Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 45 - September 2019) : World Scientific: Business and Management

Price : $202

The Handbook of Business Practices and Growth in Emerging Markets consists of a collection of specially commissioned chapters that describe the current business environment, organizational culture, consumer behavior, financial investment climate, and examples of best prevailing practices in emerging markets. It covers all the major functional areas of business -- marketing, strategy, operations and finance -- in all continents. The focus of each chapter is on the identification of different business issues in different emerging markets (including Asia, Africa and South America) and on the implementation of a proposed set of recommendations, using both qualitative and quantitative techniques to assist in decision-making and in improving organizational efficiency and effectiveness. Readers will also appreciate the multidimensional view of financial and non-financial performance measurement of businesses.Specifically, the goal of this research-based handbook is to provide a comprehensive guide for business students and managers by discussing a range of issues from the diverse emerging markets and enabling them to develop a strategic mindset for a market-oriented culture. Given the changing business dynamics, government policies and demands in industries, this handbook is both timely and topical.

Price : $185

The Handbook of Microfinance showcases an expansive collection of works from leading academics and field practitioners. In an attempt to understand the enormous gap between the limited number of clients that are currently benefiting from microfinance services, and the huge number of potential clients that are not, the selected contributions in this comprehensive handbook have one common thread: the prevailing mismatch between demand by clients of microfinance institutions and potential clients selecting themselves out for their demand for a wider array of financial products which is not being met.The scope of the book is wide, and explores successes and failures, main challenges and debates, methodologies for impact evaluation via random trials, leading trends in Asia versus Latin America, main efforts in Africa, the importance of value chains in Central America, ethical and gender issues, savings, microinsurance, governance, commercialization trends and the potential advantages and disadvantages of it. This exhaustive Handbook also features main lessons from informal finance and 19th-century credit cooperatives addressing the above-mentioned mismatch.

Price : $371

A growing heterogeneity of demand, the advent of ';long tail markets';, exploding product complexities, and the rise of creative consumers are challenging companies in all industries to find new strategies to address these trends. Mass customization (MC) has emerged in the last decade as the premier strategy for companies in all branches of industry to profit from heterogeneity of demand and a broad scope of other customer demands.The research and practical experience collected in this book presents the latest thinking on how to make mass customization work. More than 50 authors from academia and management debate on what is viable now, what did not work in the past, and what lurks just below the radar in mass customization, personalization, and related fields.Edited by two leading authorities in the field of mass customization, both volumes of the book discuss, among many other themes, the latest research and insights on customization strategies, product design for mass customization, virtual models, co-design toolkits, customization value measurement, open source architecture, customization communities, and MC supply chains. Through a number of detailed case studies, prominent examples of mass customization are explained and evaluated in larger context and perspective.

Price : $96

This handbook in two parts covers key topics of the theory of financial decision making. Some of the papers discuss real applications or case studies as well. There are a number of new papers that have never been published before especially in Part II.Part I is concerned with Decision Making Under Uncertainty. This includes subsections on Arbitrage, Utility Theory, Risk Aversion and Static Portfolio Theory, and Stochastic Dominance. Part II is concerned with Dynamic Modeling that is the transition for static decision making to multiperiod decision making. The analysis starts with Risk Measures and then discusses Dynamic Portfolio Theory, Tactical Asset Allocation and Asset-Liability Management Using Utility and Goal Based Consumption-Investment Decision Models.A comprehensive set of problems both computational and review and mind expanding with many unsolved problems are in an accompanying problems book. The handbook plus the book of problems form a very strong set of materials for PhD and Masters courses both as the main or as supplementary text in finance theory, financial decision making and portfolio theory. For researchers, it is a valuable resource being an up to date treatment of topics in the classic books on these topics by Johnathan Ingersoll in 1988, and William Ziemba and Raymond Vickson in 1975 (updated 2nd edition published in 2006).

Price : $183

Handbook of the Management of Creativity and Innovation: Theory and Practice is a collection of theories and practices for the effective management of creativity and innovation, contributed by a group of European experts from the fields of psychology, education, business, engineering, and law. Adopting an interdisciplinary and intercultural approach, this book offers rich perspectives — both theoretical and practical — on how to manage creativity and innovation effectively in different domains and across cultures.

This book appeals to students, teachers, researchers, and managers who are interested in creative and innovative behavior, and its management. Although the authors are from the fields of psychology education, business, engineering, and law, readers from all disciplines will find the coverage of this book beneficial in deepening their understanding of creativity and innovation, and helping them to identify the right approaches for managing creativity and innovation in an intercultural context.

