Recommending Books for Purchase (Bulletin 37 - June 2019): OB & HR

Price: £ 24.99/-

When you start a new managerial role, there is an inevitable contrast between what you believed you would find and what you're actually faced with. And Now What?helps you manage this gap between expectation and reality, ensuring that you get off to the best possible start in your new job. This book is structured in two parts, and it begins by offering readers a panoramic perspective of what a 'landing' entails in terms of personal self-leadership and managing people and uncertainty. The first part of the book reviews the process of taking charge in your new role, from preparation through to implementation. The second part presents a range of case studies arranged in order of increasing professional responsibility, allowing the reader to take a trip from the first stages of a professional leader's life to the highest responsibilities of a chairperson's role - experiencing changes, promotions, exits, internationalizations and take-offs along the way. The most important thing for a leader is not to discover how to motivate, but to better understand their reasons for motivating others. In this way, you can think of the leadership journey as both a personal and a professional adventure.

Price: € 99.99/-

This book shows how the Bhagavad Gītā (part of the great Indian epic -- the Mahābhārata) can be approached as a powerful tool for change management and as a catalyst for organizational transformation. It presents time-tested leadership strategies drawn from the Bhagavad Gītā that are relevant for today's leaders. This book focuses on how to harmonize the needs of the individual with the needs of society, and by extension, how to harmonize the needs of employees and the organization. It employs an inside-out leadership development approach based on Self-knowledge and Self-mastery, the two highly important areas for practicing effective Self-leadership. The Gītā is a non-sectarian spiritual text with a universal message for living a life of meaning, purpose, and contribution and for leading from our authentic self. It shows how to manage oneself, as a necessary prelude to leading others. Students and organizational leaders will learn to integrate leadership function more effectively into all aspects at the individual, team, and institutional level. 

Price: £ 39.99/-

'Designing Creative Organizations' is one of the first books to cover ways to organize creativity, innovation and business model development in a way that provides a seamless transition from an idea generated through team brainstorming to a business solution. It provides systematic ways to design new business models, and how to choose technologies to support them. By defining agility as continuous business model innovation, the book describes how organizations can become agile in an increasingly complex and disruptive world. Drawing on current developments, the book examines both large and medium-sized organizations successfully creating a design-centric culture to encourage innovation in their products and in the ways that they engage with clients. Design-centric culture is seen here as one where people throughout the business ask the question: 'how do I design my business to make things work better', rather than 'how do I use the existing system to do something'. This book will be of value to all those who are designing business systems in volatile environments and for students and researchers of innovation, design thinking, business model design and product development.

Price: £ 77.95/-

International Perspectives on Equality, Diversity and Inclusion examines the complex nature of equality, diversity and inclusion in the world of work through interdisciplinary, comparative and critical perspectives. Authors are encouraged to provide cross-national and multi-dimensional insights through comparative analysis and to bring insights from across the disciplines of social sciences and humanities. The series elicits critical scholarship through its focus on structures of inequality in relations of power in exploring issues of EDI at work.

Price: £ 52.99/-

Never before has the world witnessed the phenomenon of severe stress and burnout on such a large scale as in recent years. Globalization, technological advances and economic meltdown have brought about a plethora of unprecedented challenges for industry and organizations across the globe. Consequently, executives have been under growing stress due to economic uncertainties, mergers and acquisitions, role erosion and restructuring, resulting in increased workloads, longer hours and demands for greater productivity and efficiency. This changing environment has created job insecurity, anxiety, dissatisfaction and emotional exhaustion causing a rapid increase in executive burnout.  This book provides the most comprehensive analysis of the construct of burnout, including its magnitude, a global research review, a typology of models, comparisons between professions and consequences of burnout for individuals and organizations. In addition, it provides the views of mental health professionals, empirically derived causes, symptoms and coping techniques, while throwing light on preventative measures and comparing Eastern and Western approaches to mitigate the effects of burnout.

