Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Main-streaming Unpaid Work by
Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Unpaid work, across the world, is an area that has generally been neglected by economists as well as development actors. Yet the amount of unpaid work done and the manner in which its burden is distributed have important implications for the well-being of individuals and households, as well asfor any economys growth and dynamism. This book establishes that there is an urgent need to measure unpaid work and incorporate it in analysing the critical concerns of an economy. As a first step, it focuses on gathering quality statistics and methodologies required to conduct time-use surveys in moving towards integrating unpaid workin policymaking. Assessing various time-use surveys from the global South - Asia Pacific, Latin America, and Africa - the book moves on to address critical socioeconomic concerns such as poverty alleviation, employment, gender equality, womens empowerment, as also the overall well-being anddevelopment of a nation. With in-depth theoretical foundations and empirical analysis, it builds the case for aggregating quality time-use data for sustainable development of the global South.
Price : Rs.1195
Economic History of India, 1857-1947 by
Publication Date: 2011-09-15
This book presents a comprehensive account of the structural changes in India's economy initiated by colonial rule and globalization. It provides an understanding of the country's political and economic transition as it evolved into a stable democratic state. Capturing a crucial time span of90 years, it attempts to connect present-day economic trends in India in the context of the country's economic history. The book broadly covers: transition to colonialism-impact on education, law, business organization, and land rights trends in macroeconomic aggregates-national income, population, labour, savings, and investment; major sectors of development-agriculture, mining, industry, infrastructure, banking,and trade; and economic change in India post-Independence. Reader-friendly and accessible, the third edition offers clearly-defined concepts, wider coverage of themes with a brief overview of post-Independence developments in India, and explanatory tools like reading suggestions, glossary, tables, figures, boxes, and illustrations. It will be anindispensible resource book for undergraduate students and teachers of economic history.
Price : Rs.495
The Concise Oxford Companion to Economics in India by
Publication Date: 2011-06-15
In today's complex and fast evolving environment, understanding India's economy is not just an intellectual challenge, but, with the country emerging as a major global player, also a requirement. This concise and reader-friendly volume addresses this need. Culled from the collective wisdom of distinguished contributors, the volume provides a comprehensive and engaging account of the trends and issues across various sectors of the Indian economy. More than 100 pertinent entries, organized thematically, cover the evolution of the Indian economy fromrelative obscurity to an emergent global force. They span the recent cover stories of India's phenomenal growth, and also document the backwaters-widespread poverty, farmer suicides, child labour, and the large and impoverished informal sector. A new introduction and some new entries cover the developments since the first edition was written, and also focus on the economic crises. An appendix presents relevant statistics on Indian economic indicators, which will serve as a handy reference for students of the Indian economy and, moregenerally, of development economics.
Price : Rs.595
Handbook of the Indian Economy in the 21st Century by
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
After experiencing stagnation for much of the post-independence period, India has shown considerable dynamism in processes and outcomes since the mid-eighties. The post-reform Indian Economy has defied established economic patterns and in the process created a few paradoxes. This book aims toidentify policies, institutions and incentives that have worked, and constraints that have emerged in India's growth prospects. More than underdevelopment, the book analyses the bottlenecks that emerge as change occurs, to minimize the chances of being trapped into the dated habits of thought. It takes opportunity from rapidly transforming Indian economy to analyse out-of-equilibrium behaviour and understand the dynamics ofnon-conventional growth path.
Price : Rs.2495
Governance of Megacities by
Publication Date: 2015-04-26
This is an elaborate study comparing the five large metropolitan regions of India - Mumbai, Bangalore, Kolkata, Chennai, and Hyderabad. It traces the evolution of urban and metropolitan governance in India and examines the key aspects related to urban dynamics such as urban and regionalplanning, economic competitiveness, infrastructure and land management, environmental sustainability as well as the challenges in resource mobilization and metropolitan governance. The study is based on an extensive compilation of data on aspects such as demographics, economy, infrastructure, society, environment, political character, and institutions for governance. It provides an introduction to megacities in the Indian context and explains how urbanization was neverpromoted in the Indian Planning regime. While contributing greatly to the economic growth of the respective states and the country, the physical and demographic growth of these megacities has been accompanied by an ever increasing demand for infrastructure and essential services as well as socialand environmental pressures. The governance and management of megacities has thus emerged as a formidable challenge to policymakers, administrators, and urban professionals. This book elucidates how urbanization was inevitable and was finally recognized as an economic and social reality by the Tenthfive year plan.