Price : $193

This handbook covers the vast field of business information systems, focusing particularly on developing information systems to capture and integrate information technology together with the people and their businesses.Part I of the book, "Health Care Information Systems", focuses on providing global leadership for the optimal use of health care information technology (IT). It provides knowledge about the best use of information systems for the betterment of health care services. Part II, "Business Process Information Systems", extends the previous theory in the area of process development by recognizing that improvements in intra-organizational business processes need to be complemented by corresponding improvements in inter-organizational processes. Part III deals with "Industrial Data and Management Systems" and captures the main challenges faced by the industry, such as the changes in the operations paradigm of manufacturing and service organizations. Finally, Part IV, "Evaluation of Business Information Systems", discusses the empirical investigation into the adoption of systems development methodologies and the security pattern of the business systems along with the mathematical models.

Price : $118

The book highlights emerging topics in key areas of corporate governance with special emphasis on traditionally unexplored issues. It also aims to stimulate thinking and debate on vital aspects of practice and approaches to corporate governance. The topics covered in this book deal with timely subjects, written by eminent academics and renowned professionals with outstanding expertise in their respective fields, who bring to fore the latest theories and provide an up-to-date overview of the extant literature on each topic. More importantly, they draw readers attention to implications for future research and developments. The book not only contributes to the academic literature but also improves the decision making of regulators and investors.

Price : $157

International political economy (IPE) is a highly complex discipline, drawing not only from the fields of politics and economics, but also those as varied as philosophy, history and anthropology. Now widely accepted as a key dimension to contemporary world affairs, it is no longer possible to talk about international relations without talking about production and distribution, finance and investment, as well as consumption and trade. To ensure that our understanding of these topics is relevant to today's world, there is a constant need to revisit and challenge what is known about these topics. Besides being a comprehensive account of international political economy for academic study, this extensive collection also highlights salient issues that scholars, analysts and state leaders are most concerned with in today's world. Amongst these are issues concerning the rise of China and India as new economic superpowers, stability in the EU's political economy, the viability of the existing multilateral system of global trade, recent financial crises, as well as the impact of globalisation and marketisation on the world's workers and our physical environment. With contributions from prominent academics such as Susan K Sell (George Washington University, D.C.) and Geoffrey Blainey (Professor Emeritus, University of Melbourne), this volume makes for both a stimulating and thought-provoking read.

Price : $181

The World Scientific Handbook of Futures Markets serves as a definitive source for comprehensive and accessible information in futures markets. The emphasis is on the unique characteristics of futures markets that make them worthy of a special volume. In our judgment, futures markets are currently undergoing remarkable changes as trading is shifting from open outcry to electronic and as the traditional functions of hedging and speculation are extended to include futures as an alternative investment vehicle in traditional portfolios. The unique feature of this volume is the selection of five classic papers that lay the foundations of the futures markets and the invitation to the leading academics who do work in the area to write critical surveys in a dozen important topics.

Price : $1170

This Handbook covers major topics in global health economics and public policy and provides a timely, systematic review of the field. Edited by Richard M Scheffler, Distinguished Professor of Health Economics and Public Policy and Director of the Global Center for Health Economics and Policy Research at the University of California, Berkeley, the Handbook features academics and practitioners from more than a dozen countries. Contributors are from the London School of Economics and Political Science, Pompeu Fabra University in Barcelona, University of York, University of Oslo, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University of California - Berkeley, Stanford University, Johns Hopkins University, University of Toronto, University of Oxford, Harvard Medical School, OECD, the World Health Organization and the World Bank, many of whom have also acted as economic and policy advisors to government and non-governmental organizations across the world.

Price : $1170

This multi-volume set focuses on a topic of growing interest to academics, policymakers, university administrators, state and regional economic development officials, and students: entrepreneurship. In recent years, we have witnessed a proliferation of entrepreneurship courses, programs, and initiatives at universities. Universities have also become entrepreneurial hubs, as they commercialize research via patents, licenses, and startup companies. It is also important to note that entrepreneurship cuts across numerous fields in business administration, such as management, strategy, operations management, finance, marketing, and accounting, as well as across numerous social science disciplines, including economics, sociology, political science, and psychology.

Volume 1 is a comprehensive analysis of entrepreneurial universities, highlighting efforts undertaken by numerous universities to partner with industry and develop an entrepreneurial culture on campus and in the surrounding region. Volume 2 is focused on entrepreneurial finance, containing chapters on salient topics such as venture capital, angel investors, initial public offerings (IPOs), and crowdfunding. Volume 3 presents evidence on entrepreneurial opportunities relating to sustainability and other forms of corporate social responsibility, social entrepreneurship, and ethical issues that arise in the context of entrepreneurial activity. Volume 4 provides global evidence on university technology transfer and academic entrepreneurship. This set is required reading for those who want a full understanding of the managerial, financial, and public policy implications of entrepreneurship.

