality is most companies do not have a simple, common definition of strategy or a simple approach to make the big decisions. Too many PowerPoints, not enough one pagers that can be put into practice. The lack of a common approach to strategy frustrates executives, creates conflict where there is none, fast-tracks dubious alternatives, lengthens decision-making and hampers the quality of the decisions that finally emerge. With the pace of change and mountain of data that inundates CEOs and executive teams daily, now more than ever, leaders need to simplify and have a common approach to making decisions that concern the purpose and path of their organization. Strategic thinking cannot be outsourced. Tim Lewko's Making Big Decisions Better explains the bare bone elements that must underpin strategic decision making in a practical framework that C-Suite leaders can actually use. Drawing on practical models, stories and client examples, he explains the problem succinctly, offers proven ways forward and provides specific actions to revive strategic thinking, de-clutter the strategy process and drive better financial outcomes. This is essential reading for managers, business leaders and anyone interested in a framework for decision-making that is thorough, adaptable and highly practical.

Publisher : Routledge Taylor and Francis Group

The field of management consultancy research has grown rapidly in recent years. Fuelled by the drivers of complexity and uncertainty, a growing number of organizations - both profit and third sector alike - are looking at management consultancy to assist in their aims for development and change. Consultants have become a common feature in organizational change initiatives, involved in both providing advice and in implementing ideas and solutions. However, despite this growing recognition and influence, management consultancy is still often misunderstood or criticized for its lack of theoretical underpinning. The book seeks to address these issues by offering applied theoretical insights from academics that both teach and practice management consultancy. Written by recognized experts in their field, the contributors combine original insights with authoritative analysis. Uniquely, this book identifies emerging themes with critical discourse and provides rich empirical case study evidence to show the reader how management consultancy projects are implemented. Real-world international consultancy projects are featured as written up cases featuring organizations from multi-national corporations to the public sector. Written for graduate level managers or those who have practical leadership experience, this book will enable readers to apply management consultancy models beyond a classroom context

Publisher : Routledge

In today's global business environment, it is vital that individuals and organizations have sophisticated global leadership skills. Communication and understanding of different cultures is paramount to business success. This new edition of the bestselling textbook, Managing Cultural Differences, guides students and practitioners to an understanding of how to do business internationally, providing practical advice on how competitive advantage can be gained through effective cross-cultural management. Crises in the Middle East, the weakening of some emerging markets, and the value of diversity and inclusion are just a few examples of contemporary issues discussed in this text, which also introduces a completely new chapter on global business ethics. With a wealth of new examples, case studies, and online materials, this textbook is required course reading for undergraduates, postgraduates, and MBA students alike, as well as being a vital tool for anybody selling, purchasing, traveling, or working internationally.

Publisher : World Scientific

Asia is the most populated geographical region, with 50% of the world's inhabitants living there. Coupled that with the impressive economic growth rates in many Asian countries, the region provides a very attractive and lucrative market for many businesses, big and small and from all industries. In addition, Asia is also a dynamic market that significantly grows with developments in technology and digitalization. For example, a research by Google and Temasek shows that Southeast Asia is the world's fastest growing internet region. The internet economy in Southeast Asia is expected to grow by 6.5 times from US$31 billion in 2015 to US$197 billion in 2025. All these make it critical for marketers, whether domestic, regional or global, to stay in touch if not ahead, in their understanding of what is happening in Asia from a marketing perspective and what Asia has to offer to the world. One phenomenon happening in the Asian market and which marketers should pay utmost attention to, is the rapidly unfolding digital revolution that has fundamentally transformed not just the extent but also the nature of competition. What makes it even more challenging and complicating is also how such a revolution impacts on consumer and business buying behavior. Disruptive technologies supported by this digital revolution have brought in new competitors and enabled existing competitors to surpass the conventional boundaries which we may be quite familiar with. Asian consumers have become more educated and connected and have embraced newer ways of selecting, buying and using products and services. In this book, the Father of Modern Marketing, Professor Philip Kotler has collaborated with two marketing experts from Asia, Hermawan Kartajaya from Indonesia and Hooi Den Huan from Singapore to publish a book on Marketing for Competitiveness: Asia to the World -- In the Age of Digital Consumers. This book argues that marketing is no longer just vertical but has encompassed a new, more horizontal paradigm. In addition to many new concepts and frameworks, this book includes a plethora of real-world examples from various countries in Asia, which will help to shed light on how companies, both Asian and global, compete in Asia. Useful lessons can be drawn by all businesses in the world on how to win the mind, heart and spirit of the Asian consumer -- digital and non-digital.