Price : Rs.895
Electricity Sector in India by
Publication Date: 2012-11-09
Power shortage may very well be one of the major bottlenecks threatening the economic growth of India. Thus power, and particularly electricity, assumes top priority in maintaining a stable growth rate and ensuring energy security. After almost 10 years since the enactment of the ElectricityAct, 2003 (a major landmark in second generation reforms), this book reviews the reform process and undertakes a detailed analysis of electricity policy, regulation, and performance, and comprehensively covers power infrastructure and management in India. Starting from a historical perspective of reforms in the power sector, the book covers the paradigm shift in the strategy of reforms after the Electricity Act, 2003, and its salient features. The authors have been active participants in and keen observers of the reforms and regulation in the sectorover the last decade. Therefore, the book presents an authentic account of the evolution of the regulatory framework and the gap between vision and ground reality in the sector. The book also engages with policy challenges facing the sector and provides a framework for the way ahead.
Price : Rs.810
Energy Infrastructure by
Publication Date: 2008-02-15
Energy has always been and important ingredient for the economic and social progress of human society, although the form in which energy is used has undergone a phenomenal change. Energy security relates to economic security in the context of energy decision making. In modern society, energyhas become more global in nature. The ever-increasing integration of energy markets across the globe spreads the security concern from one sector and country to another. The papers in this volume deal with leading policy issues in the energy sector including energy security, energy pricing,efficiency and conservation, environmental aspects of power infrastructure development, and rural electrification. The papers present an overview of the energy sector, reviews the current energy scene, identify the problems and provide policy options. Authored by leading energy experts with anin-depth understanding of Indian energy problems, the essays are non-technical and lucid.
Price : Rs.695
Liberalization and Development by
Publication Date: 2013-01-13
This collection of fifteen essays by eminent economist Deepak Nayyar provides an unusual blend of theory and policy, of applied research and empirical work, and of the world economy and India. It explores a wide range of themes-from macroeconomics and industrialization, to development in thechanged context shaped by liberalization. This paperback edition includes a new Preface that focuses on developments since 2008 when the book was first published. The essays in the volume are grouped in four thematic clusters. The first part is on economic theory contextualized in developing countries. It relates macroeconomic theory and policy to the institutional setting and explores alternative perspectives for developing countries. The second part is ondevelopment, in a world that has been transformed by markets and globalization. It analyses the implications of this transformation in retrospect and prospect. The third part is on industrialization. It begins with the international context to consider the debate on industrialization in India whichis relevant for other late-industrializers. The fourth part is on liberalization with a focus on India. It evaluates the Indian experience with stabilization, adjustment, and reform, which is then situated in its wider political and historical context.
Price : Rs.595
India's Economic Reforms and Development by
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
The success of India's economic reforms in accelerating growth and reducing poverty has been well-documented. In view of Manmohan Singh's key role in spearheading India's development process, this volume in his honour, brings together a collection of essays on the economic reforms initiated in1991 and explores policies, frameworks, and strategies to fully realize their potential. Significantly revised and updated, this new edition: * traces India's development experience and transition to an open economy;* addresses key issues in India's economy such as poverty and inequality, monetary policy, agriculture, infrastructure development, fiscal stability, and financial liberalization; and* highlights the important changes and recent developments in India's economy. Through comparative theoretical and econometric analyses, it captures the evolution of India's policies towards liberalization and its position in the global economy.
Price : Rs.425
Growth, Sustainability, and India's Economic Reforms by
Publication Date: 2011-11-10
This book analyses the origins, rationale, and outcomes of India's economic reforms of 1991 in the context of changes in economy, polity, and society. Using a historical and comparative perspective, the book provides a comprehensive review of the policies and performance of the Indian economy. The author categorizes India's development experience into four time periods and provides a comparative analysis across these: (i) 1950-80: conservative macroeconomic policies, slow growth, and a crisis in 1966; (ii) 1980s: piecemeal reforms, fiscal profligacy, accumulation of domestic and externalprivate debt and faster growth, and the crisis of 1991; (iii) 1991-2009: systemic reforms and growth acceleration; and (iv) 2009-11: the global financial crisis. He also compares the Indian experience with the growth and development strategies of China and certain low-income countries. Drawinglessons from economic theory to understand the policy problems faced by India, the book examines the implications of the recent global financial crisis on growth, sustainability, and the necessity for further reform. The intrinsic objective of India's development - the eradication of mass poverty -and the instruments for achieving it such as acceleration of growth, industrialization, accumulation of physical and human capital, and improvement in productivity are highlighted.
