Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 49 - September 2019): Globe Law & Business

Price : £154

The joint operating agreement (JOA) is probably one of the most relevant agreements in the upstream sector. The costs and risks involved in any upstream project are likely to be too great for any company to bear alone, and that's why it is fairly common for oil and gas companies to combine their efforts with others through joint ventures. The costs of a joint venture are usually controlled through mechanisms such as work programmmes and budgets, authorisations of expenditure, and the awarding of contracts. But none of these mechanisms are going to regulate when and how the operator can issue a cash call, how the operator can charge the costs related to the joint venture, or how a non-operator can audit those costs. All of these detailed financial controls are exercised through agreed accounting procedures. Usually, these accounting procedures are set out in an attachment to the JOA. The attachment can be fairly lengthy and complex since it deals with one of the key issues of the consortium: expenditure. If the accounting procedures do not establish clear rules in that area, costs and associated exposure could increase significantly for the parties involved.This new publication analyses and explores in detail what accounting procedures should apply, what the main issues are for an operator and a non-operator; and how the standard model forms address those issues. Several sets of JOA model forms (from AIPN, OGUK, Greenland and Norway, for example) are explored. Through the book, international oil companies, independents, national oil companies, legal advisers and consultants can learn how to perfect their accounting procedures and understand the risks and issues that they might face in the future.

Price : £185

This is the first volume in a major two-part work providing a country-by-country analysis of African oil and gas. Divided into north and central Africa (Volume I) and east, west and southern Africa (Volume II), the book details the oil and gas frameworks and the key concerns in the most significant jurisdictions.

Price : £130

A Lawyer's Guide to Marketing and Business Development. In today's market it takes more than legal acumen and experience for a law firm to be successful. Managing and developing a legal practice has never been more challenging or competitive. Business development is vital to both retaining existing clients and developing new ones, and central to law firm management and strategy. This practical guide, edited and directed by Stephen Revell, takes readers through the tools and skills needed to implement effective business development, including the importance of good communications and public relations. It addresses the prominence of the client perspective and looks at the regulation and ethics behind business development and what the future of business development looks like. It also answers the questions - can you teach business development and can lawyers sell? The chapters cover the practical elements - such as the nuts and bolts of experience lists and what the perfect pitch looks like - as well as the strategic elements - including the variety of structures and approaches to business development at all sizes of law firms.A Lawyer's Guide to Marketing and Business Development is a one-stop shop on business development for lawyers in private practice, but it will also be of interest to in-house lawyers and academics.

Price : £195

'Cash is King' - and presumably, will remain king for a long time to come. This viewpoint is more relevant since the 2008 international financial crisis. Banks are still hesitant to provide credit lines to companies, whether national or cross-border. High interest rates are charged on debt but hardly any interest is paid on credit amounts. More than ever before, companies need to limit both debit and credit amounts. Pooling cash within a corporate group or among companies enables the best use of the funds available at as little cost as possible, thus strengthening the financial position of the companies involved. Cash pooling is thereby a means of reducing the risk of insolvency during difficult economic times. This title draws together practitioners from a range of countries, who provide detailed analysis on theprovisions in their jurisdiction for cash pooling and insolvency.

Price : £258

Company Formation: A Practical Global Guide, Third Edition is an updated and expanded edition of this popular title on how to set up a company in a wide range of jurisdictions.The major work now in two volumes features practical coverage of a wide range of legal issues, including administration of the company, capital stock, company reorganisation, dissolution, domicile, equity, financial statements, incorporation and tax.New to the third edition are agreements setting forth the relationship between the shareholders and the company (ie, the bylaws or articles of incorporation). This supplement to the new edition provides comprehensive and practical coverage of the legal issues concerning the creation, operation and taxation of the various types of corporation in the countries featured.This book is essential reading for all lawyers who advise companies on setting up in a new jurisdiction and heads of business planning to expand their companies on the global market.

Price : £120

This book will provide an overview of the BRICS nations. Each chapter is authored by experienced lawyers, who will provide insights on demography, political and legal systems (including investment regulations, competition policies, IP laws, taxation and labour laws) in a clear and comprehensive manner. The book will serve as a preliminary and practical guide for lawyers, investors, corporations and entrepreneurs regarding the mode and methods of doing business in these jurisdictions.

Price : £145

Energy and Natural Resources Financing in Practice covers financing across the energy and natural resources spectrum, from upstream oil and gas, pipelines and liquefied natural gas through to refineries, and from conventional power and renewable energy to nuclear power and mining.

