It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 157 - June 2021): Wiley Latest Titles
Accounting for Deferred Income Taxes by Bobby Carmichael
Publication Date: 2020-06-12
Description: A complicated accounting model, FASB ASC 740 has been around for a while. But the rules are becoming more challenging as businesses become more complex. This book incorporates the new tax rates and other impacts of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act and will assist you in understanding FASB ASC 740, Income Taxes, and how it establishes guidelines for accounting for income taxes, including income tax expense, classification of deferred tax accounts, and related disclosures. Key topics include: Principles of FASB ASC 740 Income tax expense and deferred tax liabilities and assets Valuation allowances Proper documentation of deferred income taxes in the work papers Required disclosures within the financial statements
Advanced Tax Strategies for LLCs and Partnerships by Larry Tunnell; Robert Ricketts
Publication Date: 2020-07-13
Description: Are you ready to master the advanced concepts of partnership taxation? Provide your clients with valuable advice and tax planning strategies and gain a working knowledge of the Internal Revenue Code's sophisticated partnership tax rules and regulations. This book takes a deep dive into the complexities of partnership tax law. It includes step-by-step examples to help guide you through the complicated world of advanced partnership and LLC tax law. Some of the many concepts covered in this course include special allocations, liquidating and non-liquidation distributions, property basis calculations under various scenarios, and sales of a partnership interest.
Annual Accounting and Auditing Workshop by Kurt Oestriecher; Mark Beasley
Publication Date: 2020-07-31
Description: Are your accounting and auditing skills up-to-date and on-par with industry standards? This guide provides updates on the latest standards, including accounting, auditing, compilation, preparation, and review. It covers important industry changes such as revenue recognition, leases, financial instruments, and SASs, and includes practical applications for each, to help you understand and apply the standards to real-life scenarios. Key topics covered include: Accounting, auditing, and attestation standards updates FASB projects and exposure drafts Private company financial reporting Revenue Recognition Leases, Financial Instruments, Peer Review, Trust Services, Cyber Security, SSAEs Going Concern; Private company financial reporting
Annual Update and Practice Issues for Preparation, Compilation, and Review Engagements by Hugh Parker; Kimberly Burke
Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Description: A practice-oriented review of the latest developments related to SSARS Nos. 21-24, this title includes a wide range of issues, including: Developments in the conceptual framework New and proposed independence interpretations Consideration of materiality in a review engagement Going concern considerations Restatement of prior year financial statements
Annual Update for Accountants and Auditors: 2020 by Kurt Oestriecher; Mark Beasley
Publication Date: 2020-12-03
Description: Keep abreast of the fast-paced changes in accounting and auditing with relevant pronouncements, exposure drafts, and other guidance recently issued in the accounting, auditing, compilation, preparation, and review arenas. This book will help accountants and financial managers sort through the most recent accounting and auditing complexities so they can identify and apply recently issued FASB, PCAOB, and AICPA standards and guidance. New topics covered include: Revenue recognition Leases Financial instruments Intangible assets Consolidation Business combinations Recently issued SAS No. 134-140 Auditing interpretations Recently proposed SSAE standards Overview of SSARS guidance
Annual Update for Controllers by Jim Lindell
Publication Date: 2020-07-30
Description: This guide covers leading-edge topics in managerial accounting and finance. It's packed with useful tips and practical guidance controllers and financial managers can apply immediately. You'll also gain insight into hot topics such as: Power Pivot Integrated Reporting Bitcoin Technology trends In addition, this guide includes a case study covering three chapters using Excel tools, working capital trends and technology changes.
Artificial Intelligence for Audit, Forensic Accounting, and Valuation by Al Naqvi
Publication Date: 2020-08-03
Description: Strategically integrate AI into your organization to compete in the tech era The rise of artificial intelligence is nothing short of a technological revolution. AI is poised to completely transform accounting and auditing professions, yet its current application within these areas is limited and fragmented. Existing AI implementations tend to solve very narrow business issues, rather than serving as a powerful tech framework for next-generation accounting. Artificial Intelligence for Audit, Forensic Accounting, and Valuation provides a strategic viewpoint on how AI can be comprehensively integrated within audit management, leading to better automated models, forensic accounting, and beyond. No other book on the market takes such a wide-ranging approach to using AI in audit and accounting. With this guide, you'll be able to build an innovative, automated accounting strategy, using artificial intelligence as the cornerstone and foundation. This is a must, because AI is quickly growing to be the single competitive factor for audit and accounting firms. With better AI comes better results. If you aren't integrating AI and automation in the strategic DNA of your business, you're at risk of being left behind. See how artificial intelligence can form the cornerstone of integrated, automated audit and accounting services Learn how to build AI into your organization to remain competitive in the era of automation Go beyond siloed AI implementations to modernize and deliver results across the organization Understand and overcome the governance and leadership challenges inherent in AI strategy Accounting and auditing firms need a comprehensive framework for intelligent, automation-centric modernization. Artificial Intelligence for Audit, Forensic Accounting, and Valuation delivers just that--a plan to evolve legacy firms by building firmwide AI capabilities.