Price: £ 40/-

Organizations and employers are currently managing an inter-generational workforce, and the most prudent of these are seeking to enhance the careers of new entrants. HRM, careers, and work researchers have begun to explore career-related differences among the four generations of workers currently in employment, but to date there has been very little in the way of full-length comparative studies.  In Generational Career Shifts: How Veterans, Boomers, Xers, and Millennials View Work, Eddy S. Ng, Sean T. Lyons, and Linda Schweitzer develop a timely, wide-ranging examination of inter-generational differences in work priorities, career attitudes, career experiences, and career outcomes. Offering a comprehensive overview of existing research, and drawing upon the authors' own largescale study of students and knowledge workers, this book documents how careers have fundamentally shifted over the past five decades. Along the way, it offers crucial insights into what these shifts mean for employers and their management strategies.  Generational Career Shiftsis essential reading for career researchers, generational researchers, practitioners within executive education, as well as for career counsellors, human resource departments, corporate libraries, and people managers.

Price: £ 20.99/-

The global race for talent is on, with countries and businesses competing for the best and brightest. Talented individuals migrate much more frequently than the general population, and the United States has received exceptional inflows of human capital. This foreign talent has transformed U.S. science and engineering, reshaped the economy, and influenced society at large. But America is bogged down in thorny debates on immigration policy, and the world around the United States is rapidly catching up, especially China and India. The future is quite uncertain, and the global talent puzzle deserves close examination. To do this, William R. Kerr uniquely combines insights and lessons from business practice, government policy, and individual decision making. Examining popular ideas that have taken hold and synthesizing rigorous research across fields such as entrepreneurship and innovation, regional advantage, and economic policy, Kerr gives voice to data and ideas that should drive the next wave of policy and business practice. The Gift of Global Talent deftly transports readers from joyous celebrations at the Nobel Prize ceremony to angry airport protests against the Trump administration's travel ban. It explores why talented migration drives the knowledge economy, describes how universities and firms govern skilled admissions, explains the controversies of the H-1B visa used by firms like Google and Apple, and discusses the economic inequalities and superstar firms that global talent flows produce. The United States has been the steward of a global gift, and this book explains the huge leadership decision it now faces and how it can become even more competitive for attracting tomorrow's talent. Please click here to learn more about the book.

Price: £ 45/-

Although some progress has been made in recent decades in getting women into top positions in government, business and education, there are on-going, persisting challenges with efforts to improve the opportunities for women in leadership. The Handbook of Research on Gender and Leadership comprises the latest research from the world's foremost scholars on women and leadership, exposing problems and offering both theoretical and practical solutions on how to best strengthen the impact of women around the world.The Handbook provides a brief overview of the current state of women in global leadership, explores theories (both established and emerging) focused specifically on women, and examines with both theoretical and empirical research some of the factors that influence women's motivations to lead. The authors delineate some of the most persistent barriers to women's leadership success and conclude with the latest research findings on how to best develop women leaders to improve their status worldwide. The Handbook of Research on Gender and Leadership will appeal to scholars and advanced students in leadership and entrepreneurship. It will be essential reading for leadership coaches, practitioners and business people, particularly those who facilitate leadership programs for women.

Price: € 139.99/-

This pioneering edited collection explores the question of how organizations manage the future. Moving away from traditional research which focuses on the past, the editors problematize the future as an inherent but under-examined part of organizing. Arguing that the future acts as both a driver of and a performative result of organizing, the book asks how organizations conceptualize and deal with the future and what processes are in place to handle things to come. With empirical research examining the practices, discourses and concepts that play key roles, organizations and their approaches are scrutinized. A timely compendium of theoretical discussion and practical implications on the relevance of the future, this book is essential reading for those interested in organization, sociology and management studies.