Price : $722

This volume is part of the multivolume set on Globalisation in Eurasia and the Pacific Rim. It depicts the key region of the world, "Eurasia and the Pacific Rim", which contains four of the biggest emerging economies, a large number of highly dynamic small- and medium-sized emerging economies, and one of the leading advanced industrial countries. It is also the region that has some of the biggest hydrocarbon and mineral deposits in the world, and some of the most energy- and metal-hungry economies in the world. With half the world's population, it is considered one of the most dynamic regions of the globe in terms of population movement, providing a key focus of foreign investment, both inwards and outwards, with a high degree of technological dynamism. The region plays a central role in the industrial supply networks of the globe.

Price : $483

Over the last three decades, wine economics has emerged as a growing field within agricultural economics, but also in other fields such as finance, trade, growth, environmental economics and industrial organization. Wine has a few characteristics that differentiate it from other agricultural commodities, rendering it an interesting topic for economists in general. Fine wine can regularly fetch bottle prices that exceed several thousand dollars. It can be stored a long time and may increase in value with age. Fine wine quality and prices are extraordinarily sensitive to fluctuations in the weather of the year in which the grapes were grown. And wine is an experience good, i.e., its quality cannot be ascertained before consumption. As a result, consumers often rely on "expert opinion" regarding quality and maturation prospects.

This handbook takes a broad approach and familiarizes the reader with the main research strands in wine economics.

After a general introduction to wine economics by Karl Storchmann, Volume 1 focuses on the core areas of wine economics. The first papers shed light on the relevance of the vineyard's natural environment for wine quality and prices. "Predicting the Quality and Prices of Bordeaux Wine" by Orley Ashenfelter is a classic paper and may be the first wine economics publication ever. Ashenfelter shows how weather influences the quality and the price of Bordeaux Grands Crus wine. Since the weather condition of the year when the grapes were grown is known, an econometric analysis may be constructed. It turns out this model outperforms expert opinion, i.e., critical vintage scores. At best, expert opinion reflects public information. The subsequent papers, by Ashenfelter and Storchmann, Gergaud and Ginsburgh, and Cross, Plantinga and Stavins, tackle the terroir question. That is, they examine the relevance of a vineyard's physical characteristics for wine quality and prices, but from various dimensions and with different results.

Price : $527

This multi-volume set covers a wide range of topics on innovation, which are all of great interest to academics, policymakers, university administrators, state and regional economic development officials, and students. Two unique features of the volume are the large body of global evidence on innovation presented and its consideration of the following timely and important topics in innovation: cybersecurity, open innovation, the globalization of R&D, and university technology transfer. Innovation is a topic of great importance in many fields in business administration, such as management, strategy, operations management, finance, marketing, and accounting, as well as in numerous social science disciplines, including economics, sociology, political science, and psychology. This volume fully reflects such interdisciplinary approaches.

Volume 1 provides extensive global evidence on university technology transfer and innovation partnerships. Volume 2 is focused on the managerial and public policy implications of the globalization of R&D. Volume 3 presents state-of-the-art theoretical and empirical evidence on open innovation. Volume 4 is a comprehensive analysis of cybersecurity. This set is essential reading for those who wish to have a comprehensive understanding of the antecedents and consequences of innovation.

Price : $483

Volume 1 of "The Strategic Analysis of Financial Markets," — Framework, is premised on the belief that markets can be understood only by dropping the assumptions of rationality and efficient markets in their extreme forms, and showing that markets still have an inherent order and inherent logic. But that order results primarily from the "predictable irrationality" of investors, as well as from people's uncoordinated attempts to profit. The market patterns that result do not rely on rationality or efficiency.
Volume 2 of "The Strategic Analysis of Financial Markets" — Trading System Analytics, continues the development of Volume 1 by introducing tools and techniques for developing trading systems and by illustrating them using real markets. The difference between these two Volumes and the rest of the literature is its rigor. It describes trading as a form of gambling that when properly executed, is quite logical, and is well known to professional gamblers and analytical traders.

Price : $1170

The WSPC Reference on Natural Resources and Environmental Policy in the Era of Global Change provides a comprehensive and prominent reference of various highly authoritative volumes of long-term scientific value, for milestone concepts and theories. The books in the reference set are edited by leading experts in the fields of: Game Theory, International Relations and Global Politics, Computable General Equilibrium (CGE): Economy-Wide Modeling, and Experimental Economics. Each book in the reference set includes chapters that are laid out by recognized, broadly respected researchers, in fields associated with issues related to natural resources and environmental policy in the era of global change. The reference set focuses on the economic and strategic aspects of interactions among various parts of society, all dependent on the availability and utilization of limited natural resources and their impact on the environment. Policy implications are addressed, including current challenges and future perspectives.