Audit Risk Alert by AICPA
Publication Date: 2020-02-03
Description: This alert provides auditors with an overview of recent economic, industry, technical, regulatory, and professional developments that may affect how auditors conduct audits and other engagements. An entity's internal management can also use this alert to address areas of audit concern. Updates include: Economic and Industry Developments Legislative and Regulatory Developments Audit and Attestation Issues and Developments Revenue Recognition New Lease Standard Accounting for Financial Instruments Recent AICPA Independence and Developments
Auditing Employee Benefit Plans by Josie Hammond; Melissa Frivold
Publication Date: 2020-08-23
Description: Master the fundamentals of auditing employee benefit plans in accordance with AICPA standards and ERISA rules and regulations. Written by a member on the expert panel for employee benefit plans, this book is designed to give an understanding of the requirements and audit procedures related to defined contribution, defined benefit, and health and welfare plans to help accountants more effectively plan and carry out their audit. Topics include: FASB ASU 2017-06, which significantly impacted master trust accounting, reporting and disclosures for employee benefit plans PCAOB adopted AS 3101 in 2017 which resulted in significant changes to the existing auditor's report. New insert for SAS No. 136, Forming an Opinion and Reporting on Financial Statements of Employee Benefit Plans Subject to ERISA
Audits of 401(k) Plans by Deloitte & Touche Consulting Group
Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Description: Chapter 1 1-1 Introduction and Background 1-1 Background information 1-3 Operation and administration 1-6 Accounting records 1-8 Reporting standards 1-10 Governmental regulations 1-11 Audit requirements 1-12 Reporting and disclosure requirements under ERISA 1-16 SEC Form 11-K filing requirements 1-17 ERISA limited-scope audits 1-19 Chapter 2 2-1 Planning 2-1 Pre-engagement activities 2-3 Audit planning 2-6 Communication and coordination 2-10 Understanding the plan and its environment, including its internal control 2-11 Audit documentation 2-13 Preliminary analytical review procedures 2-14 Audit risk factors 2-15 Internal control structure 2-21 Consideration of fraud 2-22 Plan''s use of third-party service organizations 2-29 Party in interest transactions 2-30 Plan''s use of voice response or internet recordkeeping system 2-32 Accounting estimates 2-33 Going concern considerations 2-34 Chapter 3 3-1 Internal Control Structure 3-1 Understanding internal control 3-4 The components of internal control 3-6 Acquiring knowledge of the controls 3-9 Assessing control risk 3-10 Plan''s use of third-party service organizations 3-11 Plan''s use of voice response and internet-based recordkeeping systems 3-16 Documentation 3-17 Communicating control deficiencies 3-18 Chapter 4 4-1 Auditing the Statement of Net Assets Available for Benefits 4-1 Accounting guidance 4-3 Listing of investments 4-4 Valuation of investments 4-5 Investment options 4-6 Audit objectives 4-8 Audit procedures 4-9 Investments in master trusts and similar vehicles 4-11 Investments in registered investment companies (mutual funds) and common or commingled trust funds 4-13 Investments with insurance companies 4-15 Direct filing entities (DFE) 4-20 Other investments 4-21 ERISA limited-scope auditing procedures 4-24 Contributions receivable 4-26 Notes receivable from participants receivable 4-27 Cash balances 4-29 Other assets 4-30 Accrued liabilities 4-31 Chapter 5 5-1 Auditing the Statement of Changes in Net Assets Available for Benefits 5-1 Investment income 5-3 ERISA limited-scope audit 5-7 Investment expenses 5-8 Contributions from employers 5-9 Individual participant accounts 5-12 Participant eligibility 5-17 Contributions from other identified sources 5-18 Withdrawals 5-19 Loans 5-20 Administrative expenses 5-22 Chapter 6 6-1 Other Auditing Considerations 6-1 Plan tax status 6-2 Testing for discrimination 6-7 Consequences of violations 6-8 Failure to pass nondiscrimination tests 6-9 Commitments and contingencies 6-10 Subsequent events 6-12 Representations from plan management 6-14 Illustrative attachment to management representation letter 6-18 Form 5500 and supplemental schedules 6-21 Information for supplemental schedules from trustee or custodian 6-28 