Publisher : Pearson

Publisher : Springer

Yanick Kemayou investigates how the socioeconomicbackground of organizational leaders can explain their management-relevantattitudes. The study provides theory development and first empirical tests of theimpact of leaders' socioeconomic background on their risk propensity, sense of controland justice perceptions. The model integrates sociological and socialpsychological research on class dynamics and attitudes.Yanick Kemayou uses cross-sectional data from the German Socioeconomic Panel totest the model. The empirical analyses provide robust support for thetheoretical ideas. Results show, for instance, that reproduced leaders with alower social distance toward broader classes exhibit more favorable justiceperceptions toward groups such as unskilled workers than distant reproduced leaders.The bottom line for organizations is that leaders are likely to assesssituations and persons differently because of their own socioeconomicbackground.

Publisher : CRC Press

The management of organizational resources is extremely difficult. Managers face serious and complex challenges when managing the required resources for the benefit of their organization. This book presents a unique approach that aims to tackle these management challenges. This approach is based on four propositions that together form a solid framework for the management of organizational resources. The propositions state that organizational resources that are considered as management objects must first be conceptually modeled. With the help of these models, stakeholders are integrated into the management process. The new management approach presented in this book is called the Evolute approach. The Evolute approach precisely defines the meaning of organizational resources for management on three levels: concept level, organizational resource level, and situation level. The Evolute approach helps managers lead their people and manage their resources in a more targeted way, providing better results with less effort. The author includes real-world case studies that illustrate how this approach can be used in several different fields. The Evolute approach has been used and tested in many companies, organizations, and universities in more than ten languages around the world. The scope of the book is general management, since the Evolute approach is applicable to any kind of management field. It can be applied to the management of any kinds of objects--not only organizational resources. With this book, managers will have the tools to develop more relevant organizational resources and, thus, improve the performance of their entire organization in an efficient and targeted manner.

Publisher : Routledge

In the increasing number of heavily projectized organizations, sustainable, commercial performance depends on their ability to measure and develop the performance of project management. This involves developing new skills and capabilities, such as a learning approach across projects. It also involves transforming established approaches such as corporate governance to match the new project-oriented context and, finally, it involves learning to use projects to enable key organizational objectives, such as sustainability, as well as the project-specific outcomes. ThePerformance of Projects and Project Managementoffers perspectives on all of these fundamental aspects of project performance. As such, it is an important book for those concerned with project strategy, project delivery and business sustainability.

Publisher : Springer

This is the first book that summarizes the 20-year history of service innovation research and combines it with the future need to adopt a systems view in the field of service research. The book emphasizes that the most urgent issues of today's economies - the development of welfare and sustainability - cannot be solved with innovations in individual service offerings only, and that innovations of service systems are increasingly needed. Various theoretical approaches and perspectives from different disciplines are included, providing a comprehensive view of the current understanding of the nature of service innovation. The book illustrates the achievements of two research traditions, one based on the general innovation theory and the other based on the service marketing theory. Service innovation is considered from the points of view of drivers, processes, practices, and outcomes. The interrelations between actors and systems are analyzed, and the nature of innovation as a new way to co-create value is highlighted. The book promotes the view that users are an important source of innovative ideas and that openness is an important success factor in innovation processes. In addition to the general nature and management of service innovation, some specific topics are included, exemplified by innovations in public services and in knowledge-intensive business services. This volume is highly recommended to readers who seek a state-of-the-art overview of the area of service innovation and its linkages to systems research.