Price: £ 65/-

This bookis a pioneering work that maps out the ideological evolution of HRM researchand practices, with a particular focus on our contemporary era of multinationalcorporations. It explores the ideological evolution of Human ResourceManagement (HRM) from the 1950s to the present day and maps out the developmentof HRM research and practices from a Critical Theory perspective. Its findingsopen up avenues for metatheoretical development within the HRM research fieldand provide employees under modern capitalism with emancipatory awareness. Both thetheoretical framework and the empirical findings of this study will be ofinterest to HRM researchers as well as management researchers of all epistemologicalbackgrounds, particularly those working within Critical Management Studies. Thiswork will also appeal to teachers and students, and it could serve as a textbookfor a number of postgraduate level courses, including Organization Theory,Critical Management Studies, Human Resource Management, Business History,Sociology of Management, and Critical Theory. 

Price: £ 72.95/-

The late Boas Shamir made a significant contribution to the development of novel theories and frameworks in the leadership field. He became one of the most influential figures in leadership research, and left behind him an outstanding body of work.  Leadership Now: Reflections on the Legacy of Boas Shamirincorporates some of Boas Shamir's most classic and significant works, and includes contributions from a group that represent the most influential leaders in the field, up and coming scholars, as well as students of Boas Shamir. The first part of the book focuses on Shamir's most influential work on the motivational effects of charismatic leaders. The second part follows with work on the charismatic relationship; reflecting the shift of Boas Shamir's work in the later parts of his career from a leader-centric focus to a closer examination of the relational aspects of leadership and the major effects followers have on the leadership process. The third part includes samples of this work on the role of the contextual factors in leadership.  This volume aims to preserve Boas Shamir's legacy and inspire further generations of leadership scholars.

Price: € 139.99/

Exploring global career issues in-depth, this important collection works at the intersection of career management and international HRM. It uses a multitude of perspectives to explore global career drivers, experiences and outcomes for individuals, as well as career systems and management within organisations and societies. Both long-term and short-term careers are discussed and examined alongside the impact that they have on elements of family life, providing a useful guide for academic scholars, HR managers and professionals operating in global environments.

Price: £ 40/-

A Meaningful Life at Workaddresses a range of contemporary issues that impact on an individual's experiences in the workplace, including those that may restrict opportunities for personal growth in a professional setting. Understanding an employee's values, their choices and the problems they face in the workplace may help organisations to better structure their human resource policies, compensation packages and working conditions.  The authors explore employee wellbeing from a Malaysian perspective as a developing country, but they also reflect on the broader Asian and wider global context. The key themes analysed in this book include work addiction, cyber bullying, sexual harassment in the workplace and the ethics of workplace behaviour. The book contributes to the theoretical discourse around organisation studies and employee wellbeing, while also seeking to integrate academic concepts with practice. In this way, it offers practical steps towards promoting positivity and happiness in the workplace.

Price: £ 28.99/-

Netflix is the definitive media company of the 21st century. It was among the first to parlay new Internet technologies into a successful business model, and in the process it changed how consumers access film and television. It is now one of the leading providers of digitally delivered media content and is continually expanding access across a host of platforms and mobile devices. Despite its transformative role, however, Netflix has drawn very little critical attention-far less than competitors such as YouTube, Apple, Amazon, Comcast, and HBO. This collection addresses this gap, as the essays are designed to critically explore the breadth and diversity of Netflix's effect from a variety of different scholarly perspectives, a necessary approach considering the hybrid nature of Netflix, its inextricable links to new models of media production, distribution, viewer engagement and consumer behavior, its relationship to existing media conglomerates and consumer electronics, its capabilities as a web-based service provider and data network, and its reliance on a broader technological infrastructure.

Price: € 109.99/-

This edited collection offers a critical appreciation of talent management in contrast to the extensive literature adopting mainstream approaches to the topic. The authors explore fundamental questions in the field to better understand why managing talent seems so attractive as a management practice, the meaning of talent, and how talent is recognised in organisations. The mix of conceptual and empirical chapters in the book teases out some critical perspectives that will provoke thought and reflection among practitioners and stimulate ideas for new research topics and approaches. The diverse contributions presented in this book will undoubtedly be of use to academics, practitioners and postgraduate students of human resource management.