Terminating plans 6-32 Plan mergers 6-35 Party in interest transactions 6-36 Initial audit of the 401(k) plan 6-41 Form 11-K: The Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 6-44 Communication with those charged with governance 6-47 Chapter 7 7-1 The Auditor''s Report and Financial Statement Disclosures 7-1 The auditor''s report 7-4 Standard report 7-7 Additional communications: Emphasis-of-matter and other-matter paragraphs 7-10 Modified reports 7-12 Non-GAAP basis financial statements 7-14 Reports filed pursuant to the SEC Form 11-K 7-16 ERISA limited-scope reports 7-21 Financial statement disclosures 7-24 Appendix A A-1 ERISA and Related Regulations A-1 Appendix A A-3 Glossary Glossary 1 Index Index 1 Solutions Solutions 1 Chapter 1 Solutions 1 Chapter 2 Solutions 4 Chapter 3 Solutions 6 Chapter 4 Solutions 8 Chapter 5 Solutions 10 Chapter 6 Solutions 12 Chapter 7 Solutions 17
Beyond Audit by Robert L. Mainardi
Publication Date: 2021-03-18
Description: Your game plan for strategic success in today's remote audit department Beyond Audit is your guide to taking advantage of this unique moment to review and enhance your audit methodology to improve execution, operations, and audit product. Change has been thrust upon the audit industry, and every company must adapt to business interruptions and remote work environments. Now is the perfect time for audit departments to step back and turn a critical eye on their own operations. We have an opportunity to identify new ways of increasing product offerings and building more effective and efficient operations, ultimately creating better results for our partners and clients. This book will take you from a foundational understanding of the business environment through to a reflective review of your own operational effectiveness and efficiency. You'll gain access to the Audit Risk Barometer (ARB), an innovative self-assessment tool that scores audit department strengths and opportunities for improvement. This book also includes a detailed methodology for working with your business partner to ensure clear identification of business objectives. You'll also learn how to identify "true process risks" to ensure that testing remains focused and adds value. Finally, you'll learn critical skills and team development ideas for every level. Gain a fundamental understanding of today's business environment and how traditional and remote auditing fits into the new business puzzle Use the exclusive Audit Risk Barometer to conduct a valuable self-assessment and uncover your team's strengths and weaknesses Learn how to effectively and efficiently work with your business partner to identify objectives and value-add opportunities Access online resources, including video summaries and interactive tools to revamp your audit department Beyond Audit incorporates links to online video summaries, templates mentioned throughout the book, interviews with experienced professionals, and an audit tracking software tool. This book is an enormously valuable resource for audit teams of any size and shape.
Business Valuation by Z. Christopher Mercer; Travis W. Harms
Publication Date: 2020-10-09
Description: A guide that demystifies modern valuation theory and shows how to apply fundamental valuation concepts The revised and updated third edition of Business Valuation: An Integrated Theory explores the core concepts of the integrated theory of business valuation and adapts the theory to reflect how the market for private business actually works. In this third edition of their book, the authors--two experts on the topic of business valuation--help readers translate valuation theory into everyday valuation practice. This important updated book: Includes an extended review of the core concepts of the integrated theory of business valuation and applies the theory on a total capital basis Explains "typical" valuation discounts (marketability and minority interest) and premiums (control premiums) in the context of financial theory, institutional reality and the behavior of market participants Explores evolving valuation perspectives in the context of the integrated theory Written by two experts on valuation theory from Mercer Capital The third edition of Business Valuation is the only book available regarding an integrated theory of business valuation--offering an essential, unprecedented resource for business professionals.