Publisher : Routledge

During the past twenty years, the field of nonprofit management has grown significantly in terms of the number of nonprofit organizations, number of people employed, and amount of funds raised. A key activity in nonprofit management has been organizing events, which are generally defined as "purposive gatherings of people." These purposes may include: increasing awareness about the nonprofit organization and its mission; raising funds to support programs and services related to its mission; engaging and developing individuals as donors, volunteers, and advocates; and enhancing the image of the organization and/or the broader community. Events in the modern era tend to be organized across the nonprofit, public, and private sectors. While a nonprofit organization may create and manage an event, corporations and businesses often contribute financial support and technical expertise in areas such as branding, marketing, and social media. Depending on the event type and size, a local government may provide the venue and public safety services, including police, fire, and ambulance. We can understand more about these mission-driven, cross-sectoral events by looking through the lens of social enterprise. Social enterprise has been defined as a venture that advances a social mission using business methods or market-based approaches. It is typically conceptualized as spanning sectors, particularly the nonprofit and private sectors. Social Enterprise and Special Events focuses on how market-based approaches can be used to help mission-driven gatherings achieve their purposes as efficiently, effectively, and sustainably as possible. These approaches include market research, brand development, cause marketing, gamification, liquidity, cash management, and clustering. The book also incorporates concepts important in the nonprofit and public sectors such as collaborative governance, social capital, political capital, community development, placemaking, and diversity.

Publisher : Routledge

This book presents a fresh approach to poverty alleviation by bridging the fields of international development and social entrepreneurship. The authors present a six-step model for developing an IP business positioning strategy that allows developing country producers to position themselves better as owners of retail brands in foreign market countries. Readers will learn how producers can control the supply　chain, including distribution to retail stores. Focusing on Africa and least developed countries (LDCs), the authors demonstrate methods of utilizing intellectual property tools, producer ownership, market positioning, and branding for lucrative outcomes. Extensive research provides readers with a thorough understanding of what it means to work smarter in a developing business, while a rich set of international cases offers insight into the practical applications of brand positioning, trademarks, and licenses. With a dozen online workbooks to outline methodology, skills, tools, and case studies, Social Entrepreneurship for Developmentwill be a valuable resource for any student of social entrepreneurship or international development.

Publisher : CRC Press

Today's organizations find themselves in a race to adopt new technologies in order to keep up with their competition. However, two questions must be answered: Are these organizations ready for new technological advancements, and are these new technologies appropriate for every organization? Technological Challenges and Management: Matching Human and Business Needs focuses on the new advances and challenges that today's organizations face in the areas of human resources and business, resulting from continuous and highly complex changes in technological resources. Organizations need to implement a more proactive and flexible management, matching their human and business needs. Due to this reality, it is important to study and understand varied contributions made by researchers, academics, and practitioners in this field of study worldwide. With the focus of this reality, this book exchanges experiences and perspectives about the state of technological challenges and management research, and future directions for this field of study. It also takes into account the deep implications that these challenges have in the organization of human resources. The authors support academics and researchers and those operating in the management field in dealing with different challenges that organizations face today. This is especially true concerning the relationship between technological changes, human resources management, and business. They propose the sharing of knowledge, through debate and information exchange, about technological challenges and management, matching the critical items of human and business needs. The book is divided into seven chapters that span from evaluating new technologies to finding the perfect fit.

Publisher : Gower

Work organizations can lose their fitness and become sick, just as people can. Just like people, they may become both physically and behaviourally sick; physically sick when plant and equipment breaks down or the money runs out; behaviourally sick when the resources are badly managed or the staff become alienated. Gerry Randell and John Toplis' Towards Organizational Fitness addresses two main issues: firstly, how to investigate and manage problems involving people at work - a task analogous to that of a medical doctor working with a sick patient; secondly, how to assess and develop the capability and fitness of an organization - like a medical doctor who wishes to improve a patient's health. The message of this book is clear, that organizations should not proceed to change any of their policies, procedures, processes or practices until a systematic thorough diagnosis of the root cause underpinning the need to change has taken place. The process of diagnosis that leads to a technically sound, administratively convenient, politically defensible and socially acceptable decision to change an organization in some way is fraught with difficulty. Towards Organizational Fitness provides managers with a conceptual and practical path through this complex and difficult arena.