Price: £ 29.99/-

Purpose & Impact is the first book to provide guidance to senior executives and professionals on how to rethink and even relaunch their careers in ways that align with wider purpose and societal impact. With our increasing longevity, the concept of retirement is becoming redundant; executives need, financially, and want, motivationally, to continue to work well beyond what is currently considered ¿retirement age¿. At around age 50, when we often leave our mainstream employers, we could be looking forward to around another 30 healthy years, equivalent to a whole second career. This book sets out a topic that is becoming increasingly important and urgent for governments, companies and executives alike. Purpose & Impact is underpinned by extensive research, including interviews with over 90 senior executives. Many of their stories are included within the book and provide the reader with real insight into how very diverse senior executives and professionals have created roles that have enabled their own personal growth and development and had positive impacts on wider society. In addition, helpful tools and guides are used throughout the book to help the reader in their decision-making processes during the different stages of discovering and developing themselves and their career goals.

Price: £ 35/-

Innovation is seen as one of the main engines of economic growth. It is generally assumed to be gender neutral when, in fact, the gendered construction of innovation has been traditionally masculine. This Handbook explores the nexus between innovation and gender by providing a wide range of studies from different analytical and methodological perspectives and from various regional and industry contexts and draws implications for a gender-inclusive innovation policy. The multidisciplinary group of contributors discuss topics such as gender and innovation in new and small businesses, and growth businesses; addressing innovation in different organizational contexts ranging from public sector health care to mining and forestry; researching gender in innovation policy and in design and materiality.This Handbook will be useful to researchers looking to understand parallels between research on gender and innovation on one hand, and research on gender and entrepreneurship or management on the other. It will also be invaluable to students looking for an overview of research in both areas.

Price: £ 34.99/-

There is a strong link between organisational culture and profit after all a happy workforce is a productive workforce. Yet a culture of inertia rather than innovation prevails in many organisations. Wise leaders, however, know how to work with the grain of human value and worth, harnessing it, so as to add shared value both for the organisation and for the good of society. So, how can astute leaders set the right conditions for creativity and cultivate non-economic goods, such as time and relationships, that make for a happy, effective workforce? The author proposes the notion of organisational culture as ¿environments of value¿ wherein inner value translated into external value is embedded within the triple bottom line and indeed an awareness of how an organisation is like a force field: it exercises power and leaves a footprint. This construct informs the emerging concept of Shared Value as requiring five literacies about: ¿ Shareholder value and return for risk ¿ Value for the social environment linked to respect for the natural environment ¿ Inner value of those in the enterprise, which, when unlocked, releases energies and adds value ¿ Nurture of non-quantifiable qualities that promote human flourishing ¿ Understandings of how power relations distort the way organisations operate He clearly signposts the link between promoting an environment of value within which these literacies flourish and the added value for the organisation arising from such a culture.

Price: £ 49.95/-

This book demonstrates to managers the strategic significance of intra-organizational social networks. It argues that strategic management is embedded in the complexity of social relations that shape the strategic direction of a company. Currently there are few tools available to systematically collect information about the social functioning of an organization. This book fills this gap by shifting attention to the social relations that contribute to strategic advantage and that build on relationships that provide unique resources and create value for the business. It considers three perspectives on how social networks have a strategic function: first, social networks constitute everyday strategic action; second, social networks convey cultural meanings; and third, how social networks depict social processes that continually illustrate what the organization is and what it can become. The book shows top and upper-middle management how cultivating an understanding of intra-firm social relations can help them to build unique strategic advantage and make use of the day-to-day knowledge that emerges in the social connections and interactions within an organization.