Common U. S. GAAP Issues Facing Accountants by Renee Rampulla
Publication Date: 2020-06-27
Description: Featuring the latest ASUs through the date of publication, this broad-ranging book covers FASB accounting and reporting developments that apply to all companies. Emphasizing financial statement disclosures in addition to accounting methods, the author presents implementation guidelines and disclosure illustrations from actual financial statements. Key topics include: The financial reporting environment Summary of recent FASB releases Accounting and reporting topics common to most entities, including the following: Recognizing revenue under the new standard The new leasing model Fair value accounting Inventory Property, plant, and equipment - including capitalized interest and nonmonetary transactions Accounting for debt Accounting for income taxes Financial statement presentation and notes disclosures The financial statements
Construction Contractors: Accounting and Auditing by James Wiedemann; Robert Mercado
Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Description: With construction activity increasing and significant changes to the revenue recognition model, it is more important than ever for accountants and financial managers to be on top of the very latest in accounting and auditing changes for the construction industry. This guide examines the most recent updates and key issues impacting construction accounting and auditing. It covers new changes as a result of FASB ASU 2014-09, it also explores the relationship between the contractor and the surety.
Corporate Turnaround Artistry by Jeff Sands
Publication Date: 2020-02-10
Description: How to steer your business through times of financial distress and achieve sustained profitability Corporate Turnaround Artistry is a complete guide for entrepreneurial companies in times of financial distress--presenting effective strategies and proven methods to revive and rehabilitate your business. Uncertain economic times have significantly altered the financial resources available to struggling businesses. Narrowing margins and mounting internal and external pressure has taken their toll on many companies. Fortunately, most businesses can be repaired while maintaining their existing revenue structure. Offering practical steps that go beyond simple cost-cutting and sales-building advice, this invaluable guide teaches you how to control cash, secure financial relief, and develop a comprehensive turnaround plan that your employees, customers, and creditors will support. Business leaders and entrepreneurs often fall into the trap of assuming new debt when tough times strike. Author and Certified Turnaround Practitioner Jeff Sands shows that to many struggling businesses, more money is no longer the answer to the problem. Expert advice on topics including cashflow stabilization, short and long-term profit sustainability, lean management techniques, and more, provides the framework to timely and efficient corporate turnaround. From identifying the initial cash crisis to meeting with creditors and developing a plan, this essential resource will help you: Stabilize your financial liabilities and re-structure your debt Implement effective turnaround strategies without significant changes to your corporate structure Preserve the positions of your current employees and their community Give yourself a fresh start with a lean and agile business Thousands of businesses fall into financial stress every year--oftentimes in sudden and dramatic fashion--leaving CEOs and owners asking the question "How do I save my business"? Corporate Turnaround Artistry: Fix Any Business in 100 Days provides the answer.
Cut Your Client's Tax Bill by William Bischoff
Publication Date: 2020-06-29
Description: Many clients and businesses are highly focused on the impact of taxes and tax rates on their bottom line. President Trump and Congress's passage of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act brought unhappy surprises to many taxpayers accustomed to getting tax refunds. Make sure your clients are protecting themselves from higher taxes. Completely updated for tax law changes and Tax Court decisions, this book will bring you up to date on the latest strategies that will preserve your clients' wealth and ensure your role as a trusted adviser to your clients. Get the latest techniques for building and conserving wealth through proactive tax-planning and investment strategies. Key topics covered include; Sales of capital gain assets and real property Planning for employer stock options, employer stock held in retirement accounts, and restricted stock Maximizing tax benefits for personal residence transactions Tax-planning opportunities with vacation homes, timeshares, and co-ownership arrangements Planning for divorce Tax-saving tips for self-employed clients Tax-smart college financing strategies
Early Stage Valuation by Antonella Puca
Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Description: Addresses significant developments in the valuation of early stage enterprises at fair value with emphasis on practical applications--features a broad selection of case studies of early stage valuation Early Stage Valuation: A Fair Value Perspective provides a comprehensive review of the current methodologies used to value Early Stage Enterprises (ESEs) at fair value for financial reporting, investment, and mergers and acquisitions. Author Antonella Puca, Senior Director with Alvarez & Marsal Valuation Services in New York, provides accurate, up-to-date information on recent guidelines and new approaches for valuation assessments. This authoritative guide examines how to apply market analysis, discounted cash flows models, statistical techniques such as option pricing models (OPM) and Monte Carlo simulation, the venture capital method and non-GAAP metrics to ESE valuation. The text considers the most recent AICPA, Appraisal Foundation and IPEV guidance, and examines developments in both academic research and venture capital investor practice. Numerous real-world case studies illustrate early stage valuation suitable for structuring sound, internally consistent business transactions. Covering current trends and the latest regulatory guidance in the area, this book: Provides step-by-step guidance on practical valuation applications Reflects current standards for ESE valuation, including the AICPA Guide to the Valuation of Portfolio Company Investments, the IPEV guidelines and guidance from the Appraisal Foundation Covers new approaches to the valuation of ESEs with option pricing models, Monte Carlo Simulation, calibration and non-GAAP metrics Offers an overview of start-up valuation Discusses how intangible assets are impacting the valuation of ESEs The book also includes contributions from Neil Beaton, Andreas Dal Santo, Alexander Davie, John Jackman and Mark Zyla. Early Stage Valuation: A Fair Value Perspective is an essential resource for valuation specialists, private equity and venture capital fund managers, analysts, attorneys, investment bankers, regulators and auditors, and investors with interest in the private equity and venture capital industry.