Price : £120

Recognition of the power and importance of businesses controlled by family shareholder groups has grown steadily over the past 30 years. Apologies for working in the family business in the 1980s and 1990s have been replaced by public pride on the parts of leaders of family controlled firms for their enduring growth under family control and contributions to all stakeholders in the enterprise.What has been missing from the business literature is a guide to the processes, structures and interventions that assist family-controlled enterprises to sustain continuity of growth, family control and family harmony. This book compiles the wisdom of experienced leaders of family growth companies and those who advise them, focusing on what works to sustain business success without sacrificing family relationships or control. Each of the contributors is grounded in deep management or professional expertise guiding or advising family-controlled enterprises. And each chapter contains clear, practical advice on how to address issues that challenge family firm leaders and their advisers on a regular basis.This new book demonstrates to members of family shareholder control groups, their non-family executives and members of the boards of directors, as well as lawyers and other long-term advisers, that there are ways to address the emotionally powerful issues and challenges that are specific to family controlled enterprises. Many of these proven solutions to the special requirements of leading family firms have broad global applications, assisting them to grow, without sacrificing their culture or strategy.

Price : £160

This practical guide features contributions by leading industry specialists on a wide range of issues arising at all stages of a private investment fund`s life cycle. Topics covered include formation and structuring, regulatory matters, limited partner issues and negotiations, deal-level considerations, environmental concerns and end-of-fund-life procedures, as well as jurisdictional/offshore matters, their jurisdictional differences and choice drivers.

Price : £138

This new book aims to provide foreign insurers and intermediaries looking to enter the market with practical, up-to-date guidance on setting up in the MENA region. The countries featured in the book are Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Egypt, Lebanon, Jordan, Morocco, and Tunisia. Please visit our website at www.globelawandbusiness.com for further details.

Price : £135

This new second edition features fully updated, insightful chapters by leading practitioners in Islamic financing (including from Hogan Lovells, White & Case and Taylor Wessing), and analyses market trends, key developments and structures for sukuk, syndications, funds, takaful, project financing and Islamic liquidity management. New to the second edition are chapters on the regulation of Islamic finance and an overview of the sukuk market.

Price : £125

This practical new handbook explores the various elements required to manage talent effectively. It illustrates how law firms can significantly increase the performance, engagement and retention of their lawyers by giving them the tools to develop and to support the development of others. It also describes the need to align HR and law firm strategy through talent management, and to adapt leadership and talent management best practices to law firm structures and challenges.

Price : £140

This book draws together the experience of the global technology and sourcing team at DLA Piper in order to address the complete lifecycle of an outsourcing contract and the variety of legal and contractual issues that can arise in connection with such a project, from the initial genesis of the proposal to outsource all the way through the procurement process and onto post-contract signature contract management. It also breaks down the core outsourcing contract into its constituent parts, explains the rationale for the relevant provisions (from both a customer and service provider perspective), and provides guidance as to current market practice, options and trends.

Price : £148

Featuring chapters from Uria Menendez, Deneys Reitz Inc and Minter Ellison, this first edition covers key issues that can arise in relation to product regulation, recall, liability and insurance coverage in a number of jurisdictions in Europe, North America, South America and Asia.

Price : £128

Repo and stock lending are now global markets, covering a huge variety of underlying assets and encompassing an ever-widening range of participants, each with a different set of motivations. Their use has increased exponentially since the financial crisis began, and the markets have become more sophisticated and accessible.This practical title features contributions from leading industry participants as well as lawyers who practise in this diverse field. The content gives an overview of the respective markets and examines products ranging from vanilla bilateral transactions to agency, tri-party, cleared and structured transactions. It also includes specialist chapters on legal and regulatory issues, documentation, regulatory capital, tax and accounting. Together, the contributors provide in one volume a comprehensive overview of all aspects of the repo and stock-lending markets.Whatever your role and whether you are new to the markets or a seasoned practitioner, this commercially focused title will serve as an invaluable reference tool and provide you with holistic insight into the business and law of repo and stock lending.

Price : £138

This book examines the spectrum of risks posed to the development, financing, construction and operation of trans-boundary energy infrastructure and the tools that may be deployed to manage these risks

Price : £115

This new book has been prepared by a number of well-known and authoritative authors, the majority of whom are from Anglo-Saxon jurisdictions, but with experience in civil law jurisdictions as well. Chapters address financial risks (which have been an important factor in recent collapses of law firms), risks brought by clients as well as risks associated with quality, conflict, hiring and practice integration procedures.