Skip to main content

            

FPM Library Orientation: Archives

Archives

The "South-Asia Archive" is fully searchable digital archive developed by "Routledge" in association with the 'South Asia Research Foundation'.  It is accessible through the National Digital Library at the link http://www.southasiaarchive.com/    The archive encompasses following types of content:

Journals : Substantial runs of more than two hundred journals in a range of subjects published from India and South Asia, including early journals such as Asiatic Researchers (first published in 1788), Indian Review, Modern Review, and Calcutta Gazette.  There is also an array of vernacular journals such as: Bharatbarsha, Prabasi, Manasi, and Sachitra.

Reports: A diverse collection of reports from colonial and post-colonial India, including volumes of the 1901, 1911, 1931, and 1951 Indian Census documents, and the near complete set of Calcutta Riots of 1946 Gazetteers from a range of Indian states such as Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, and Maharastra are also available.

Books :An extensive range of books consisting of series such as The Bibliotheca Indica, a collection of oriental works published by the Asiatic Society of Bengal. It includes translations of the Upanishads, commentaries on Sanskrit grammatical, philosophical, and legal treatises, and such works as the Suddhikaumudi, a Sanskrit treatise on Hindu laws of defilement and purification.

Legislations, Acts, regulations, law books/cases: A myriad collection of legislations, Acts, regulations, and case documents from the colonial period, invaluable for any work on colonial Indian history.

Indian film booklets, 1930–1949; A collection of rare publicity booklets in a mixture of English, Hindi, Urdu, and Bengali, as sold outside India film theatres. Highlights from the collection include: Mukti, Street Singer, My Sister, Devdas and Sita. Each booklet includes lists of the film's cast and leading technical personnel, a plot summary, photographs of the lead actors or key moments in the film, and song lyrics.

This complete online fully-searchable facsimile edition of the FT offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper, from its first issue to the end of 2010

The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012.

Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.


Weekly peer reviewed academic journal covering all social sciences. Our subscription includes electronic archives and current issues.

JSTOR covers journals titles from the following subject areas, Art & Sciences I–XII, Life Sciences, Ireland, Ecology & Botany II, Global Plants, 19th-Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa & World Heritage Sites: Africa

Access to e-journals from Elsevier related to Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance. Electronic archives for these journals are available from Vol. 1, Issue 1.

Access to 75 journals from volume 1 onwards related to Business, Management and Economics. Click here for complete list

National Digital Library