Financial Statement Analysis by Wallace Davidson
Publication Date: 2020-06-29
Description: This book presents financial statements as a set of dynamic instruments that can be used for accurate, relevant, and timely financial decisions. It focuses on the economic and financial conditions that cause statements to change and discover how businesses can manage liquidity, debt, and profitability. Plus, explore effect ratios, causal ratios, pro forma analysis, sustainable growth, and much more. Key topics covered include: valuation techniques, effect ratios, DuPont system for analyzing profitability, causal analysis. how to conduct a financial statement analysis, users of financial statements, forecasting sustainable growth, and bankruptcy prediction models.
Form 1041 by Stephen Brooks
Publication Date: 2020-08-25
Description: Protect your clients' assets and shield their estates from increased taxation brought about by changing tax laws. This book can help you to understand the tax obligations of trusts and estates and how these obligations affect beneficiaries. It provides exercises and examples that reflect the calculation and allocation of taxable income and its presentation on the appropriate forms. In addition, you will also learn how to prepare federal Form 1041, US Income Tax Return for Estates and Trusts. Key topics covered include: How are trusts and estates taxed under the internal revenue code? What is a trust? What is a "simple trust?" What is a "complex trust?" How is the "income" of a trust or estate defined for tax purposes? What are the ordinary deductions and credits allowed? How is the "deduction for distributions" to beneficiaries determined? How are trust and estate beneficiaries taxed? What is a "grantor trust" and how is it taxed? How to prepare Form 1041.
Fundamentals of Governmental Accounting and Reporting by Bruce W. Chase
Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Description: Fundamentals of Governmental Accounting and Reporting features the foundational tenets of governmental accounting and reporting in today's environment. Featuring updated accounting for GASB Statement No. 84, and fiduciary activities, this work reviews underlying concepts and shows how they are applied through real-life examples of CAFR, financial statements and updates of recent GASB standards.Key areas covered include: The governmental environment and GAAP Fund accounting and the financial reporting model Budgeting MFBA Revenues and expenditures Governmental, proprietary, and fiduciary funds Government-wide financial statements CAFR Special purpose governments Deferred outflows of resources and deferred inflows of resources
Governmental Accounting and Auditing Update by Melisa F. Galasso
Publication Date: 2020-06-19
Description: Be prepared for change by ensuring that you are current in accounting and auditing developments affecting government. Learn the latest accounting and auditing developments affecting governments by covering these hot topics: Risk assessment Documentation Leases Yellow Book Major program determination New GASB pronouncements
International Taxation by Adnan Islam
Publication Date: 2020-07-29
Description: Whether your organization is contemplating a global move or is already involved in international business, you need to know about the activities that create multi-jurisdictional tax exposure and the required tax reporting for each relevant jurisdiction. Information is provided for Tax Reform and the impact of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, this guide covers international tax terminology and regulations that apply to a U.S. entity involved in global operations, or for a foreign entity doing business in the United States. Key topics include: Export income Receipts in foreign currency Allocation and apportionment of deductions U.S. foreign tax credit fundamentals and special rules Initiation of foreign operations Foreign branches and affiliated companies Sale of use of tangible property Foreign business operations in the United States Foreign business sales of tangible property in the United States Foreign business provision of services in the United States Exploitation of business assets outside of the United States Use of foreign tangible/intangible property in the United States U.S. withholding taxes on foreign businesses FDII GILTI
Managing Indirect Spend by Joe Payne; William R. Dorn; David Pastore; Jennifer Ulrich
Publication Date: 2021-05-14
