Skip to main content

            

FPM Library Orientation: Datasets

Datasets

 

1.      Consumer Panel and Retail store Data


The Consumer Panel Data include longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. These data track a panel of 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of fast-moving consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets.


Retail Scanner Data consist of weekly pricing, volume, and store environment information generated by point-of-sale systems from more than 90 participating retail chains across all US markets. Data begin in 2006 and include annual updates.

Other Information

All registered users will be required to provide an annual update.  For more information on terms of use please click at https://research.chicagobooth.edu/nielsen/policies

 

2.      Digital Map data of 35 states (state, District, Sub District and Village boundary) in ESRI shp format. All layers linked with 2011 Census data.  Technical information is available with Library Desk.

 

3.      Annual survey of Industries : Unit level data: 2001-02 to 2013-14 

 

Annual Survey of Industries covers the manufacturing units in the registered sector. It provides comprehensive information relating to input, output, value added, employment, assets etc of the registered factories.

 

4.      NSSO Data Sets: 42nd Rnd 1986-87 to 72nd Rnd

 

The National Sample Survey Office (NSSO) headed by a Director General is responsible for conduct of large scale sample surveys in diverse fields on All India basis. Primarily data are collected through nation-wide household surveys on various socio-economic subjects, Annual Survey of Industries (ASI), etc. Besides these surveys, NSSO collects data on rural and urban prices and plays a significant role in the improvement of crop statistics through supervision of the area enumeration and crop estimation surveys of the State agencies

 

5.      a. UNIDO - INDSTAT 2 2016 ( Revision 3)

   This contains disaggregated data on the manufacturing sector for the period 1990 onwards for more than 150 manufacturing sectors and subsectors.  It contains the following indicators

  • Number of establishments
  • Number of employees
  • Wages and salaries
  • Output
  • Value added
  • Gross Fixed capital formation
  • Number of female employees.

 

b. IDSB: UNIDO Industrial Demand – supply balance databases 2016 edition at the 4 digit level (ISIC Revision 3 & 4)

 

This contains disaggregated data on the manufacturing sector for the period 1990 and includes trade data. It contains time series data for eight items.

  • Domestic output
  • Total imports
  • Total exports
  • Apparent consumption
  • Imports from industrialized economics
  • Exports to developing and emerging industrial economies
  • Exports to industrialized economies.

 

6.      Census Data Center ( IIMB)

The Office of the Registrar General, India, New Delhi, Ministry of Home Affairs, Govt. of India, has set up a Census workstation at the Indian Institute of Management Bangalore (IIMB).The workstation will be fully equipped with all the facilities for research on confidential micro-data from Census 2001 and Census 2011.