Price: $ 35/-

Once upon a time, it was the lone scientist who achieved brilliant breakthroughs. No longer. Today, science is done in teams of as many as hundreds of researchers who may be scattered across continents and represent a range of hierarchies. These collaborations can be powerful, but they demand new ways of thinking about scientific research. When three hundred people make a discovery, who gets credit? How can all collaborators' concerns be adequately addressed? Why do certain STEM collaborations succeed while others fail? Focusing on the nascent science of team science,The Strength in Numbers synthesizes the results of the most far-reaching study to date on collaboration among university scientists to provide answers to such questions. Drawing on a national survey with responses from researchers at more than one hundred universities, anonymous web posts, archival data, and extensive interviews with active scientists and engineers in over a dozen STEM disciplines, Barry Bozeman and Jan Youtie set out a framework to characterize different types of collaboration and their likely outcomes. They also develop a model to define research effectiveness, which assesses factors internal and external to collaborations. They advance what they have found to be the gold standard of science collaborations: consultative collaboration management. This strategy--which codifies methods of consulting all team members on a study's key points and incorporates their preferences and values--empowers managers of STEM collaborations to optimize the likelihood of their effectiveness. The Strength in Numbers is a milestone in the science of team science and an indispensable guide for scientists interested in maximizing collaborative success.

Price: £ 40/-

Talent Management (TM) is an issue of critical importance for today's senior managers. Employers acknowledge that an engaged, skilled and motivated workforce is key to achieving growth and competitive advantage. Organizations are hiring TM officers and implementing TM strategies and programs to attract and retain the best employees. Yet many organizations still find it difficult to develop a coherent and successful TM approach. Academic research does not give much support in finding the right solutions: despite the enormous expansion of research on the topic, ambiguity about definitions and conceptual boundaries remains. Moreover, there is little knowledge about the nature of TM in practice and how it evolves over time.  Talent Management in Practiceoffers an integrated and contextualized framework that addresses both the nature of TM in organizations and its ever-changing dynamics. The approach is based, on the one hand, upon lessons learned from previous empirical research on TM, and on the other hand, upon established theoretical frameworks from related academic fields. The result is a unique bridge between theory and TM in practice.  This volume develops a model that can guide TM researchers in their future research, and since it is presented in an accessible and jargon-free format, it provides a touchstone for managers and practitioners as they implement and improve their TM approaches.

Price: £ 65/-

Women leaders in many parts of the world have leadership opportunities that never existed before as a result of technology, globalization, and demographic shifts that have produced more female graduates than in the past and created a workforce which consists almost 50% of women. Ever more so, in today's rapidly changing environment, the contexts in which women exercise leadership is critically important in shaping their leadership style. At the same time, objectifying women in contexts such as sports and the media or the patriarchal ideology that permeates contexts such as the military and the church have changed very little. This book, updated and expanded from the 2011 first edition, acknowledges and discusses the belief that the context in which women exercise leadership is critically important in shaping their leadership style. Each chapter opens with a vignette of an extraordinary leader in the respective context, presents a contextual analysis, and discusses issues, controversies and paradoxes germane to the context of interest. What is the future of women's leadership in a global environment characterized by ambiguity, uncertainty, increasing interdependence and interconnectivity? Award-winning author Karin Klenke shows us in this revised edition of Women in Leadership.

Price: € 139.99/-

  Contributing to recent debate on the emergence of digital and agile work, this book explores the implications for labour and employment relations within and beyond organizational boundaries.  Taking a multidisciplinary approach to the key issues and challenges of digitalization, this collection covers topics such as the gig economy, crowdworking and Industry 4.0. Theory and analysis are combined as the authors examine the impact of digital and smart work on organization, HRM and labour law. With comprehensive empirical evidence for those interested in understanding the more complex trajectories of today's transforming work relationships, this book will  not only appeal to students and academics but also to policy-makers, trade unionists and employers' organizations.