Description: Managing corporate spend is far more complex than conducting RFPs. Learn how the most efficient and effective procurement departments operate, control costs, enforce compliance, and manage indirect spend. Managing Indirect Spend provides executives and procurement professionals with the knowledge and tools necessary to successfully reduce costs with a strong focus on the often-overlooked area of indirect spend. It also offers great value to those procurement and purchasing professionals aspiring to be leaders in the profession, regardless of the spend they manage. It includes an overview of the challenges faced when sourcing indirect spend categories, a detailed dive into the strategic sourcing process, tools that can help drive savings, technologies that drive efficiencies and compliance, and examples of success based on real-world experience. It is a how-to guide that clearly covers sourcing engagements of any complexity and provides the details needed to source effectively. The book is structured into sections covering the sourcing and procurement process, the tools and technologies, examples from the field, walkthroughs of specific sourcing engagements, guidance on building an effective sourcing team, and the information needed to become a best-in-class sourcing organization. Since the initial publication of this book, the procurement profession and the discipline of Strategic Sourcing have matured. Markets have changed, processes developed, trends have come and gone, and technology has experienced leaps and bounds, posing new and interesting challenges for procurement professionals. In addition to covering tried-and-true practices for strategic sourcing, this Second Edition discusses how strategic sourcing has evolved and provides an update on the techniques, tools, and resources available to purchasing groups. This book: Includes updated coverage of everything you need to know to source more effectively Covers the latest trends in procurement and sourcing, including technology, process improvements and organizational design Presents guidance for reducing costs through strategic sourcing, no matter what the economic climate or level of maturity of the existing procurement organization Shows how effectively managing indirect costs can provide a huge impact on bott m line growth Introduces Market Intelligence (MI), including techniques, tools, and resources available to procurement and supply chain management groups With tools, real-world examples, and practical strategies, Managing Indirect Spend provides insider guidance for big bottom-line growth through effective management of indirect costs.
Measuring Business Interruption Losses and Other Commercial Damages by Patrick A. Gaughan
Publication Date: 2020-06-21
Description: Measure business interruption losses with confidence You hope for the best and plan for the worst. It's your job. But when the unimaginable happens, are you truly prepared for those business interruption losses? Measuring Business Interruption Losses and Other Commercial Damages is the only book in the field that explains the complicated process of measuring business interruption damages after you've been hit by the unexpected, whether the losses are from natural or man-made disasters, or whether the performance of one company adversely affects the performance of another. Understand the methodology for how lost profits should be measured Deal with the many common types of cases in business interruption lawsuits in commercial litigation Take a look at exhibits, tables, and graphs Benefit from updated data, case studies, and case law references Don't get caught off guard. Get ahead of planning for measuring your interruption losses before disaster strikes.
Multistate Income Tax by Andrew Johnson
Publication Date: 2020-07-29
Description: Does a business have nexus in a particular jurisdiction? With the rate of change, you can't afford to be out-of-date with your knowledge of this critical tax area. Spotlighting updates on the latest on state tax reforms and the Wayfair Decision, this guide will help you to develop a working knowledge of both multistate tax compliance and related planning opportunities, so you can skillfully guide your clients through the maze of multistate corporate tax codes. Key topics covered include: Constitutional limits and P.L. 86-272 Nexus, UDITPA, MTC Calculation of state taxable income Filing methods for multistate taxpayers Apportionment and allocation Multistate income tax planning Audit defense strategies
Property and Liability Insurance Entities 2019 by AICPA
Publication Date: 2020-02-07
Description: Stay up−to−date on current GAAP and statutory accounting and audit guidance for property and liability insurance entities. This guide provides a good grounding on the industry, its products and regulatory issues, and the related transaction cycles that a property and liability insurance entity is involved with. Relevant guidance contained in standards issued through September 1, 2019, is covered, including the following: FASB ASU No. 2017−12, Derivatives and Hedging (Topic 815): Targeted Improvements to Accounting for Hedging Activities SSAP No. 26R, Bonds SSAP No. 43R, Loan-backed and Structured Securities SSAP No. 97, Investments in Subsidiary, Controlled and Affiliated Entities Revised for SSAP No. 101, Income Taxes, and NAIC INT 18−03, Additional Elements Under the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act Key topics covered: Understand current GAAP and statutory accounting for property and liability insurance entities. Get authoritative accounting and auditing guidance applicable to property and liability Understand current GAAP and statutory accounting for property and liability insurance entities. Get authoritative accounting and auditing guidance applicable to property and liability insurance entities. Properly develop an audit plan for auditing loss reserves. Easily educate your staff on property and liability insurance.