Price : Rs.210
Business, Institutions, and the Environment by
Publication Date: 2017-08-27
The natural environment is intimately interlinked with economic processes, each affecting the other in different ways. With the rise of new forms of environmental governance, green business strategies, socially responsible investing, and rapidly evolving consumer preferences, businesses arefacing sustainability challenges on multiple fronts. This short introduction explores different facets of corporate environmental strategy in India, analysing the behaviour of large as well as small Indian firms in the ecological and social context.Mapping the evolution of environmental regulatory framework in India, the book looks at the various challenges faced by firms in India and how they have overcome it, sometimes turning them into opportunities. It further examines the role of chambers of commerce and research organizations ininfluencing corporate environmentalism, and illustrates environmental initiatives that have been successful. As an outcome, firms and industry emerge, not as the villains of the plot, but as just one of the many actors, which, given conducive conditions, can also be heroes.
Price : Rs.295
International Trade and India by
Publication Date: 2014-08-26
With increased globalization and the blurring of national borders, the subject of international trade has generated a lot of interest not only among students but also the media and the business circuit. Being an ancient civilization, India has a long and interesting history of engagement in international trade. People of this region have been involved in long-distance commerce, at least, since the Indus Valley Civilization. During the Ancient and Middle Ages India was known as a major trading country. The quest for better trade routes with India led to the discovery of America and the spread of colonialism in Asia. The latter paved the way for the entry of the Europeans as traders in the Indian Ocean and eventually led to the colonization of India. Following the British invasion, India's international trade suffered a major setback. During the post-Independence period, India had a somewhat uneasy relationship with international trade. However, after adopting economic liberalization in 1991, our nation has shown a more positive outlook towards global trade. Written in lucid English with nuanced explanations, this book provides an economic framework to take every reader through the fascinating account of India's engagement with international trade over the years. It also gives an overview of the technology and policy dynamics that have shaped global trade.
Price : Rs.295
Monetary Policy by
Publication Date: 2013-07-10
The Oxford India Short Introductions are concise, stimulating, and accessible guides to different aspects of India. Combining authoritative analysis, new ideas, and diverse perspectives, they discuss subjects which are topical yet enduring, as also emerging areas of study and debate. Monetary policy plays a pivotal role in shaping interest rates and controlling inflation. Turbulence in both during the recent global financial crisis and current sovereign debt crisis in Europe has accentuated the ever-growing interest in the role of monetary policy and the functioning of centralbanks. It is in this context that this Short Introduction analyses the evolution of Indian monetary policy over the historical timeline of 1934 to present times. Dividing this period into several epochs, the author explains how at various points the monetary policy was shaped by the need of hour, beit the policy of credit control to support planned development in the 1950s or the introduction of liquidity adjustment facility to meet the needs of the changing economy in the post-liberalization phase. He also shows how India's monetary policies and practices have helped it absorb the shocks ofthe financial crisis.
Price : 275
Capital Flows and Exchange Rate Management by
Publication Date: 2013-08-31
The Oxford India Short Introductions are concise, stimulating, and accessible guides to different aspects of India. Combining authoritative analysis, new ideas, and diverse perspectives, they discuss subjects which are topical yet enduring, as also emerging areas of study and debate. Integration with the global economy has opened India to cross-border flows of not merely goods and services, but also financial capital. India is now a preferred destination among the emerging market economies for foreign investors. Is this transition necessarily beneficial for the Indian economy?What are its consequences and how is it to be regulated? How has the Indian economy successfully averted a financial crisis in the era of economic liberalization, unlike many other developing economies?This short introduction provides answers to questions such as these by analysing the basic forces driving capital flows, their impact on the exchange rate, and their implications for foreign reserves and domestic money supply. It will be a vital guide for students of economics, finance, andmanagement, as well as general readers interested in the prospects of the Indian economy.
Price : Rs.225