Public Company Update by BDO USA
Publication Date: 2020-08-05
Description: Developed for corporate financial reporting managers and independent auditors, this book will help them stay abreast of changes and modifications to the requirements for public companies, their management, and auditors. Included are: The latest pronouncements, regulations, and guidance issued by the SEC and PCAOB as they apply to the filings and audits of this reporting cycle. What these organizations are planning and/or saying about the future. Key developments which may affect your company or auditing firm. In addition, emerging issues, trends, and new resources are provided so that accountants and financial managers can stay out front.
Real Frauds Found in Governments by Lynda Dennis
Publication Date: 2020-06-29
Description: Frauds in governments are as unique as government entities themselves. In this book, you will learn about real-world government fraud, including cyber fraud, and your responsibilities when dealing with government. Analyzing several unique frauds that occurred in the sector, this book offers a comprehensive learning approach using examples, explanations of audit standards, and informative case studies. Key topics include: misappropriation of assets, external financial reporting, cyber fraud, management override, and improper use of procurement cards.
Revenue Recognition by Renee Rampulla
Publication Date: 2020-08-23
Description: For years, revenue recognition has been the cause of audit failures and the focus of corporate abuse and fraud allegations. Today, there is FASB ASC 606, a new standard which is critical to understand before it can be successfully implemented. Supported by practical examples, industry specific real-life scenarios, and more than a dozen exercises, this work will assist you in avoiding revenue recognition traps and provide you with the latest FASB guidance. You will gain an in-depth understanding of the revenue recognition framework that is built around the core principles of this new five-step process. In addition, you will gain a better understanding of the changes in disclosure requirements. Key topics covered include: Background, purpose, and main provisions of new standard (FASB ASC 606) Transition guidance Five-step process for recognizing revenue Disclosure requirements Implementation guidance -- contracts, tax matters, internal controls, IT
SEC Reporting by BDO USA
Publication Date: 2020-05-28
Description: This title clarifies new, difficult, and important reporting and disclosure requirements for SEC Reporting. You'll learn: The latest SEC developments and hot buttons. How to apply regulations S-X, S-K, and other SEC guidance. How to prepare and review financial statements and their related disclosures. It includes AS 3101, The Auditor's Report on an Audit of Financial Statements When the Auditor Expresses an Unqualified Opinion.
SOC for Supply Chain by AICPA
Publication Date: 2020-05-29
Description: Internal and external forces such as globalization, global interconnectivity, automation, and other technological advancements are making today's supply chains highly sophisticated and complex. For organizations that produce, manufacture or distribute products, there's often a high level of interdependence and connectivity with their suppliers and their customers and business partners. Although the interconnectedness of these organizations can be beneficial (increased revenues, expanded market opportunities, and cost reduction), the ability of organizations to meet their goals is often increasingly dependent on events, processes, and controls that are not visible and are often beyond their control - such as a supplier's controls. That's why the demand for transparency in supply chains is now higher than ever before, and why this is the perfect time for you to help organizations assess their supply chain risks, evaluate the system controls within their manufacturing, production, or distribution systems, and communicate their supply chain management efforts to those with whom they do business. Accountants and financial managers can also increase the credibility of the supply chain information communicated by the organization by providing an opinion on the organization's supply chain efforts. This guide enables the accountant and financial manager to examine and report on the description of a system for manufacturing, producing and distributing goods as well as on the controls within that system using a dynamic, proactive, and agile approach. It will show how to conduct this examination in accordance with the attestation standards. The guide may also be helpful when providing readiness assessments to clients, who are not quite ready for an examination level service and need help to get there. The guide also includes excerpts from the two distinct, but complementary sets of criteria developed by the AICPA to assist practitioners with SOC for Supply Chain engagements: the description criteria and the 2017 trust services criteria.
Taxation Essentials of LLCs and Partnerships by Larry Tunnell; Robert Ricketts
Publication Date: 2020-05-27
Description: This book helps addresses the tax consequences of the most common transactions engaged in by limited liability corporations (LLCs)and partnerships. You will develop a level of comfort with the basic conceptual framework underlying partnership and LLC taxation, as well as gain an explanation of the tax consequences associated with issues most frequently confronted by tax practitioners. Topics covered include: basic tax structure of partnerships and LLCs; electing to be taxed as a partnership: "check-the-box" rules; tax consequences of partnership or LLC formation; partnership distributions; compensatory payments to partners; at-risk and passive activity limits; profit and loss allocations: general rules and restrictions; and reporting taxable income for partnerships and LLCs.
The Controller's Toolkit by Christine H. Doxey
Publication Date: 2021-02-03
Description: The Controller's Toolkit will provide finance and accounting professionals with a series of tools across specific areas of controllership responsibilities. The tools included in this toolkit were recommended by corporate, plant, and business unit controllers from both small and global companies. This toolkit will enable aspiring, new and current controllers to take a giant leap forward and gain proficiency as finance and accounting leaders. The tools consist of templates, checklists, roadmaps, review sheets, internal controls, policies, and procedures that can be easily implemented. Tools are provided for business ethics, corporate governance, regulatory compliance, risk management, security, IT processes, and financial operations. Besides the technical requirements of the controllership, this toolkit will also recommend "soft" skills such as leadership and communication.
The Master Guide to Controllers' Best Practices by Elaine Stattler (Editor); Joyce Anne Grabel (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020-06-12
Description: The essential guide for today's savvy controllers Today's controllers are in leadership roles that put them in the unique position to see across all aspects of the operations they support. The Master Guide to Controllers' Best Practices, Second Edition has been revised and updated to provide controllers with the information they need to successfully monitor their organizations' internal control environments and offer direction and consultation on internal control issues. In addition, the authors include guidance to help controllers carryout their responsibilities to ensure that all financial accounts are reviewed for reasonableness and are reconciled to supporting transactions, as well as performing asset verification. Comprehensive in scope the book contains the best practices for controllers and: Reveals how to set the right tone within an organization and foster an ethical climate Includes information on risk management, internal controls, and fraud prevention Highlights the IT security controls with the key components of successful governance Examines the crucial role of the controller in corporate compliance and much more The Master Guide to Controllers' Best Practices should be on the bookshelf of every controller who wants to ensure the well-being of their organization.
The New Accounts Payable Toolkit by Christine H. Doxey
Publication Date: 2021-05-07
Description: THE NEW ACCOUNTS PAYABLE TOOLKIT In The New Accounts Payable Toolkit, accomplished entrepreneur, consultant, and finance expert Christine H. Doxey delivers a unique and powerful approach to the accounts payable process and discusses the impact of the automation of the Procure to Pay (P2P) process. The toolkit explores all aspects of the accounts payable process, from the establishment of the contract and the purchase order to the supplier validation process, invoice processing and payment, accounting, and fiscal close. You'll learn the key metrics and analytics needed for the accounts payable process. This comprehensive toolkit provides the best practices, tools, and internal controls that can help safeguard your company's cash and other assets. You'll obtain a variety of tools to create the foundation required for current internal controls and compliance to ensure that suppliers are correctly validated in the supplier master file to maintain regulatory compliance. Avoid paying fraudulent or inaccurate invoices and avoid paying a supplier's invoice more than once. Be certain that all supplier invoices are properly accounted for to ensure an accurate fiscal close. Finally, stay up to date with all current and coming trends in the accounts payable process, including eInvoicing, ePayment, Robotic Process Automation (RPA), Artificial Intelligence (AI), Machine Learning, and eAccounting. The New Accounts Payable Toolkit provides guidance for the implementation of AP automation solutions that can streamline and modernize your own systems and processes to take advantage of new digital developments. Perfect for controllers, chief financial officers, and finance managers, The New Accounts Payable Toolkit will also earn a place in the libraries of students and professionals who seek to better understand the components of an optimal accounts payable. UNCOVER A UNIQUE AND POWERFUL NEW APPROACH TO ACCOUNTS PAYABLE PROCESSES The New Accounts Payable Toolkit offers readers a comprehensive and timely new way of handling their accounts payable systems and processes. You'll discover how to implement new digital technologies in every aspect of the accounts payable process, from the establishment of the initial contract and purchase order to the supplier validation process, invoice processing and payment, accounting, and fiscal close. You'll learn to validate suppliers in the master list to ensure regulatory compliance, prevent multiple payments for a single invoice, keep from paying fraudulent, inaccurate, or incomplete invoices, and apply best practices to help safeguard your company's assets. You'll also discover how to measure and record key metrics and analytics to maintain an effective accounts payable process. Finally, you'll read about new and upcoming trends in accounts payable, like artificial intelligence, machine learning, and robotic process automation that you can implement today to realize new efficiencies and savings. Ideal for chief financial officers, finance managers, and controllers, The New Accounts Payable Toolkit is an invaluable guide to modernizing and optimizing your own company's accounts payable processes and systems.